Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4

Random House, Inc Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4

Davina McKie is a bonny lass of seventeen, mute since childhood and fiercely guarded by her belligerent twin brothers, Will and Sandy. When the lads are forced to depart the glen, Jamie McKie escorts Davina to the Isle of Arran, where her lively cousins, Catherine and Abigail, make her welcome at the manse.One moonless eve Davina blithely entertains the gentry of Arran with her grandfather's fiddle, unaware of the dramatic turn her life is about to take.A story of passion and revenge, of lost innocence and shattered dreams, Grace in Thine Eyes explores the sorrow of unspeakable shame and the gift of immeasurable grace.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Review 1 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is 1808 in the Scottish Lowlands, and Davina McKie lives in a world all her own. Mute since childhood, she spends her time drawing and playing her fiddle. Protected loyally by her younger twin brothers, Davina lives in security and love of her family. The twins, however, have other ideas. Unruly since they could walk, their father Jamie, finally sends them away to school hoping to make them men. Davina, left alone in Glentrool without the brothers who understood her best, has nothing but a lonely summer ahead of her. Her father suggests she visit some relatives in the isle of Arran, and Davina is more excited than she has ever been in her life.
But the summer visit in Arran is not all she thought it would be. She is invited to entertain the gentry with her fiddle, and what she thinks is an innocent accompaniment to her music becomes so much more. Ashamed at the turn of events, will there be redemption for Davina, or will a family's revenge be the end of her already shattered dreams?
This is my favorite book in the Scottish Trilogy series and it is a beautiful story of redemption and grace in the light of tragic circumstances. The character development is slow and patient, not fast and hurried, and I really felt as if I was walking in Davina's shoes. I saw things through her eyes, in that time, that place, that moment. A wonderful book and recommended if you can enjoy a story without the fairly tale ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
beanpole
Location:Auckland, New Zealand
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very sensitively written with great development of characters. Hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Mumm
This is the BEST series ever...please continue the story of Davina and Graham and the rest of the family!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela
I just finished this book and it was so good! I loved it and was sorry to be finished with it. Excellent story and well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Polly W Plunkett
I've read all 4 in the series sure hope they continue. They are all great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2006
This was my favorite book of the series! I adored the ending for many reasons....mainly because it captures the true meaning of mercy. This book is not for young readers though. Tremendous book!!! Way to go Liz!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
sallie
What a grace-filled story. Having been raised in the church and having read the Bible my entire life, it is so easy to let the import of Bible stories just pass me by. But with fiction like this--fiction that illuminates the scriptures and helps us see them in a modern context--I am reminded anew of how God's grace finds us in the direst of circumstance. A life-changing book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2006
Since I adored the preceding three books about the McKie family I eagerly began this new story about Davina. Higgs' writing is still superb. Her novel is a wonderful journey back in time. However, I came away from this one feeling so hurt and wounded. As the survivor of a rape I felt as if I had been slapped in the face. It is purely fiction, after all, that a rape victim would fall in love with her attacker. When I turned to the biblical account of Dinah I did not find that Dinah fell in love with her rapist, though he spoke tender words to her and felt love for her. I imagine this was a difficult one for Liz to write. I was so stunned I couldn't read any fiction for awhile. As a church librarian, I ordered this one for the church's shelves but I hesitate to place it there. I think it would send a terrible message to young women, the same message that I heard, that what happened to me wasn't really a horrific crime just because it was someone I knew. This one is for mature readers only. I still love Liz. She is one of my favorites and I look forward to her next book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Davina McKie is the daughter of Jamie McKie of Higgss three Scottish Series books, Thorn in My Heart, Fair is the Rose, and When Came a Prince. Davina, a delightful girl and a talented fiddle player, has been unable to speak since childhood. Her brothers vow to protect her, but the cause of her disability is a source of tension in the family. Although young, Davina faces unexpected challenges from which no one can protect her. When she meets the handsome Somerled, she believes he is the man God has in mind for her. Shocking events follow, and only Gods grace can bring her through the trials she faces. I have followed Higgss fiction career with great interest, and her skill continues to grow with each book. Grace in Thine Eyes is intended as a stand-alone title and may be easily read and understood without reading the trilogy of Scottish novels published earlier. However, I strongly recommend all of Higgss fiction, because she portrays Gods grace and understanding through the characters in a way I seldom see with inspirational fiction. Watching the characters develop a deeper spiritual connection despite their personality flaws inspires me to seek a deeper relationship with God, because I realize my faults are not insurmountable. Gods grace is sufficient for all of us.I look forward to Higgss next novel, Here Burns My Candle, the first of a new Scottish series coming out in March 2008. The new series will also be based on a biblical family, but is set in Edinburgh and the Borders in 1745-46.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grace in Thine Eyes, Lowlands of Scotland Series #4
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In 1808 in Glen of Loch Trool, Scotland, twin brothers Will and Sandy McKie feel a need to protect their wee seventeen years old mute sister Davina. Thus when their father Jamie arranges for the siblings to attend the university in Edinburgh, they and Davina are upset. Their older brother Ian understands that the family patriarch has to make difficult decisions when it comes to second born sons, but though he supports his dad, he and his mother Leana are also distressed just not as vocal as Will and Sandy. <P>Jamie knows the twins will be fully occupied with their studies and his oldest son is courting Margaret McMillan, so his concern turns to his beloved daughter. He decides a trip to his cousins on the Isle of Arran will distract her until everyone settles into their new roles. At Arran, her family welcomes Davina and her skill with the fiddle becomes known. Rakish Highlander Somerled MacDonald and Davina meet, she flirts with him and he seduces her. Word of what happened that Midsummers Eve reaches Loch Trool and Edinburgh. While Jamie fumes, the twins take action leading to Somerled and his father falling off the cliffs of Goatfell on Arran. Davina holds herself culpable as does everyone else because she brought shame to her family.<P>GRACE IN THINE EYES is a superb inspirational historical propelled predominately Davina, but somewhat by the twins and their father. The key is that the personalities of the McKie family is set early and remains consistent throughout. Fans of deep character driven tales will appreciate this strong Regency era novel starring a wonderful female poorly coping with tragic events as the scarlet letter of gossip follows her even at home; females take the blame for scandals.<P>Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.