Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook

Thomas Nelson Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook

Fitness instructor Susan Bordenkircher wondered along with other Christians whether the practice of yoga somehow compromised Christian beliefs. When she tried it she found that it gave her a workout that slowed down her nervous energy and allowed her to get quiet, remain still, and focus her mind on the Lord.

Yoga for Christians is filled with photographs, detailed descriptions of exercises, and chapters on working with partners and prayer. Susan guides you through warm-ups and breathing exercises to the yogic postures themselves, all the while gently encouraging the quiet, reflective, and receptive spirit that can result in a heightened attitude of worship...and a creative way to meet God.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
Review 1 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

helpful, practical, healthful

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleased with the information and the manner it was presented. It eased my concerns and gave me a better understanding of how i can use my body.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to follow instruction; great DVD & book!

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grace
Location:New York, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this book for myself and another for a friend.
Great couple's yoga... an awesome way to "be still and know that He is God."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dani
Location:MO
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A very well thought through response to Yoga. This was recommended to me as someone very sceptical to trying yoga. The video is very clear and several levels of difficulty are shown. My only hesitation to giving this 5 stars is that the workout provided is about an hour-a long time for someone getting started.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Schall
I love it! The book offers a great philosophical background for yoga that is Christ-centered, and the dvd shows how it's done. It's a great way to focus one's mind and body while giving worship to God, a concept I'm much more comfortable with as compared to "bowing to one's higher self."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy
Susan Bordenkircher has it right. This book is wonderfully inspirational. I have been teaching group fitness classes for more than 10 years in various formats. God and Jesus Christ are in all that I do. Therefore He is at the core of me and in all (yes exercise included) that I am and do. Being a Christian is something you are not something you do. Susan expresses this in all she does. Thank you Susan for paving the way for us. I recommend this to my students, yes a Christ Centered Yoga class, C.A.Y.A. Yoga, in Alabama.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristi Lee
This product arrived on time and in great condition. I like the DVD/book combo. The price was perfect! Thank you, as always, for being such an awesome distributor.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Shelley L Thomas
This reviews should be limited to those who have actually read the book not those with a mere opinion. This book is an essential resource for any person engaged in modern fitness. Bordenkircher addresses this fabulous form of exercise how this can focus your mind and body to be a moving vessel of praise. She gives practical instruction on performing this practice. You will learn to flow as a prayer sequence... downward poses being those of submission, upward poses being those of praise. These ancient postures are much more akin to the postures of prayer the early church would have used than of what we are familiar with today. Just as old bar tunes were turned into modern hymns, let God sanctify this practice in your life!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Autumn
Wow! This was great! It's totally focused on Scripture, and so easy this out-of-shape beginner could do it right away. Myself, I do not understand the worry about this topic, at least not through this dvd. Remember that Satan cannot create, only twist and pervert, so whatever good may be found in anything was God's work, and we Christians must be ready to take it back and redeem it, as Susan has with yoga.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yoga for Christians: A Christ-Centered Approach to Physical and Spiritual Health through Yoga - eBook
This review is fromYoga for Christians.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Margaret
Christians have often shied away from practicing yoga because of its connection to Hindu culture. Before taking yoga at the local YMCA, Susan Bordenkircher had the same concern and asked herself, Will this Eastern practice compromise my beliefs? Am I actually worshiping something with my postures? But as she explains in her book, she discovered that yoga not only toned her body, but also stilled her mind, which in turn enabled her to experience Gods presence more deeply. I can confirm Bordenkirchers experience with yoga. A believing Christian for more than 35 years, Ive been practicing yoga off and on for almost as long. Three years ago, I began to practice daily and was searching for tips on how to pray with my whole beingmind, soul, and body. Bordenkirchers book was just what I needed! Her commentary on the benefits and practice of Christ-centered yoga is rooted in Scripture, which she quotes throughout. Photos of her doing the exercises and detailed, easy-to-follow instructions make this book suitable for beginners as well as seasoned practitioners. The book is accompanied by a DVD of Bordenkircher teaching a class in front of a picturesque Southern mansion (she lives in Alabama). The class is well paced for both beginner and intermediate levels, and the camera angles show the execution of the poses to good effect. There was one thing I found annoying about the DVD presentation. Near the end, Bordenkircher and her class perform a flowing series of poses to the rhythms of a psalm. While Bordenkircher recites the psalm, she also voices over instructions. I would have preferred that she stick with the psalm and skip the instructions. Doing so would better illustrate her point concerning the compatibility of yoga and Christian prayer. This is a small quibble, however. I highly recommend this book and the bonus DVD if you want to increase your physical and spiritual fitnessand deepen your relationship with the Lord.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.