Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Candlewick The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD

Candlewick The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD

The serious woodcarver, Jonathan Toomey, is the best woodworker in the valley. He is always alone and never smiles. He keeps mementos of his lost wife and child in an unopened drawer. Then, early one winter's day, a widow and her young son approach him with a gentle request, which leads to a joyful miracle.

A moving, award-winning, lyrical tale, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey has been widely hailed by critics and readers as a true Christmas classic. Gloriously illustrated by P.J. Lynch, this picture book has been paired with a Grammy-nominated CD narrated by renowned actor James Earl Jones with full orchestral accompaniment. Recommended for ages 6 and up.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Review 1 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The story and the illustrations are both excellent

Date:January 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Margaret P Tait
Location:Portsmouth, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had previously heard this story read, and enjoyed it very much. When I learned that I could purchase an illustrated book, with an audio CD included, I knew it would make a wonderful Christmas gift for my great niece, Althea. When the book arrived, the illustrations were even more beautiful than I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a wonderful story.

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie Rout
Location:Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful story. I have given it to several of my children's school teacher as a Christmas gift from our family to hers. One of them read it to her extended family on Christmas Eve. It's a story of God's love and compassion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
mama4
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my nephews for Christmas. It is such a beautiful book I read it to my own kids first and want to get another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Anderson
Our family loves the story of Jonathan Toomey, across all generations! The purchase of the book this year was as a gift for a co-worker and her daughters - now they are fans, too. It is such a timeless tale of God's healing grace through the amazing gift of His son. Thank you so much for providing such quality products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ana Brown
I discovered this book about 3 years ago, and it was an instant favorite! I read it to my class of 2nd graders every year now and they love it too! I've even gotten some to give away as gifts and they are always appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Selders
Even my 4-5 yr. olds enjoy this tale as I use it every year as a Bible back-up at school just before Christmas break. Our whole family also enjoys this delightful story as it is a good picture of Jesus' birth and a man "reborn" after tragedy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Forrest
Picture books are normally for children - but not this one. What a waste to save it just for them! It is one of my favourite Christmas books. I used to read it to my class of 8 & 9 year olds each year (trying not to cry!) & now I read it to my own children. This year, we used it as the basis for our church carol service. I read it (again trying not to cry) between the carols - nothing else was really needed & so many people commented on the story afterwards. If you buy one Christmas book, make it this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Robert
This is one of our favorite Christmas books, and we have lots. It is a beautiful story of the love of Christ melting hearts of stone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey With CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Poole
As one who has been collecting children's Christmas books for 18 years, this is my all time favorite!!! Artwork, for me, really makes or breaks a book and this book's is fabulous! Lynch's illustrations are not only warmly and beautifully done, but they correspond perfectly with the story as well. And the story...wow! It moves me to tears every time as Wojciechowski weaves a simple but powerful story of the nativity within a story of the life-changing and healing power of love. It repeats and builds just enough to endear children and yet not bore s, as well- a true classic! I love it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.