Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Provident Music Distribution The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD

Provident Music Distribution The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD

Destined to become a classic, The Passion of The Christ created quite the media hype before its premiere. Mel Gibson's stunning masterpiece portrays the final twelve hours of Jesus' life. This DVD of the international blockbuster film offers an unforgettable experience of the profound love of Christ's sacrifice. With amazing cinematography and stellar performances by a talented cast, The Passion of the Christ is Christian moviemaking at its best. This film features audio on Aramaic/Latin/Hebrew languages and English subtitles. Close-captioned. Rated R (scenes of graphic violence). Widescreen. Approx. 126 minutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.808 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
68
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
46 out of 4798%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Review 1 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is nothing that compares to this!!

Date:May 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shirley
Location:New Bern, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will go down in history as the best portayal of Christ's love & sacrifice for mankind. I believe it is the best movie ever made!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well illustrated!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mish
Location:canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not for the faint at heart!
I just cried and cried!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
pjc pam
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awsome not a movie an experience of your own love it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great movie.

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
carrie
Location:Arlington, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Passion of the Christ, helps one to understand the pain and struggles that Christ went through for us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ken2
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A movie not to be missed by any Christian family. A very inspirational and thought provoking movie depicting the love and mercy of Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's authentic

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Candy
Location:Temple, GA.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have studied Hebrew and enjoy the language of the film along with the true adaptation of the gospels. It's really well directed and the scenery is excellent!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent film

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
BobT
Location:Chattanooga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well done movie that all people should see. Depicts the agony and suffering of the cross and changes it from a simple Sunday School story to the real deal of the death of Christ. Hallelujah that it did not end there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great but very emotional movie

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Holm
Location:Albany, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
If you want to feel how it must have felt to watch Christ being tried, tortured and crucified then this film is it. Not all is biblically accurate, but as a whole a very good, very emotional movie. It has had a great impact on my life after I viewed it and this purchase was for my son and his new wife who are new in the faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enlightening

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Irene Single
Location:Maine
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie depicts the Lord's suffering and isn't for young people. At times I had to turn away, however I also realized how much suffering the Lord took on my behalf and I loved Him more because of it. This is a reminder to Love Him with all your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good movie

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
LouH
Location:Springfield, Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to all adults. Some children have problems viewing what happened to Jesus. May want to use some discernment with a child. I watched it twice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Stunningly realistic

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beloved
Location:Newton, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This film (THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST) should have a profoundly life-changing effect on everyone who watches it, compelling each individual to realize what Jesus suffered for him or her and to surrender completely to Him in heartfelt gratitude.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie was great, it was a tear jerker but at the same time it made me really think just how much did our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ suffered just for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This film puts emotion into history

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Philco
Location:North Little Rock, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of the film is excellent as is the acting. The plot follows closely the biblical account. It is good to "see" the Bible. In our electronically stimulated society this is a very good film to watch with the family. The crucifixion is violent and may frighten very small children so parents may need to watch it with them. This is a very moving film that will cause most people to look seriously at living a stronger faith in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was expecting it to be in English.

Date:May 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
KATHY
Location:York PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was excellent except for it not being in English, but I could understand most of it just from watching what was happening. Very gruesome but realistic. Heart and Soul wrenching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This shows the love God has for us

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joyojoy
Location:Canby MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen many movies along this theme, but none of them have made me FEEL the agony that Jesus went through for me and for anyone who will turn from their sin and call upon Him. But it isn't just that He died...He Rose Again!!!! He is not in a tomb...He is seated at the right hand of the Father in Glory and one day very soon will come back for His church. Hope you are all ready. You only have two choices...Heaven with Jesus, or hell with Satan. You must decide for yourself this side of death. Death is separation from God...FOREVER. Don't wait call upon Him TODAY!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Lent

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jonesy
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love watching this movie on Good Friday! The scenes are very realistic and it brings home what Lent is really about and how important it is to know Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent depiction of the Crucifixion

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Springfoal
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't say enough about this movie. Very humbling, really lets you see what Christ did for us.. what he endured for us.. what we do not have to endure because He took it all on Himself. I sobbed when he was beaten. Felt so much pain in my own heart because He took all of that because I sinned. Unbelievably moving, some parts hard to watch, but everyone needs to see, to know what He did for us, for us to obtain our salvation. Extremely moving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Film

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Colbert
Location:Hulbert, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quite gory and factual. Have seen this several times and will watch it again!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

product skips

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
jean
Location:Pontiac, Mi
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've wanted to own this film for years. This dvd sounds as if it is grinding every few minutes and the film slows down for a few seconds. I fast forward a few times and eventually the problem stopped.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Passion of the Christ, Widescreen DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is Love

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
KOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movie stands on it's own. If you can endure it, you will realize the cost of our salvation which completely removes any doubt about God's loves for us. Concerning "the passion", perhaps God had the hardest job; withholding Himself from intervening; turning His face the other way, as they came to arrest His Son; as they taunted and struck Him. Father God had to turn His face away. This is love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.