Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Hendrickson Publishers NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984

The Bible to take with you - wherever your ministry takes you!

The NIV Minister's Bible is the perfect "on-the-go" Bible to equip pastors, counselors, pastoral caregivers, lay teachers -everyone in active ministry. Its unique ministry resources help them meet the challenges of everyday ministry opportunities as well as manage its stresses. Resources include a practical guide to visitation, sample services for weddings, funerals, and baptisms, a step-by-step plan of salvation, quick-find scripture references to answer tough questions, and more. Ministry helps were previously published in the NIV Pastor's Bible (no longer available), and have now been thoroughly updated. This is the Bible that ministers are asking for!

The only NIV Bible targeted specifically to ordained as well as lay ministers, The NIV Minister's Bible from Hendrickson Publishers features:

  • Sturdy sewn genuine leather binding will give years of hard-wearing service
  • Slimmer size in beautiful genuine leather binding is easy to carry anywhere
  • Field-tested ministry helps meet the unique needs of pastors and other ministers
  • Center-column cross-references
  • 111 page concordance
  • 8 four-color maps
  • Two ribbon markers
  • Presentation Page
  • Gold page edges
  • Genuine Leather - Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Review 1 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very smart bible with useful features

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Will
Location:Norwich, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having just started a first pastorate, I was keen to get a new NIV bible that would last and prove versatile for preaching, study and pastoral work, as my old NASB was proving confusing for the congregation, and my sole NIV has microscopic print that gives a migraine after too long! I saw this heavily reduced on CB.com and after reading some reviews decided to give it a go.
It is a very nice Bible, with excellent quality bindings and finish that I am sure will last for a long time. The black-letter print is very clear for reading and preaching, with a very helpful concordance, cross reference system and maps. The big advantage for the minister is the ministry resources section in the back- several outlines and hints for a wide variety of pastoral tasks, and suggestions for answers and resources for many thorny questions and problems. Although needs and circumstances will differ, in general they have been very helpful, and I can see many pastors benefiting from them, either in the study or in the field. The sections on discipleship, funerals and hospital visits are especially good.
The one downside for me is its size- although it is certainly possible to use it on the go, it is quite heavy and large for the field, and a slightly smaller edition would be virtually perfect. Nevermind, you can't have it all! Certainly well worth checking out if you are a minister looking for a new "sword"- available with several translations and in an excellent binding, what more could you want?!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NICE

Date:February 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
LeMarr
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is awesome, no shadowing, clear text, nice leather, and nice paper.
If I HAD to find one thing to complain about, I would say not too much room for notes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was looking for

Date:February 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Vince
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! This Bible is exactly what I was looking and hoping for when I became a pastor. I love the real leather, the ministerial helps are great for a new minister, it lays flat and has the already "broken in" feel I wanted. The only thing I would change is that I really would prefer a red letter version. No complaints! Love my new Bible! Thanks CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it!

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
gypsyroaming
Location:Loves Park, Il
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and he just loves it!! This Bible is simple and easy to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
giggie
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my son, at his ordination. It is just
what he wanted. It was delivered promptly. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Everything He needed

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rae Rae
Location:Euless, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered for my husband who is Pastor, He loves it. The extra monogram was a really nice touch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milt
Location:Columbia,TN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great buy!The price is very low for the type Bible this is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Useful Bible

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
KenF
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible, as I grew up reading an NIV translation. I am not a fan of the new 2011 edition of the NIV, however, and finding the original (non-gender neutral) translation is becoming difficult. This Bible, however, retains it. It also includes a variety of helps that the practicing minister, missionary, evangelist or other Christian worker can use in carrying out his or her responsibilities. The leather is good quality, and the print is a size that most should easily be able to read. Find this Bible was really a delight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value - would highly recommend.

Date:July 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
CR10
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just recently purchased. This Bible seems to be well-constructed and the additional resources are very useful.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for good quality at an excellent price. Great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very effective tool for the active minister

Date:October 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Will
Location:Belpre, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the appearance, detailed text and versatility of the information that is provided for the active minister who is daily engaged in pastoral care.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Randy Smith
this Bible is a great Bible to read. it is my first choice to read now and i do have 7 Bible to choose from. it is very easy to read, and it gives you more information then most other Bible at a really good price. and this bible is easy on the eyes it has nice print in it, not no real small print but nice size print. it also has prayers in it and that help a lot too. so i would tell anyone it you are looking for a Bible and this is for your first Bible or for a friend or for yourself think about think this one, it is a good one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev. Jim DeManche
Although this is a very well made bible, and the cover is excellent quality leather, the font size is "extremely small" for my (53-yr old)eyes. The convenience of a 'slim' but full sized bible, and the 'Minister's helps' at the end, do balance things out somewhat.This bible is just barely worth the price of ($39.99). If I had paid more, I honestly would have sent it back due to the small size of the print. (It appeared larger on the computer display). Also be aware that this bible is not a (Christ's words in red) version.This is not a 'Study Bible', or one that I could read on a daily basis due again to the small size of the print.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rev. Billy Meek Jr.
Overall it is a quality product. Not cheap to the feel but worthy of using in ministry. I bought this for my son-in-law for his birthday. He feels led to ministry...as we all should...but more so as a pastor. Whether it be in a lead capacity or associate. Great find!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rofabius Latora
Overall this a great bible for many different reasons. Its great because of the pastoral resources in the back. The New International Version is always an easy to read translation unlike other biblical translations and this bible comes with two ribbons markers. The leather bible is also very nice. Not to thick, but not to thin either.However, I do want to be perfectly honest. This bible is slightly heavy. If your looking for a portable bible than this is not the one for you. Lugging this around can get tiresome trust me.Another personal thing I have against this bible is that I feel that every bible should state Holy Bible on the front cover. This makes it identifiable to believers and nonbelievers alike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ian Deane
Though the resources are good, and the layout is good, the quality leave much to be desired. After owning this bible for 6 years, and looking after it, the binding strated to come apart. I had it repaired, only for the binding to come apart even further less than a year later. It is now only a matter of time before the entire bible falls apart. I am very disappointed with such poor quality in terms of the binding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
LaVaughn Hudson
This Bible is an excellent ministry tool, the quality of the product is very good, the size is right, and the ministry resources have some good ideas, would be especially helpful to someone new to ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bob Staneck
Great resource for pastors, elders, deacons, or lay ministers. Nearly everything you need in one handy volume. Nice leather cover and very readable print. Quality at an affordable price. Makes a wonderful gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Z. John Colney
The NIV Minister's Bible is better than I've expected. The binding is perfect, the size appropriate and the resources useful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joseph Chandler
The NIV Minister's Bible is the perfect "on-the-go" Bible to equip pastors, counselors, pastoral caregivers, lay teachers -everyone in active ministry. Its unique ministry resources help them meet the challenges of everyday ministry opportunities as well as manage its stresses. Resources include a practical guide to visitation, sample services for weddings, funerals, and baptisms, a step-by-step plan of salvation, quick-find scripture references to answer tough questions, and more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NIV Minister's Bible Genuine Leather Black 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Niick Emery
This is an amazing Bible for pastors. It combines the Holy Word of God with some amazing resources. The concordance is rich and full and the maps are beautiful. It has s section for events Pastors lead and gives great insights, check lists, scriptures and order of services. It includes many other writings that will help any pastor help Bible understand life and its questions and circumstances from a Biblical perspective. I've already had one of my students use my Bible and come across this section and he was able to take from it something a friend of his was struggling with and he was able to help minister and reach out to his friend who then gave His life to Christ and we are using the discipleship resources in this Bible to help my student disciple his friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>