Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Humility & Absolute Surrender

Hendrickson Publishers Humility & Absolute Surrender

For over a century countless readers have found in Andrew Murray a trustworthy guide to the deeper Christian life. As a pastor, evangelist, educator, and writer driven by concern for the spiritual guidance of new converts--and for revival in long-time believers--Murray penned some of the most enduring devotional classics of Christian literature. Though he ministered in a deeply-divided nation, his vision seemed blind to race, class, or political persuasion. And from a remote corner of South Africa, his preaching, teaching, and writing would eventually fuel spiritual awakening with a worldwide impact.

This edition pairs Humility and Absolute Surrender in one volume. Together these classics reflect Murray's longing for a closer walk with Christ, and call us to a life of holiness and virtue, empowered not by our own strength but by the indwelling Holy Spirit. Hardcover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Review 1 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommended

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Manchester, NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrew Murray focuses on Christ's greatest characteristic - humility - and why it is so important to seek this grace in our own lives. This book is a great opportunity to assess where you really are in your walk with God. The section discussing surrendering to God was superb.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A true blessing

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
marti
Location:San Diego, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been so blessed, so clear. What an amazing writer that is so clear that anyone can pick it up and clearly see the message. The author was a man of God, and even though it was written long ago it still brings the message to this century.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Esther Hendrickson
Brought a few copies of this book over the year, first it was Absolute Surrender, then "Humility". I'm quite pleased that they made two great books into one and it's a better gift. Personally, I love the book and it's one of those books that can't be read in one seating and must be read over and over again to get the fullness of the message.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Moses
Amazing! This book is like 90% dark chocolate. You take a small bite, and savor the truth contained in it for a long time. A true rare gem. Truly a spiritual book, and a MUST READ for those desiring truly to abide and rest in Christ.I would give it 10 stars if I could.Of all the Christian books I have read, this one, has impacted me the most without question.If you are debating whether or not to buy it, BUY IT. There are free copies on the net (ccel.org) but it is worth having it on paper, in your hands.Highly highly highly highly highly highly recommend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Hopkins
I didn't know so much could be written about humility. Andrew Murray was truly inspired. His book has ministered to both me and my wife and for me, personally, requires re-reading as I daily recognize the pride that lingers. To be like Jesus is to be humble. Forgive, think of others as better than yourself, serve, all the fruits of the Spirit. Thank you God for revealing this to me and for your healing Spirit.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Petruzziello
This book through the Holy Spirit is showing me how truly prideful I am and how humble our Lord is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Vonfriewalde
This book is an absolute must read for those who are searching for thier true identity in Christ. Mr Murray helps you examine your inner thoughts into the true meaning of servanthood. Why did Jesus come to this earth,? to show you exactly how it is to be done. Please read this book if you long to know how to be like Jesus. You must surrender it all, halfway won't do. This is truly one of the great works of Christian literature.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Bewick
I read both these books years ago and was very happy to find them in one hard cover volume. For the low price these are nice volumes and I plan on purchasing more in this series of classic Christian writings. I personally find more spiritual help in these classics than many of the modern Christian writers. Andrew Murray remains my favorite Christian author and in my opinion "Humility" was his best work. He makes mention of William Law in this work and I would highly recommend his writings as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Thomas Gritten
This is an absolute must read for any christian that is seeking to finish the race. To reach the point where your faith and pray will not take you. Should be used in a class at church or in a small group.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Neill Morris
This man wrote like an angel! He is the Max Lucado of the 19th Century. And compelling!Some say that he uses old english. Maybe. His books are over 100 years old. He does often write backwards or sidewise; that is, instead of saying: "You can tell an honest man by his eyes." He might say, "By gazing into his eyes, one can discern a man's honesty." We tend to write in short sentences, and to be very direct. Murray writes in complex sentences, in an indirect manner. Sometimes he even uses words or expressions that we don't have anymore. Example: He may say "God will discover it to you." We would say "God will reveal it to you." His style is musical - almost poetic. When I read him, I often do so out-loud, so I can emphasize his phrases in a way that will help me to soak it in. He writes so positively and with such encouragement and such hope! You'll find yourself getting more excited with every word!And, Oh! What truths!Do you want to be truly Holy? Then read "Humility and Absolute Surrender". Murray knows the way!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jerrie Marty
I read Absolute Surrender when I first came to know Jesus as my personal savior. I cried on almost every page. Understanding the depth of His heart for me was healing as well as comforting. I wanted nothing more to surrender my everything to the purpose Jesus had in store for me.I am reading this book with a church group (a book of the month). It is as profound today as it was almost 30 years ago. The subject is timeless and timely. It is a book that stirs within. It drives home truths and bring forth desires to reevaluate our personal walk with the Lord. The want for change, for surrender is paramount to everything else. The heart cries for complete surrender to the One who fills us. This book is worth the read. You will find yourself humbled and surrendering willingly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Humility & Absolute Surrender
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
This book is very soul searching. It is truly one of the best I have read other than the Bible. If you want to know the secrets to living the "Higher Christian Life", get this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.