Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Random House, Inc Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time

From the television to the Internet, print media to videos, men are constantly faced with the assault of sensual images. It is impossible to avoid such temptations ... but, thankfully, not impossible to rise above them. Shattering the perception that men are unable to control their thought lives and roving eyes, Every Man's Battle shares the stories of dozens who have escaped the trap of sexual immorality and presents a practical, detailed plan for any man who desires sexual purity. Perfect for men who have fallen in the past, those who want to remain strong today, and all who want to overcome temptation in the future. Includes a special section for women, designed to help them understand and support the men they love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.437 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
25 out of 2889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Review 1 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening read

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
psych
Location:Coldwater, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is really every man's battle. The bombardment is constant and this book gave a simple workable solution to the problem men face daily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book quantified principles of my desire to be

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Just one guy
Location:Plattsburgh, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the book becuase a friend desired to have me read and discuss the material and as I am getting ready for a re marriage relationship, I consented. For me the book stated the importance of pruity and just how much our culture has let things slide with reference to sex. The authors talk of their own battles with sexual sin and also have anectodotal sections from women. I found these to be most helpful in understanding the woman's opinion. More importantly, I got an increased appreciation for just what a woman wants from a man, and what it takes to be a man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pathway
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a Recovery Ministry and give our the Bibles and Books we order away free. We know they are great books for Christ-life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dangerous!

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
mandy
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i hate to bash a Christian author that feels like they are doing something good, but i need to be honest. i bought the audio for my husband to listen to after some talks of him struggling with lust sins. he told me months later that this book, that i bought to help him, planted thoughts into his mind that he would never have thought of on his own. while he has not told me specifically what they are, he said that this book was "evil" with presenting things that he otherwise would not have struggled with. he said that no man should read/hear the ideas within it. i also read the What every woman needs to know book by the same author, and i actually felt the same way. rather than healing, it was haunting. buyer beware, this is not the book for your family.
-7points
5of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good information

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
strongtower
Location:minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got two copies for my husband to use in a counseling session. I read the book at my husband's recommendation. As a women I found it helpful to understand what men go through and how they are so different from women.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.Challenging us to a higher standard

Date:December 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Curtis Brown
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellence is not acceptable. Only perfection. Step by step Arterburn and Stoeker take you through their experience and failures and how they changed for the better.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Favorable, up until the conclusion

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The book represents a very personal journey in Fred’s life. He shares practical tips that helped him to improve his life and take his marriage from life support to thriving. The book was easy to read and incorporated some Scriptural support. The only part of the book I did not like was he conclusion which read more like an infomercial where the author was trying to sell more products in which he and his family have been involved.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bobs
Location:St. Louis, Mo.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At 70, I read things I should have been taught at 12. My life is now different even at my age. I am closer to my FATHER than I was before this book. I am getting this book for a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
jojo
Location:Nebraska
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the men are studying this so far they like it .. it is helpping..
Putting a postive light of God in and on . will know more when they have finished.. it..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book !!!!

Date:August 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
chris
Location:South Shore, Mass
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was such a great help, in my battle with sexual temptation, I would recommend the book to every man that has any type of problem dealing with sexual temptation. I really enjoyed that they also provided a female side at end of each chapter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Umnus
Location:Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This particular subject really hits hard in a personal way. I struggled with lust since I was a teen, and at times it still haunts me… As this lust was apart of my life I would grow to despise it mentally, though certainly enjoy it physically; this was even before I became a Christian. When I got saved, I ESPECIALLY knew dabbling in lust and pornography was wrong, and through various efforts sought to turn away from it. For a time I had heard about this book, but for some reason I never picked it up until recently. I wanted to read this, because I heard so many good things about it. I also wanted to read this, because of my personal encounter with sexual sin; where at times I’d win and lose battles against it…
Every Man’s Battle is a book which touches on just that, a sin which every man ought to be battling: Lust. Fred and others expose not only how ugly sexual sin is for single and married men, but also for children, fathers, and even pastors and youth leaders too. This goes deep and even a little graphic into some of the thoughts/experiences men have andor are capable of having. Since Fred and others are speaking of an enemy worth fighting against, they also give readers a battle strategy too.
Some reading bits of Every Man’s Battle might say: “There is no way some of these anecdotes are real” , but as a man who has struggled with sexual sin I can testify what they wrote is easily relatable. Indeed I have had moments where lust has plagued my thoughts, but Fred and the others expanded this issue further than I expected. I strongly agree with most of what they say in this book, and feel if one pursues the game plan they set for the reader most will be able to overcome this monster. I like the strong use of scripture, since God needs to be man’s greatest ally in this fight, and I also liked the workbook included too. Of course, one thing I questioned was when they said slow dancing was a form of foreplay; I say this depending on what they define as “slow dancing”. Otherwise I feel this is an essential book!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
AMBC
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great resource...this will be a blessing to the men to whom we minister!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book speaks directly to most guys' battles

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gem54
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really addressed battles that were hurting my marriage unknowingly. I was also not aware of their impact on me spiritually, but I now realize how much sexual immorality is offensive to God which had hurt my relationship with Him. This book can definitely make my marriage more of the way God intended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

How do "techniques" help me?

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Boundless84
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first read this book about 5 years ago. God did use this book to help me grow in sexual purity. However the tips and techniques that the book teaches are ineffective. For months I fought, and fought, and fought to not look a second time at women. I thought it finally worked and had me 'cured', but that was not the case. Where is the work of God in this? Where is the change of heart that is needed? Sure, I can fight to not look, but without a changed heart the book completely misses the point. Even if I can 'bounce the eyes' every time, yet my heart remains unchanged, what is the point?
We don't need more techniques to become better Christians. It will always fail. Such were the Pharisees in Jesus time. They built rules and traditions around God's laws, 'just to be safe'. Yet their hearts were unchanged. Outwardly they kept the law, and then some. But inwardly their hearts were adulterous, sinful, and wicked. I see the tips and techniques that this book offers as similar to the rules and laws that the Pharisees created for themselves. Men need changed hearts, not mere techniques and 'battle plan' that leave God out of the picture.
I'm curious to know if indeed the authors are still able to 'bounce' their eyes continually, or if they too fail to keep their own techniques for purity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Effective tool to put biblical truth into action

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
graceflood89
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I are reading this and its partner "Every Woman's Battle" together, since we're newly married and want to equip ourselves for fighting future temptations and for recognizing warning signals. This book is very good for that, and though we're lucky enough to have most of the basics down already (we already are convinced of the need and worth for purity, etc.), there have been several good points that have benefited him already. Once the preliminary chapters are digested, the meat of the helpful advice and "battle plan" are very effective and easy to understand. This is also good for single men, too! Not just for married men : )
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Misses the Mark of the Cross

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I'm trying something a little different for me in the manner in which I do book reviews. Please let me know what you think of the presentation format by commenting below! Thanks.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Should have read it years ago!!!!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Lancaster, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sexual impurity is EVERY man's battle. God has a lot to say about it in His Word - so pay attention. I don't care who you are or your place in life as all men have this innate problem to lust, fantasize, covet and a lot more. My problem has been going on for over 55 years. I bought the first edition at a Promise Keepers
Rally in 1999 but never read it until November 2011. What a waste of years! The information and study guide in this book has helped me kick the habits I've created. Thanks be to God for helping me kick those but it's not a one-time deal. I wish it was so but because it's not, each day is a new battle of sorts, more like a skirmish but a fight none the less. Each and every time one of my old issues pops up, I deal with it right then and there through prayer. God will and does honor those who seek to be free of it so keep a very short list. We are at war with the unseen forces of evil. Remember the old bracelets, WWJD? Flip it around so it says DJWW. It translates to Devil Just Won't Win!!! I'm so glad to be on the wining side! So I depend on God each and every day for victory over sexual impurity. It's not easy nor pretty but man is it worth it. The Men's Group in my church is doing the book and workbook at my urging. Some have done it, others have not. But I fully believe that sexual impurity is one of the biggest issues that holds back the Holy Spirit in many churches. Thanks be to God that my pastors have gone through this study and are free of this bondage. Lives are forever changed and marriages transformed for the good. The Holy Spirit is going gang busters in and through the congregation. Man, what an exciting place to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave11
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the most informative books I have ever read. It taught me so much about my wiring as a man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shirley Woods
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book for ministry to this need. Did not realize the need was so prevalent. Great instructions and helps for the ministering of this addiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Every Man's Battle: Winning the War on Sexual Temptation One Victory at a Time
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great truths from someone set free from sin

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
R Dub
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
every man should read to get a better understanding of the freedom through the name of Jesus or to be set free themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.