Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc God Gave Us You

Random House, Inc God Gave Us You

When a charming polar bear cub climbs into bed one night, she asks her Mama a very important question--one that little "human cubs" often wonder about, too: "Where did I come from?" As Mama bear tucks her youngest cub under the quilts, she gently, tenderly, and reassuringly communicates the message loving parents everywhere (bears and non-bears alike) want their little ones to hear: "We wanted you very, very much, and we are so very glad because--"God gave us you."

Perfect for bedtime, naptime, storytime or anytime, God Gave Us You provides a valuable opportunity to build children's self-esteem every day and assure each one that he or she truly is a welcomed, precious, and treasured gift from the Lord. Recommended for ages 4 to 8.

Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God Gave Us You
Review 1 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for the family!

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Crystal Serving Joyfully
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family enjoyed this book. One thing I particularly loved about this book is the author's use of repetition throughout to drive the point home. I have a 2 year old and a 4 year old and repetition is an important part of learning for them. Nearly every part of the conversation ends with some form of "God gave us you." Since this is such an important message, I appreciated the repetition.
The illustrations in this book are darling!
Things to note: The book deals quite a bit with pregnancy. Although it is done in a way that little ones can understand, parents might want to make sure it's not more explicit than you're prepared to be (the book discusses baby growing in mommy's tummy, going to the doctor to hear a heartbeat, mommy feeling special signals when baby wants out, etc.). This being said, I think the book could easily serve as a teaching tool for your child if you're expecting another little one--it will reinforce that your child was a gift from God, while also explaining what's to come with a new little one.
Also, while the book is supposed to be for ages 0-3, and it is a board book, I found some of the wording to be a bit awkward, especially for younger children like my 2 year old. Also, for some reason when I read the description ("God Gave us You assures each child that he or she truly is a treasured gift from the Lord), I thought this book was going to include adopted children as well, but it does not.
(Full Disclosure: I received this book for free as a review copy from Waterbook Press. However, all opinions stated in this review are distinctly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Always a very sweet loving story.

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Huntington Beach, Ca.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This is a birthday gift for my Grandson who lives across the US from me. I want him always to know I love him and he was a special gift sent from heaven to us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Darling Story!

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
1kyteacher
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us You is another delightful book by Lisa Tawn Bergren. In this story, Little Cub asks the question of all questions: Where did I come from?
Through their conversation, Mother tells Little Cub that Mother and Father were alone and wanted a baby, and she was a gift from God. Mother told her of the happiness and anticipation of waiting and preparing for Little Cub, along with the wonder of her arrival. And all because "God gave us you."
This is a darling little book for parents to read to their children. I highly recommend it.
I received a free copy of this book for the purpose of an honest review from Water Brook Press through the Blogging for Books program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Special Story

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
michorose
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this book today and I read it to my children right away. Author, Lisa Tawn Bergren, did a great job with this book too! God Gave Us You starts off with a polar bear cub being tucked in for the night. She wasn't sleepy yet so the questions started. "Where did I come from?" My children have asked me that question before, and my answer has always been, Jesus gave you to Mommy and Daddy so we can take care of you and teach you to love Jesus. So, when you grow up and have your own kids you can teach them to love Jesus. Though Mama Bear tells her she came from God, Little Cub continues with the questions.
She tells the story of her pregnancy. The usual stuff, baby in the belly, it grows big because baby grows big, and then the baby's ready to come out. This story emphasizes to the child that you are with your mama and daddy because God put you there. My 3 yr old wanted to read it herself after I read it to them. She was able to retell the story by picture identification. On the page with the pregnant Mama Bear she read how her tummy got bigger, and bigger, and BIGGER! It was really great to see that. Another great book to add to my kids' library. This is a great book to add to any and every child's library.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gave Us You

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love this sweet little book about a bear couple and their little cubbie bear, tucking the little one in the bed at night. This bear story explains to young children where they came from, that God gave them to their mommies and daddies. The book is a beautiful board book, with its blue background color blending so well with the other colors throughout the book. The illustrations are precious and adorable, telling the story through pictures as you read it to your child.
I highly recommend this book to families and couples with babies, or expecting a baby. What a perfect little book to read to your child, even before they are born!
I received this book free from the publisher, Waterbrook Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 55
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful

Date:July 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Tawn Bergren has written a delightful Christian book for a toddler. The book kept my little ones attention right to the end. Really sweet way to explain how the little bear came to live with his folks. The illustrations are darling, and show a loving family really wanting what God has chosen to give them.
I highly recommend this wonderful book!
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great kids book for the birds and the bees talk

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you dislike fables like the stork and think stuff like the cabbage patch kids are silly/uninformative? Do you want to talk to your young ones about the birds and the bees without sharing some detail which might be too graphic and don't know how to talk about the subject appropriately? Well then this is a great book for you to read to your children. God Gave us You is a children's book meant to talk about the birds and the bees without being boring, being too graphic, and without you becoming embarrassed by your child's curiosity.
God Gave us You, is a kid's story about a young polar bear who asks its mother "How did I come to be?". The polar bear mother answers this question through being honest in that the baby bear was once inside momma's tummy and some bird didn't fly in and drop the cub off lol. And the overall message is the same as the title "God gave us You" our little miracle. I especially loved the part where the baby bear asks "Did you ever want a different baby... like Samuel the Seal or Fredrika the Fox?" and the momma bear answers "I wouldn't trade you for the world." This is a lovely story which lightly talks about the birds and the bees for curious young children and best of all God gets the credit for our birth as a baby being knit within our mother's womb. And I liked the animation done by Laura J Bryant too.
Disclaimer: Ben Umnus was given a free copy of this book by Waterbrook Multnomah Press, but he was neither paid for his review nor was he commanded by Waterbrook Multinomah Press to write a positive review. This review is the personal, written opinion of Ben Umnus. This disclaimer is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Children's Book

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
jamiejo03
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a book that expresses how excited parents are for the birth of their child in a kid friendly way. "God Gave Us You" by Lisa Tawn Bergren illustrates the excitement and anticipation of a polar bear family as they wait for their first born. The book details little polar bear wanting to know how he came about, and the mother and father share the journey, with the most important part being that their little one was a gift from God that they wouldn't trade for anything.
This book is perfect for a family. My daughter is too young to understand the words just yet, but I know that when she is older she will love this story. The illustrations are simple, yet beautiful and fit the story well. I love that, in the end of the book, the bear asks if the parents could ever want another (different) baby. Mother bear reassures Little Cub that she could never want anyone else because "God Gave Us You."
I would definitely recommend this book for anyone who feels their son or daughter is a unique gift from God. It would work well any child; oldest, middle, youngest, or only.
*I received this book from the publisher, WaterBrook Press, in order to give an honest review. I did not have to give a positive review, and others may or may not feel the same way about this book as I do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Gave Us Two

Date:April 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grandma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God Gave Us Two, by Lisa Tawn Begren, is a delightfully positive book that brings home some excellent values while addressing the concerns that young children may have when a new baby is going to be part of the family.
Little Cub, the main character of the God Gave Us series, asks many questions, including "why do we need a new baby" and "if we don't like the new baby, can we send it back"? Papa and Mama Bear reassure Little Cub that babies are gifts from God. Little Cub learns that Papa and Mama will always love her, and that being a big sister is a very special, exciting role.
The book has a happy surprise at the end. You, your child or grandchild are going to love not only the story, but also Lisa J. Bryant's adorable illustrations. This book earns my top recommendation!
I received this book from publisher WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group so that I might give my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own, as I am not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God Gave Us You

Date:April 16, 2011
I received this precious children's book in the mail today and just had to let you know how great it was ... pronto. This is a sweet story about a mama bear telling her baby bear a bedtime story about how God gave them a special gift ... her. What a wonderful reminder that God brings families together and gifts mommies and daddies with precious babies. The pictures by Laura J. Bryant are so sweet ... very winter wonderland.
The book is written toward telling the story of how biological children came to the family. However, Lisa has also written God Found Us You, which is geared more toward adoptive families.
This will definitely be on my list of gift books!
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: God Gave Us Two by Lisa Tawn Bergren

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Torntores
Location:Fredericton N.B.
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this book in the mail to do a review, I was so excited to read it to my children.
Mama Bear explains to her little Bear how God gave her to them. My children being 6 and 8, I found this book a perfect way to explain how they came into the world.
Loved how this book repeatedly spoke to the child that they are loved.
One of my favorite pages in the book was when the Mom spoke these words to her child:
"Every night, I prayed for you, my special child. I prayed that your bones would be straight and your heart would be strong. But most of all, I prayed that someday you would love God."
"I love God, " Little Cub said proudly.
"I know," said Mama. "I do too."
Like every parents that is our prayer, and this book so clearly shows and it a constant reminder that our Children are a gift from God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lays a spiritual foundation for "the talk"

Date:April 5, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"God Gave Us You" is sure to be well-loved! Bergren's Mama Bear puts forth her usual endearing, comforting manner when faced with one of those "uh-oh" questions that parents dread hearing. When asked, "Mama, where did I come from?", Mama Bear explains the spiritual side of "the birds and the bees" (without going into the mechanics--phew!), showing Little Cub, and our little ones, what a special gift from God they are. Mama Bear's answer is also a touching reminder to us parents of the blessing our children are.
"God Gave Us You" will be a wonderful tool to break the ice when the "where did I come from" question appears. Better yet, reading it before being questioned will lay a spiritual foundation on which to build the "mechanical" explanation.
As always, Laura J. Bryant's illustrations are adorable, too. Makes you want to snuggle up with the Bear family, and meet the animal friends in their snowy wonderland. Love it, love it, love it!
I whole-heartedly recommend this book for families with children 3 and older.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Press for the purpose of providing my honest review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Story For Parents To Read Aloud

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelly
Location:Maryland
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sweet story that helps parents talk to their little ones about where they came from on their level. Its message is simple and is told through a cute Polar bear character that children can relate to. I love how the mama cub repeats that her child is special and was chosen to be in their family! It clearly explains to curious toddlers and preschoolers how they came to be without giving complicated details. I have already begun reading this to my infant. This is definitely a book you will want to add to your library and pass on to your children. (I would recommend this for biological families; if you are looking for a book that is for families who have adopted, there is also a book in the series called God Found Us You. ) I can't wait to read the other books in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent message, superb illustrations

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Spark Creative
Location:Katy, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an excellent introduction to the never-ending explanation of, "Where did I come from?" More importantly, it conveys how valuable and special each of us are to God and to our parents. My two-and-a-half-year olds are just beginning to grasp these two concepts after several readings. They have been captivated by the illustrations from the beginning. Compared to other books in the same series, I think this book is a bit more succinct and will appeal to a younger audience (2+) than the other books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet, sweet book!!

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of those children's books that you will want to read to your children every day. And one that they will request you to read!! Not only is the message of love and acceptance and uniqueness made clear in this lovely story...but the artwork is wonderful as well!! This would be a great gift for a new parent, expectant parent, or just for your child!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book about explaining where babies come from

Date:November 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this book for children (ages three and older). Bought this book when our daughter was 2, which at the time had a little too much information in it than what she could comprehend. She is now 4, and this book has helped her understand what is going on again, now that we are expecting our second child. Beautifully written, love the Christian values the book depicts!
Have all of her books, and would recommend them all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brown
This story is a favorite in our home. All three of my children like to listen to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Nelkie
LOVED IT! This is just an awesome book, I bought it when my oldest daughter was a toddler, and she feel in love with it, now my youngest adores it too. The only problem is I tear up everytime I read it, because it still amazes me I am so blessed to have these two beautiful little girls. Everyone should have a copy of this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lynn
This is a sweet endearing story and has a different meaning for each individual. I gave this to a friends daughter that had struggled with several miscarriages. I thought it was very appropriate and she treasures it. My youngest nephew's wife is pregnant with her first and to has suffered several miscarriages. I will be sending her one as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for God Gave Us You
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Candace Wismer
This is a gentle story for your little one who wonders where he came from.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>