Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Books Piercing the Darkness

Living Books Piercing the Darkness

Sleepy little Bacon's Corner seems like a picture-perfect farming community. But appearances can be deceiving. An attempted murder, a case of mistaken identity, and a ruthless lawsuit against a Christian school are tearing the town apart as angels and demons battle for victory---and the soul of young loner Sally Beth Roe. 544 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.941 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Piercing the Darkness
Review 1 for Piercing the Darkness
This review is fromPiercing the Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It'll open your eyes to a whole other world

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading "This Present Darkness" opened my eyes to a world more real then my own. When I found the sequel, I knew I had to continue my journey.
Frank Peretti has created a masterpiece that is essential to the spiritual life. Warfare is a reality that so many deny or hide from, but the truth is that it is a battle that we are all a part of whether we realize it or not.
Filled with strong characters and a plot that keeps you guessing, it's a story you won't regret reading.
Highly recommended whether you're a fan of thriller type books or not. You don't need to read them in order, they are separate stories connected only in the spiritual realm. Great for mature teens as well as adults.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the most important fictional books ever.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great (as is its prequel) . I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction. The story is compelling. It is hard to put down. It is built upon sound Biblical teaching but doesn't feel overly preachy. Who would have thought a fictional work would help so many people better understand what Spiritual warfare is all about? I have read this book several times and highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
4GivenRN
Location:Winder, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Wonderful story. Makes you think about the spiritual realm in a way you have never thought of it. It gives new meaning to Spiritual Warfare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Piercing the Darkness
This review is fromPiercing the Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the most important fictional books ever.

Date:April 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
RICHARD HOLT
Location:Clovis, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is great. I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction. The story is compelling. It is built upon sound Biblical teaching. Who would have thought a fictional work would help so many people better understand what Spiritual warfare is all about? I have read this book several times and highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Susan Robson
I borrowed this book from a co-worker and i am soo glad i did.I couldn't put it down. I would start reading as I got into bed and before I knew it,it was 2:30 am and i had to get up at 7am for work, but it was soo worth it. I have to say this book is in my top 5 favorite books that i ever read. I am buying this book as well as the other 2(3 pk set) and i cant wait to start reading them!when I would read this book at work before my shift, it was so hard not to yell out loud for sally to run, or get excited with joy when the Angels won the battle. great great book. thank you Mr.Peretti
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
I read this book in 1990, just a couple days after reading This Present Darkness.I consider both books EXCELLENT and a very good insight into how demons do their dirty work. Although it is long, I finished it in a couple days and didn't want it to end. Don't start it unless you have a LOT of reading time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Saddington
Love how Peretti merges the spiritual world with the natural to give readers a new clarity of what forces are at work in our lives. Great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jo Ann Patillo
Book was highly recommended as a must read by a co-worker. Have not had the chance to read, but from reading the cover I believe it to be a five star book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Piercing the Darkness
This review is fromPiercing the Darkness.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul Powers
I thoroughly enjoyed Piercing The Darkness. I've read several of Peretti's books and know he can really write a good story. This book kept me reading late when I should have been sleeping. It brings the fact of "spiritual warfare" to the forefront. A really good read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Willie Cobb
I have read many great books like " Stranger in a Strange Land and Dune". Both are great books in their own rights but without a doubt, next to the bible itself this book is the best book I have ever read. The insight it gives on spiritual warfare and the power of prayer is priceless. Frank Paretti has really opened my eyes. I highly recommend this book to every Christian and the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Narcissa Erskine
Great book! The order came through quickly and ahead of the guaranteed time. I am very satisfied. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jay B
Just finished this book,wow! This novel presents an awesome unseen battle that takes place over several communities. You will be cheering for each spiritual victory, and the content of these victories is really amazing. So much has to do with our Christian need to pray. Prayer is what activates the Heavenly hosts in this book. So many characters are under deception and spiritual harassment. This perspective is not purely fiction, as God has given us the gift of prayer in Jesus' name. Gossip, factions, and other sins are what empower Satan's legions. I found myself cheering out loud for the Godly victories that happened during the book. You can feel the pain in the described battles that take place, and possibly relate with the characters.The Biblical roller coaster will keep you praying as you read. A clear depiction of New Age communities are under a spell of sorts. We do need to step up to the spiritual plate. Pray for God to gain the control over these areas. I pray that a high budget movie is made available in the future. As exemplified in the book the extreme Left has powers in very instrumental places in the Government, Education, and churches. It is time to get this book out and read it. These touching scenarios are so abundant in our world.It is not a book about Theology, so don't demand such. The ultimate summary is that Christ provides victory to all whom truly seek him!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Mark Malky
Unbelieveable! Great book you WILL NOTbe dissapointed...Got to get this one.I could not put it down , and i am sure you will be the same. Very interesting through outto the very end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Okere, Chimene E.
I really loved this extraordinary piece of hardwork.It was my second novel by Frank E. Peretti, the first was This Present Darkness.I couldn't drop the book even when I had lots of class assignments to do.Everyone in my class who had the oppurtunity to read this book really liked it.I would be very grateful if you could send other books by Him to me through this address: Department of Architecture, University of Nigeria, Enugu campus, Enugu State.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2004
Customer Avatar
Rachel
This book comes down really hard on New Age ideas and practices(as does This Present Darkness). It really opened my eyes to how harmful it is. The message the world sends about dabbling in New Age ideas says that it is fun and harmless, but this book definitely exposes the truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sharon Roberts
This book was so spiritually powerful that it left me feeling like I could sense angels and demons in my own daily life at every step. My brother is a Wiccan, and because of this eye opening story, I will never look at his religion as harmless again. I thank God for giving Mr. Peretti the talent and ability to lift the veil from my eyes that Satan had placed there, and I pray that one day I can do the same for my brother. I urge anyone that sees new age enlightenment as fun and harmless to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Piercing the Darkness
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2002
Customer Avatar
The Masked Reviewer
I read this a looong time ago. I remember very few details, so I can't give my usually hundred word essay, but I can say that it was a very good book. That's about all I can say. If you're planning to read this book and This Present Darkness, read This Present Darkness first. This one isn't really a sequel, but it has some characters from that one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.