Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook

Thomas Nelson Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
Review 1 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyable

Date:August 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sue Galucki
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lorena McCourtney always brings humor and adventure to her stories, and this fits the bill. Andi is a fun, middle-aged character with a bit of detective in her personality. Looking forward to reading more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Ride

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy Lorena McCourtney’s writing style. It is easy to read and follow, with a nice mixture of humor and mystery. This story was a fun read, with great characters. Our title character, Andi McConnell, is a spunky 60 year facing major challenges in her life. She loses her job and her boyfriend in a single day. Of course, the unexpected inheritance from Uncle Ned adds to the excitement. The other characters are great as well, you have the grumpy, troublesome neighbor that’s all to helpful with the police. Fitz the former TV detective that is so cute with his love of life and his need to be nosey and his apparent admiration of Andi. You have the real detective who is a no-nonsense cop trying to do his job and the next door neighbor/renter very pregnant Joella, who is God’s light in this story.
The action is at a good pace, you shouldn’t be bored by the story. It is also a nice whodunit with several viable suspects, though you will probably reach a point when you know who the real culprit is, you won’t know all the why’s and how’s until the end.
Disclaimer: I purchased this book myself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2010
Lorena McCourtney takes every day circumstances and weaves her character Andi McConnell through them, making it all feel so real and so close it could happen to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Janet Wilkie
I enjoyed this book immensely. After having made a decision NOT to read most of today's secular authors, I am always on the lookout for good books that aren't filled with worldly smut. I usually pass my books on to my mother to read ... and she enjoys them as much as I!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Romelia Adams
This is the first I have read in this series. I had read several by this author. The idea of the plot is simple, and twists enough to keep the reader interested. Andi McConnell is a character which will bear development I believe. The humor of this novel does not equal that in the Ivy Malone series in my opinion. That humor was one thing I have enjoyed about this author before. It is a good light mystery and I would buy the second in the series, if only to see if the character becomes more interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Another great book by Lorena McCourtney. It is an easy read with humor and suspense. Can't wait for the 2nd book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anita Batey
This is the first book I have read by McCourtney. I really enjoyed it, lots of suspense and enough humor to keep it from being too tense. I have the second book ordered, but I am disappointed to learn that it is being held up by the publisher. Hurry and get it ready.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda
This was my favorite book by this author. Wonderful story. Quick read. I enjoyed the twists and turns of this book. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Mcmullen
Light easy read. intriquing, but very much like the Ivy Malone series. Good example of leading someone to the Lord thru friendship.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharon Riley
Loved this book. I've loved everything by the author. Her books are always light and often provide a nice chuckle or two.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Lorena McCourtneys latest character Andi McConnell bursts onto the fiction scene in Your Chariot Awaits. As the book opens, Andi turns sixty, loses her job at the local insurance company due to a merger, and breaks up with her boyfriend. Oh, and if that isnt enough to make any woman seek her bed with a box of bonbons and a chick flick, Andi inherits a shiny limousine from her uncle and before she can decide what to do with it, a dead body is found in the truck. Not just any body, but that of her recently estranged boyfriend, Jerry who she threatened with a shovel in front of her neighbors. Andi soon becomes a prime suspect in the murder and has no choice but to investigate to clear her name. She teams up with her new acquaintance and potential future love interest, Fitz. Though Fitzs more than willing to help Andi solve the murder, his only qualification for the job is the role of a detective that he played on an old television show. What follows is a bumbling search for the killer, leaving you laughing and smiling all the way through. Though Andi is older than many protagonists in todays fiction market, McCourtney writes Andi in a way that all generations of readers can relate to her. Shes spunky, vulnerable, and shares the same fears we all deal with everyday. Even I, an avowed computer nerd, embraced the woman who doesnt own even one computer. Really. Not one. In addition to the fun read and enjoyable characters, McCourtney weaves in a strong spiritual message. She exposes the non-believer Andi to Christianity through a warm, pregnant twenty-something neighbor who encourages but never preaches. And, the unlikely friendship between the two women is believably written and natural despite the years difference in age. So if youre looking for a well written cozy mystery, one that makes you laugh and smile, pick up McCourtneys Your Chariot Awaits. You wont be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
This was a wonderfully fun book to read. I love all the characters in this book. Andi, Fitz, and Joella seem like an unlikely threesome that end up gelling well together. Andi is a wonderful character. I love especially that she was dating a guy younger than her in the beginning of the story. She's very feisty and doesn't consider an age to be a problem to her at all. She doesn't act her age basically. Other than the occasional references to her turning 60, I wouldn't have thought of her as being that old at all. I do hope that in the next book Joella is able to play another role because I like her character very much. I think a series on her would be fun to read as well. Fitz reminds me of an aging Magnum PI, not really old but a TV actor who's past his prime. He has good chemistry with Andi and I'm hoping something will come out of it. The action in the book is fast paced especially the last few chapters. The mystery is very good and I had no clue who the killer really was until the very end. I really admire Andi for still wanting to own that limo even after knowing there was a dead body in it. I would have gotten that car destroyed! While there isn't as much humor as there was in the Ivy Malone stories, I still laughed a lot while reading this book. How Andi gets the car from her eccentric uncle and his way of distribution made me giggle a lot. Especially funny is the scene when Joella thinks she's in labor but it's really due to bad indigestion. The part when the pair realize how bad their breath really is was a hoot. I really can't wait until the next book comes out in the series. It's given me the urge to go find a limo and ride around now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marjorie F.
I had a hard time putting down the book and found myself wanting to continue to read until I had finished the story. The reader has many choices of who could have been the killer but the author doesn't reveal the person until close to the end. Excellent story; well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Elaine Chepey
Entertaining and fun read. Not all heroines have to be young, intelligent, and beautiful. God can use even those who don't trust Him comlpetely to get the job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Your Chariot Awaits: An Andi McConnell Mystery - eBook
This review is fromYour Chariot Awaits, Andi McConnell Mystery Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Terrie Miller
This is a laugh out loud, fun book to read. I loved it and I can't wait for the next Andi McConnell Mystery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.