Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tate Publishing When Love Abounds

Tate Publishing When Love Abounds

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for When Love Abounds
Review 1 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

When Love Abounds...God's Grace Abounds!

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Choices
Location:Arizona
Gender:female
When Love Abounds
Book Review by Lisa Suggs
Author of - Choices: When Divorce Happens to You and Your Children
When Love Abounds is a story about survival, healing, and most importantly, God’s goodness, grace, and love. In this story, through a series of flashbacks and memories, “Lou Ellen” shares her testimony of growing up in an environment where rejection, humility, and confusion are part of her everyday life. She is constantly reminded of her lack of value by her critical stepmother in whom she tries to find ways to please day in and day out without any success. Over time, her self worth hits rock bottom, and she wonders if she will ever be truly loved. Finally, at the age of 16, a young man enters Lou Ellen’s life that completely turns her life around!
Lou Ellen’s reflections of the past help her to gain a better understanding of God’s role in her life and the salvation she has gained through her Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Through the hard times of her childhood, and the joys of her adulthood with her dear sweet hubby by her side, she sees that God has had a plan for her all along. And, He is not finished with her yet!
This book is a good read. I truly appreciated the imagery that author Linda Robinson weaved into this story from beginning to end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is definitely for everyone!

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rose
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From beginning to end, I was amazed by When Love Abounds by Linda Robinson. The book brought tears, joy, laughter, and inspiration. All ages can feel sympathy for Lou Ellen as a child struggling to understand why she doesn't feel loved - then joy as she finds her true love, becomes an adult, and begins to understand the adults of her childhood. Lou Ellen is a strong, determined character, and we can all learn from her struggles and triumphs. I know everyone who reads When Love Abounds will be inspired no matter what his or her state of mind.
Rose
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little sadness, and a little laughter.

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
sharon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It was so very sad at first and you thought no one could live in the situations as this, but as you read it all works out for the good. I even lived in the same areas as the settings and can relate to it quite well. This was a very enjoyable book to read and I highly reccomend it to anyone who thinks they had a hard life as a child.
You never know how things will turn out if you don't put your trust in Jesus first. In the end, we will be with God and that is all that counts.Even though there is a lot of pain and suffering in this book, Jesus went through a lot more than that for us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Southern Style

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Aileen Stewart
Location:Shelby, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
"When Love Abounds" is the story of one woman's life told in a series of flash backs. As the main character, Lou Ellen, reflects on how good God has been to her, despite a rocky start in life, she also comes to find that God still has a purpose for her. Author Linda Robinson's soft Southern style oozes from every page, creating vivid mental pictures. One minute you want to cry for Lou Ellen and the next moment you want to laugh your socks off at her antics, but the one thing you won't want to do is put the book down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspirational Book

Date:June 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
mactheknife
Location:Palm Bay, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Growing up in the same community and time frame that Lou Ellen did, I can relate to all things the author said about the community. Although, I never considered myself as being poor, my economic and living standards were nearly the same as Lou Ellen's. Her book shows that with the love of God, determination, and hard work a person can
accomplish most anything. Just as Lou Ellen did, I went on to get more education (two graduate degrees) and a very successful career. Lou Ellen's love of fried corn bread is no greater than mine (just had to add this).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too good to put down until finished.

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Ozark, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a reader much but after reading this book I am really looking forward to the next book. I read it while my son and his children were visiting me. Needed to be in the room while the kids played, so I picked up the book, began reading and could not put it down. I read it in a day and a half, fixing three meal, bathing the kids, washing clothes and making the beds, you know, all the things grandmothers want to do? The book was in one hand while working with the other, so to speak. Knowing the author personally, a wonderful lady, makes me appreciate her even more.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a wonderfully inspiring read.

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Work4Me
Location:Ozark, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I go to know Lou Ellen in a one day, all day read fest because I simply could not put it down. Throughout the book, you feel the constant theme of God's love and see the intricate way that His plans for His children unfold. I laughed, I cried, I prayed. The characters became so real - no mean feat for any author. I am already looking forward to the next book. It is like waiting for your best friend to make the next visit. Bravo!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book comes with goosebumps...fantastic read!

Date:March 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Highwayman
Location:Omaha
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not normally a reader, but a friend gave me this book and encouraged me to read it. It's filled with heartache, guts and determination, inspiration, humor, and family fun. I found myself sympathizing with Lou Ellen through a difficult childhood, cheering for her into a blessed adulthood, and happy for her when she found her purpose and became a contented, happy woman of faith—praising God, who’d had her back at all times. I'm looking forward to her next book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Written with Great Compassion

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Seed Sower
Location:Orlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It may be a work of fiction but it certainly came alive for me and caused me to look deeper inside myself as a Christian. Lou Ellen overcame what seemed like one impossible situation after another because of faith, hope and love. This book will inspire you to walk closer to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ in your daily journey to become more like him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Read

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
freeme
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a wonderful read!!!!
I recieved a blessing reading "When Love Abounds" by Linda Robinson. Lou Ellen encouraged me by her ability to love without bitterness as she grows older. Holding no grudges when it would have been so easy. Loving her father so much and understandng his sickness. Loving and forgiving her step-mother of her jealousy toward Lou Ellen. In our world today it is very easy to blame others for our mistakes if we don't have a perfect family life. Lou Elllen is a wonderful example for her love of God, Bert. her family and friends. Bert is also a wonderful loving character with a wonderful sense of humor. I'm sure he was a great help to Lou Ellen in her early life. All through out the entire book, I felt LOVE!!!!
Looking forward to her next book.
.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for When Love Abounds
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful, uplifting read

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
emmysmom
Location:Miami Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend gave me this book, and when I finally started reading it, I literally could not put it down. It is so inspiring and heart-warming. I wound up purchasing six more copies as Christmas gifts for my female family members. I went on the author's website and discovered she is planning another book. I can't wait!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.