Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook

B&H Books A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook

In this in-depth biblical biography, Beth Moore takes you on an intimate exciting journey through virtually every astonishing episode of David's remarkable life. From shepherd, to refugee, to king of Israel, David exhibited the purest virtues and the most heinous sinfulness. But through it all, his relationship with God continued to grow. Based on Scripture and Moore's probing insights into the romantic, mysterious, majestic life of David, A Heart Like His will show you how to serve God better by understanding your own unique place in His heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Review 1 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Heart Like His

Date:April 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I used it as part of my devotional studies in the morning. Beth Moore did a good job overall. There were some things in the life of David that puzzled me and this book answered them and gave me a better understanding of the situation. I would recommend that others read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Christian Book

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I have "flirted" with Beth Moore books and Bible studies in the past, this is the first time I have ever sar down and read one of her books in its entirity. My mom has been through several Beth Moore studies, and allusions are always made to this fantastic Bible teacher. And all I can say is that this book more than fulfilled my expectations. I can assure you that this will not be the only time I ever pick this book up. This is a keeper!
I grew up in the church, and I am a Bible college graduate. But even I had not considered some of the aspects of David's life that Beth Moore draws out of the Scriptures. This book is not a light read. I recommend taking your time and really letting the Word and its message soak into your soul. I am just a little bit overwhelmed since I read the book in under a week. But even in my reading of it in that time frame, I can highly recommend it.
The true merit of a book that is written to be used as a Bible study is whether it touched my heart and soul. I am happy to say it did. Seeing ho2w many times David messed up but always came back to God gives me great hope. It shows just how much mercy God has to give out even in the Old Testament.
I was most touched as I read about how David continued to trust even when he did not understand or things did not make sense. It is a message that God has been "pounding into my brain" lately. Tears came to my eyes as I read about how even unjust humiliation and misunderstanding does not mean that you have stepped out of God's will. It may not make sense, and we may never understand why things happen just as they do. But we have to trust that God knows what He is doing. Thank you, Beth, I needed to hear that. I too long for a heart like David. And even in my weaknesses and failings, God can use me!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent study. Deeply moving. Moore's a favorite

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW. I just finished my second read by Beth Moore. My first was So Long Insecurity which I am planning to re-read. I believe one of the reasons why this beautiful woman has been able to touch the heart of many- including me - is her passion for God, which flows beautifully through her words.
Beth has beautiful heart and I've seen it in both books. Her excellent writing engaged me and once more doesn't fail to move me! Seriously. I cried a river all throughout this book and I think Beth is honestly one of the best writer I've ever seen and definitely a favorite!
This is not your average Bible Study. You might want to bring tissues, prayers and a heart willing to learn because I believe every word you'll read will be deeply engraved in your spirit for a long time to come.
The story of David comes alive and sends the reader into a roller-coaster of emotions. It paints an incomparable picture of the fathomless majesty of the King of kings while exposing and reminding me of my heart's desire : Him.
Beauty. Excellence. Majesty. Grace and Mercy.
Oh, don't tarry fellow reader, do pick this one up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Warrior Poet with a heart

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bob Junior
Location:san Francisco
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually used the Spanish version of this book in Paraguay
to mentor our pastors and leaders in preparation for years.
I found the lives of David, Saul, and Samuel were the perfect way to address the heart issues that make or break Christian leaders. I highly recommend this book. Signed Rev. Bob Boston
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An INCREDIBLE new copy of this book!!!!

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sands0113
Location:Richmond, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever wondered what it meant when someone said "he/she is a man/woman after God's own heart"? I had, I didn't quite understand. I knew it must be something to do with the way we lived or the way we stayed tuned to God during trouble but I never quite "got it". In Beth Moore's "A Heart Like His", she gives a little insight into that very addage.
"A Heart Like His" is an intense and intimate study of the life of David and it is incredible. David is one of my favorite characters in the Bible and yet I had never seen his life in this way. I was astounded as I watched his life play out and as Beth Moore was able to show me what it meant to have a heart like His. Now, I must say that I am a new Beth Moore fan and when I was given the chance to read this, I jumped...with no hesitation; and I'm glad I did. This is an incredible book (I had to read it twice just to get all the details~!!!!!
One of my favorite passsages (there were many...my book is full of underlines and margin notes) applies to my life greatly and I hope its an encouragement to everyone...
"We're going to win, but victory is going to take blood, sweat, and tears-His blood, our sweat, and tears from us both."
PLEASE find a copy of this book....you won't be sorry.
DISCLAIMER: I recieved a free copy of this book through the publisher's(Thomas Nelson Publishing) Booksneeze blogger review program, HOWEVER, I was NOT required to write a positive review. ALL thoughts and opinions are my own!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great new edition

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a new edition of this book. If you have never read a Beth Moore book before this is a great one to start with. If you have read her books you will love this book just as much as all the others.
This particular book delves into the life of David and his relationship with the Lord. The book describes David’s life and relates it to our life today. I found the book very educational. Sermons on the life of David are preached all the time. I felt this book takes you on a unique journey that explores David’s life. It is very easy to read and the authors’ personality really shines when she relates David’s life lessons to lessons we can learn today.
I gave this book 5/5 stars for numerous reasons. It is easy to read and easy to understand. It has lessons for your every day life and the lessons are presented in a loving manner. I think this book is a must read for all Christian interested in the life of David.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An in-depth study full of life application

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Years ago, I sat propped up in bed and began reading the hardback edition of A Heart Like His. For all my love of Bible Study, I’d never read one of Beth Moore’s books before. A friend had recommended it to me and I settled in that night planning to read the book quickly and voraciously.
Normally, I speed through books, but this time I couldn’t. After growing up in the church and hearing the stories of David portrayed on hundreds of flannel boards, I was shocked by the fresh perspective of Beth Moore. Shocked that I had so much to learn about David. Shocked by the application and challenge in each chapter of the book.
So I slowed down and read the book in small pieces. Now that I’ve re-read the book in the paperback edition, I knew what to expect from Beth’s studies—in-depth discussion of Scripture and continual life application. This is not Bible Study aimed at filling our heads with knowledge; it’s a passionate look at Scripture so that we can learn, change and grow.
The book is divided into 52 chapters and covers the backstory leading up to David’s life and kingship all the way to his death and the legacy he left with his son Solomon. Each chapter is short and easy to read in one sitting with prompts directing you to the passage of Scripture being covered so you can read it first in your own Bible. Whenever possible, she aligns the descriptions of David’s life with his own poetry and songs, making this an in-depth study of 1 and 2 Samuel, 1 and 2 Chronicles and portions of the Psalms that works well for individuals or groups.
Recently, I had the opportunity to listen to a group of women share what they had learned after studying the life of David for nine months as a group. Some women confessed struggling to understand how a guy who made so many mistakes could have a heart like God’s. Others stood to their feet and admitted that they felt just like David and his need for God’s grace. Ultimately, any study of David isn’t really about David at all; it’s about God and how He works to draw us to Him, to transform and mature us, and to make us usable vessels that bring Him glory. That’s just a portion of what you’ll learn as you read this book, which makes it worth reading, studying, re-reading, and sharing with others.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shepherd. Refugee. King. How will he use you?

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Busy Biz
Location:Spring Lake
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summary:
We all go through times when we feel insignificant or times when we feel certain that we have experienced a degree of failure from which there is no return. This is not a reality we experience alone, but is one that a man after God's heart experienced as well.
In "A Heart Like His," Beth Moore looks at this bond of mutual love and admiration between a man who was not unlike any of us and the one true God who is all good and all powerful. The book is an exploration of David's incredible life, drawing spiritual insights from a man who boldly fulfilled his divine destiny not merely by what he did, but who he loved and served.
In the book "A Heart Like His," Beth prepares us to answer the following questions:
How can a person be forgiven and restored after sin?
How can a person continue to be faithful to God when nothing seems to be going his or her way?
How can a person find God when he or she feels all alone?
How important is God's influence on the family?
Beth also informs us that by reading this book we will 'accomplish a detailed study of the books of 1 and 2 Samuel. Portions of Psalms, 1 & 2 Chronicles, and many other verses'.
At first glance the book appears to be formatted perfectly to help you study the Bible, whether alone or in a group setting. Far too often I feel that studies can seem rushed and I walk away retaining little of what was covered. Here is a book that has 52 chapters, which in my opinion allows for a year long study of David. 52 chapters = 52 weeks in a year = the ability to really study each chapter and commit it to memory. Thank you Beth Moore for yet another wonderful Bible based study. If you are looking to answer the questions listed above, if you are looking to start a Bible based study, or if you are just a Beth Moore enthusiast like I am....this is the book for you! I encourage you to get your copy and start learning about David. Shepherd. Refugee. King. Proof that God can use any of us and proof that sometimes we are capable of more than we know.
I hope you have a Blessed Saturday!
I received this book free from the publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heart Like His by Beth Moore

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never read a Beth Moore book I did not love, and this one is no exception. A Heart Like His follows the life of David from a teenaged shepherd to his final breath as the king of Israel. Using 9 different Psalms David wrote, Beth provides the history of what David was going through during that time. It is so easy to place his story into a few Sunday School stories that often gloss over certain details of his life, and forget that he was a man who had great victories, but also made many mistakes. I have never fought a giant, but I wept with David for his loss (and in remembrance of my own) when his infant son died. Reading of his many failures, mistakes, and sins is such a clear message that God can and will forgive when we seek His forgiveness. I laughed, I cried, I sympathized, I was appalled, but I learned new truths or was at least reminded of lessons I had forgotten.
This was written in a format that allows a straight read through but, it is encouraged that you read the Scripture in your own Bible for a deeper understanding. My complaint with the book is that it left me wanting to go even more indepth on the life of David. However, at the back of the book is an excerpt from Beth's 11 session dvd study on the life of David. Hopefully, I will have a chance to go through it soon. In conclusion, I highly recommend this book to anyone, but especially anyone who feels that they have failed God, family, and friends too many times.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.