Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson So You're About to be a Teenager

Thomas Nelson So You're About to be a Teenager

Do you ever wish someone would let you in on the secrets? Do you wish someone would tell you about love, dating and sex, why your parents seem so clueless, and why sometimes you just want to hide from people at school? So You're About to Be a Teenager is like a friend who isn't afraid to spill the beans about it all! When brother and sister Samuel and Rebecca Rainey were teenagers (not too long ago), they were curious about kissing, shaving, parties and pornography. They also remember feeling self-conscious, and worried about things they didn't want to talk about with anyone. Now that they've made it through their teen years, they along with their parents, who are finally cool in their eyes will talk about all those things you've been wondering about. They'll even tell you some wild things you didn't know you wanted to know. Right now, you're probably thinking of something that's been worrying your, a question you'd like answered. Maybe you've asked a friend about it, or maybe no one knows what you're dealing with. This book is full of answers. Don't believe it? Keep reading.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for So You're About to be a Teenager
Review 1 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Book Ever!!!!!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mathaholic11
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay. So hi, I'm a preteen but that's all I'm gonna say. I got "So You're About To Be a Teenager" about a year and a half ago or something. First time I read it, I was extremely excited. I mean, the book is so good that it tells guys to respect girls and girls to respect guys! (plus it tells about how extreme it is to follow Jesus)
I'm thinking every preteen should read this book because it's a good reminder of what the point of adolescence is - the REAL IDEA. I wish I could just buy 300 copies and give each preteen in my school one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chanda Winkels
This book is a great supplement to the Rainey's Passoport to Purity curriculum. It has great information and talking points for parents and their preteens. The contents are a bit repetitive if your child went through Passport to Purity, but essential if your child has not. Wish I had had this information as a child.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Here is a book that every kid who is about to start middle school or junior high school should read. Whether or not kids want to know about all the stuff in this book, they are going to face it when they get to middle school or junior high school. Better to learn it here, in an awesome book that will teach the facts with grace than to learn it from the kids at school who will teach each other a whole lot of nonsense.Authors Dennis and Barbara Rainey teamed up with their-college-ages son and daughter (Samuel and Rebecca) to give the most conclusive Godly advice on friends, love, sex, faith, dating, and more Ive ever seen. I wish with all my heart Id have a book like this handed to me when I was eleven. If youre hesitant or afraid to start talking to your kids about this stuff, or if youre a teen who has a lot of questions, pick up a copy of this book. Its like having a friend who isnt afraid to tell you the truth. This is the best place to start. With the facts.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bernadette Ferdinand
I bought this book for my 12 year old son. He kept reading and could not put it down. It provided very useful information about the road ahead of him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Caryn Jeffery
I bought this book for my 11 year old because he wanted to know everything- and was seeking this information from secular sources. If you have seen any of the secular books on sexuality for teens, you know what you are up against. This book is totally explicit without being vulgar, but is written from a Christian prospective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beth Telando
I liked that this book deals with specific topics that were "tip-toed" around when I was a teen. We plan to read this book at the same time as our child and discuss the various topics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy Freund
This book had many practical examples and was very easy to read. In fact, it made me wish Dennis Rainey had written some cirruculum for middle school youth groups! I have 2 children who have already read, and enjoyed this book, and two more I plan to read it with. You may get the impression from another review that this book would be "frightening" to read. We did not experience it that way at all. In fact, it was very affirming and I quote, "Your sexuality is a marvelous creation from God." I recommend it as a beginning dialogue for parents as their children enter the teen years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for So You're About to be a Teenager
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Matthew Ludwig
This book just basically tells you whats coming up in your future as a teen. That you gonna be confronted with drugs, sex, and other things, but it makes you sort of scared to be a teenager. Like it says you shouldn't hold hands because it leads to sex. Taking everything just out of proportion. Makes it sound like your going to burn in hell for doing the littlest things. I wouldn't recommend giving this to your child, or they might fear growing up.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.