Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pearson Learning Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit

Pearson Learning Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit

This multi-sensory, sequenced curriculum uses fun songs, interactive charts, games, readers, and workbooks to teach homeschooled students how to spell, read, and write. Covering two years' worth of language arts instruction, thirty-six steps divided between Kindergarten (15 steps) and Grade 1 (21 steps) cover the alphabetic principle, phonics, sound/letter correspondence, short vowel sounds, blending, and eventually how to read single and short-vowel words.

Younger students begin with the Grade K workbooks, All Aboard and On Track, which feature larger print and fewer exercises. All Aboard includes coloring, cut-and-paste, tracing, and circling exercises to help children develop phonemic awareness, letter recognition, manuscript writing, visual & auditory discrimination, and other readiness skills. On Track features matching, tracing, drawing, fill-in-the-blank, and other exercises to help children develop systematic phonics, vocabulary, reading, and comprehension abilities. Six "Phonetic Storybook" kindergarten readers are filled with fun illustrations that will hold students' attention as they read the simple sentences that reinforce the lessons.

Grade 1 students will use the Off We Go workbook, which includes follow-the-dots, coloring pages, and tracing exercises that teach letter recognition, sequencing, auditory discrimination, cutting & pasting, and phonemic awareness. The second Grade 1 book, Raceway, has fill-in-the-blank, matching, and writing exercises to help children develop their understanding of systematic phonics, vocabulary, spelling, manuscript writing, comprehension, and grammar. The seventeen Level 1 Readers provide the practice and confidence-building students need to become fluent, independent readers.

The Assessment Book includes 17 book-end assessments for the Phonetic Storybook Readers and 3 achievement tests that assess your students' word comprehension, word recognition, and story & sentence comprehension.

Teacher instructions are provided for kindergarten in the K Instructor's Directions for the K/Level 1 Combo Kit Pamphlet, which provides a 4-page overview of the program's Level K components. The Instructor's Manual for Level 1 is much more detailed, and includes goals, suggested pacing, materials needed (with page numbers), procedures with semi-scripted instructions, phonics songs and games, and a written spelling test. An answer key is also provided.

This Sing, Spell, Read, and Write K/Level 1 Combo kit includes:

  • SSRW Instructor's Manual, Level 1, 224 pages, softcover
  • All Aboard Student Book, 221 pages, softcover
  • On Track Student Book, 144 pages, 2nd Edition
  • Off We Go Student Book, 112 pages, softcover, 2nd Edition
  • Raceway Book Student Book, 192 pages, 2nd Edition
  • Assessment Book, 17 assessments and 3 achievement tests, softcover
  • SSRW Kindergarten Level Readers 1-6, 2nd Edition, 8.25" x 5.25" each.
  • SSRW Storybook Readers 1-17, 2nd Edition
  • 1 "Treasure Chest" box, 5.25"L x 6"W x 4.5"D with included stickers, bingo chips, and assorted toys (bracelets, crayons, tops, erasers, plastic rings, etc. Contents may vary).
  • Phonics Songs for Level 1 Audio CD (17 tracks)
  • 1 Instructional DVD: Edition 2, Level 1 for Home Study & Tutoring; 1 hr, 9 min.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Review 1 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product, but needs to be upgraded

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mrs Miranda
Location:California
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Several of my homeschooling mommy friends recommended this, and we were very excited to get it. My daughter learns very well with songs, so we thought this would be perfect! When I received the package, my 5 year old and I excitedly opened it, but were somewhat disappointed to find that there were cassette tapes and a VHS. I was told that the songs that are on the cassettes are the same as the songs that are on the CD, but I have not confirmed that yet. I am unable to watch the VHS as we do not have a VHS player and shouldn't have to purchase one just to watch this one video. I know some homes still have VHS and DVD players, but come on, you really need to get with the times and upgrade the VHS to the DVD format. Other than that, we are happy with the product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great curriculum

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
czgaines
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was worth every penny. I am homeschooling my kindergartener and she loves this curriculum. She has looked forward to school time every day and her reading has improved tremendously in a short period of time. The curriculum is interactive and fun. There are worksheets and hands on activities as well as songs and games. We are very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter is actually using it. She says it is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amber
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything is exactly as described which is refreshing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carrie
I think this is an amazing program! I used Sing, Spell, Read and Write with my daughter and we had a great time. The songs are fun and easy to remember and you can progress at your own pace. I will be starting Kindergarten with my son this year and I am using the program again! This isn't your normal boring program . . . It's fun and it works!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Melissa Cyphert
My daughter and I are enjoying this program. She is learrning and the program is fun.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
I taught Pk, K and 1st grade for 8 years and we used this. It is a wonderful program that really works! The songs really help the children learn the spelling rules. I cant emphasize enough how well it works. My son went to another school where this was not part of their curriculum and I am using it with him to get him to "catch up" over the summer! In response to negative statements from Susie, It is impossible to teach all letter sounds and rules in kinder level. Foundation is layed and then other sounds and rules introduced. It is a sequential program that addresses this as the program progresses. As for the 2 vowels go together song, YES, some do not follow those rules and this is addressed too. They are called "rule breakers" but a child cannot learn all this at once or they will be overwhelmed and confused. One thing at a time so they can really learn and then build upon it as they go along. NO program is perfect, but this one is awesome and it works. My students loved to sing along and they learned so quickly. For the most part the children caught on very quickly. Now every year there were a couple of students that needed extra time and help catching on, but even they loved it!They loved the songs, the bingo games, the ferris wheel and the workbooks. I know that some say they dont have time to do all activities everyday and thats ok, I didnt either. But do try to do the songs everyday. Children learn so much faster through music.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
LORNA
I am compelled to write this review in RESPONSE to SUSIE from WV above. I have used this curriculum with my oldest son (12), and middle daughter (11)... it is Excellence. They were reading at a 3rd grade level by 6 1/2 and 7 years old respectively. (By the way, one was very reluctant!) It is too bad you judge so harshly. Of course, ALL the letter sounds possible are addressed but not at pre-school / K level! Can you imagine how confused the little ones would be? As the program progresses the 'different' sounds are not just introduced, but throroughly understood so that future multiple problems in pronounciation and spelling are virtually eliminated! It is the most thorough program, clear and correct, and true understanding is the result. I plan on using it again with our now 4 year old.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bev
i used this curriculum years ago with all six of my children and was very pleased with the results. All six were reading pretty well within 3 months of using the program. I liked the progression from short vowel sounds to the long vowels. Through songs the program makes reading appealing and natural in a sense. The raceway concept gets the competitive attention of the male gender.The 'odd' sounds or rule breakers such 'oo' 'er' 'ch'. I believe it lays a sound enough foundation to get 4 and 5 year olds off to a good start. Each reader matches the level of learning and readiness which in turn foster a sense of accomplishment and achievement.I love it! i am looking at using the program for tutoring.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susie
I was considering this program for my preschooler until I listened to the songs. They don't teach all the letter sound in the all the letter sounds song. G says /g/ and /j/ but only /g/ was taught. U says /u/ /U/ and /oo/ as in 'put'. But only the first two were taught. Same with O, it say /o/ /O/ and /OO/ as in 'to'. Another song taught faulty phonics rule. "Two Vowels" said that when two vowels are together the first one says the letter name. This only works 25% of the time. What is a child to do when he encounter the words 'steak', 'their', 'our', 'tour', 'famous'early', 'pauper', 'fruit', 'bread', 'food', 'took', 'boil'. Incomplete, slow and faulty phonics does not set a good foundation. I will stick with Spell to Write and Read by Wanda Sanseri. It isn't as visually appealing and fun for my preschooler but at least her foundation will be solid.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy
We finally finished this program today. We have enjoyed it the last two years so much I wanted to be sure to tell others. We started this program after so many failures with other curriculum. Everything else we tried was so flat & boring. This has lots of color, music, games and holds kids attention. There is so much to do and learn. We started off not knowing how to read at all and worked up to reading with confidence. My dd is very hard to please and hard to captivate. That makes buying curriculum a bit of a project. This program took her from literally crying to loving to read. As a parent/teacher I had NO Prep!! None! Each day we just pick up where we left off and follow the guide. I could go on and on. It really does take (atleast) 2 years to get through. It starts with just learning the letters and their sounds all the way to learning letter clusters and everything in between. The cost seems high, but you really get a lot of stuff and it covers a lot. We started at 5 yo and finished at 7 1/2 yo. Five Stars!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie
I started this program with my 6 year old and she loves it! The program is so easy to follow and most of all it is FUN! It makes teaching reading easy!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kari
We received this program last week and my children ages 3 and 5 are just absolutely in love with it. They want to play the CD all day long and they really enjoy going through the workbooks together. The 5 year old is always asking if she can grab the readers to look at during quiet time. Definetly worth the money for every homeschooling family.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2002
Customer Avatar
Susan Mullens
I love Sing, Spell, Read and Write! I have three children ages 3, 5 and 8. All three listen to the songs and sing along in the car while looking at charts.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sing, Spell, Read & Write, Kindergarten/Level 1 Combo Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2002
Customer Avatar
Carole Wright
I started this program when one of my sons was 4 and the other was 5. That was 2 years ago and my sons are now reading at a 3rd grade reading level. I am excited to now do this curriculum with my daughter. The catchy songs and racetrack to mark progress were very appealing to my boys and help them learn phonics quickly and retain what they learned. I highly recommend it to any parent!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.