Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pearson Learning Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)

Pearson Learning Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)

A complete incentive based reading program. Includes 6 cassette tapes, one music CD, student workbooks, 17 graduated phonetic readers with a combined total of 960 pages, raceway chart and car, games, phonics place mat with dry erase surface, dry erase marker and eraser, treasure chest and prizes all packaged in a plastic bin. Add a 30 minute instruction video for the parents and complete teacher instructions to make a truly user friendly system. 2nd edition. Grade level 1, from International Learning Systems.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Review 1 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great, overall, language arts curriculum

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this program for my son after struggling with another language arts curriculum. We are almost six weeks into SSRW, and I have witnessed a dramatic change in his attitude in respect to phonics and reading! Why am I so amazed? My son was diagnosed with dyslexia and dysgraphia, yet he is able to retain the way SSRW introduces phonics, and he enjoys the process! In addition, he is learning to write beautifully and successfully. No, it's not a cure for dyslexia, but SSRW meets the strength of my son's learning style through audio (the songs), visual (the worksheets), and kinesthetics (the games). As an added bonus, it provides incentives to encourage and reward his progress! (I will recommend to purchase your own incentives for the treasure box because my 1st grade son is not very motivated by the pencils and stickers provided. Instead, I purchased some $1 items like poppers, punch balloons, sticky bugs, bubble gum, etc. for him to choose from).
Overall, I'm very pleased with the curriculum, and the Teacher's Manual and Video are great assets to ensure your progress.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

OUTDATED media material

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Colleen
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product with high recommendations from a fellow homeschooler who purchased hers several years ago. Not reading all of the details, upon receipt of the box I immediately sent it back because it contains antiquated cassette tapes and VHS tapes. In 2012 these devices are few and far between in households today. I would recommend that the publishers of this material get with the modern world and use CD's and DVD's.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beyond my expectations!

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommy2two
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using this when my kids were 4 and 5 yrs old. In the past year and a half that we have used it I have been amazed at how they have picked up reading!!! It has been SO easy! And I haven't even perfectly followed the program as well as I should have. I am so excited to see how much better they will be by the time they finish the 1st grade book. I am definitely buying the second grade sing spell read and write! I have been hesitant on spending another large amount of money on the readers for the 2nd grade but after seeing the amazing results this first set has brought I know it will be worth every penny I am sure!
Oh and last but not least... my kids loved this program!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent program. This program works well, using all the learning styles. There are games and songs to help teach children to read, as well a raceway chart and other things to keep kids excited about learning. My girls loved this curriculum and now read well above grade level. There is a lot of writing (when learning new words), but we just took more days and split up the areas where they had to write down all the words and it was fine. Level 1 is really supposed to be a first grade curriculum, but my children did this in kindergarten and we had no issues at all. I highly recommend Sing, Spell, Read and write.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elise Hurd
Excellent!! Wonderful system! Great at keeping child's attention, easy for you(the parent) to do! Definitely recommend this!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lisa
I have used this with every one of my 5 children to teach them to read. It was fun and they learned effortlessly. You remember it when you sing it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly
I used Sing Spell Read and Write with my children. All my kids have high spelling and reading levels. I just found out in the last couple of years that 2 are aspergers(high functioning autism)and the other two have ADHD/dyslexic. What I am saying is I highly recommend this program.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Denise Bradley
My son has learning disabilities. This program met all of his needs and he is really doing well. Even when we had to take breaks from it. When we came back it was not hard to pick up where we left off. I did not have to refresh. We loved the readers. He felt really proud to know he could read all the words in each book. I highly recommend this program.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Schiel
I used Sing, Spell Read and Write with my first daughter and she has excelled in reading ever since. We tried a different phonics cirriculm with my son and it is no where near the program as Sing, Spell. I am going back to Sing, Spell, Read and Write with my 2 youngest daughters. The phonics in this program cannot be matched. I recommend it to all my friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2003
Customer Avatar
pamela
I used this program for all of my sons. They loved it and they all read well above their age levels. This program takes visual and audio and really makes phonics easy!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Level 1 (Edition 2)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2003
Customer Avatar
Dixie Gardner
This product is very well thought out and very easy to implement. My children loved it and learned to read, painlessly. I highly recommend it. I only wish they had curriculum beyond the 3rd grade level. It seems pricey but, it is worth every penny!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.