Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy

Hendrickson Publishers The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy

From classic anthems and beloved gospel standards to a wide array of "must-have" hymns and new worship favorites arranged for congregational singing, here's the perfect worship resource for every tradition and generation. You'll find 600 songs; an extensive seasonal selection - including nearly 60 Christmas carols; 7 indexes; and much more. 656 pages, hardcover from Hendrickson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Review 1 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Alex
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We like singing Hymns. We purchased this one when someone told us the songs were written in lower keys for easy singing. We did not find that so. Plus there are a host of older songs. So we were expecting a better combination of newer and common hymns we sing. Thanks but we are still looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fred Sandefer
Location:NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For several years already, I've found this hymnal very useful in my music ministry at church. I just purchased it for another church musician because of its value to me. For those of us who don't play by ear, it has some hymns in other than the usual keys---many times lower. (It seems like many hymns are too high for the average singer.) Instrumentally, I've used some of the alternate tunes for a particular hymn to make a medley for my prelude or an offertory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This hymnal is a great addition to devotional time

Date:October 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr Mom
Location:Houston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am now able to sing my favorite hymns in addition to reading God's Word and praying during my devotional time each day.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
gradycats
Location:Nebraska
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe how many of our favorite hymns are in this book! The folks at the nursing home will enjoy singing these songs in a lower key, as will the song leaders!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a fabulous hymnal. I think it will meet, and exceed, our church's needs for many years to come. And CBD service was fast and with great prices. Than you CBD!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

had all the great songs I was looking for

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bill
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I make attempts to play the keyboard, and I needed music to follow, especially the old time favorites, I remembered from my younger days. The song book was exactly what I was lookig for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Gender-Neutral Hymnal

Date:November 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joseph
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dear CBD Shopper,
This hymnal offered such an appealing collection of songs that I bought twenty of them for my home. Now I regret doing so.
Before buying The Christian Life Hymnal you should know that it has altered the traditional songs to make them gender neutral. Nowhere in the introduction or accompanying material do they say that they have done this. If they had, I would not have purchased these hymnals. It is very distracting to worship when the poetic language of the original version has been converted to sloppy English with gender neutral language. If you know any of the traditional hymns, you will HATE the changes and you will have to spend hours correcting your hymnal.
What follows are just a few annoying examples of the changes that the editors of the hymnal made (the reality is that they changed every gender reference that they could except for those referring to Jesus as the Son and God as the Father):
HOLY, HOLY, HOLY
“Holy, holy, holy! Though the darkness hide Thee, though the eye of sinfulness Thy glory may not see” instead of “though the eye of sinful man Thy glory may not see” (Do the editors not see that "sinfulness" does not make the personal connection between mankind and his sin? Is it "sinfulness" itself that does not see God's glory? How stupid and theologically misleading!)
HARK! THE HERALD ANGELS SING
“pleased as man with us to dwell” instead of “pleased as man with men to dwell”
“born that we no more may die” instead of “born that man no more may die”
“born to raise us from the earth, born to give us second birth” instead of “born to raise the sons of earth, born to give them second birth.” (Do the editors not see the reference to the resurrection of the Son in the words "raise the sons of earth"?)
JOYFUL, JOYFUL, WE ADORE THEE
“love divine is reigning o’er us, leading us with mercy’s hand” instead of “father love is reigning o’er us, brother love binds man to man” (Do the editors really think that "love divine" has the same emotional and personal connection as "father love"?)
GOOD CHRISTIAN FRIENDS, REJOICE
"good Christian friends, rejoice" instead of "good Christian men, rejoice" (Do they editors really think that Christians might think that Christian women should not rejoice!)
I love the collection of songs, but the changes ruin the flow and poetry of the originals while adding nothing (everyone knows that “brother love” includes “sister love”!). The editors should not have changed the originals, but if they felt the necessity to do so, they should have made that very clear in their promotional materials. Somewhere they should have mentioned that they neutralized the language. I hope that they will publish another edition where they retain the original language.
+39points
42of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JUST EXCELLENT

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Adonai Healing Temple
Location:BRONX, NEW YORK
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS HYMNAL PROVIDES EVERYTHING OUR NON-DENOMINATIONAL ASSEMBLY COULD ASK FOR. GREAT SELECTION OF HYMNS WITH WHICH PEOPLE FROM DIVERSE DENOMINATIONAL BACKGROUNDS CAN IDENTIFY. THE THEMATIC ORGANIZATION OF THE HYMNS, THE FOOTNOTES AND INDEX ARE ALL GREAT. NOT TO MENTION THE PRINT SIZE MAKES IT EASY TO READ & THE PRICE COULD NOT BE BEAT. OUR CONGREGATION JUST LOVES THIS HYMNAL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Barber
Just what we needed. Has old & new which we love. We have a smal church with a new beginning and these will work great for us. Hope to need to order more in the near future.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keith Turner
I am a hymnal collector, and I have over 20 different hymnals in my collection. Though I like them, I have a problem with each one of them for various reasons. This hymnal is stunning. I simply cannot believe the care that has been taken in its compilation. The incorporation of Gospel songs and liturgical hymns makes it available to various traditions. The Christmas section is unbeatable. Also, one of the many complaints I receive from pastors concerning their church hymnals is that the key settings are just too high for their congregation to sing comfortably. This is not so with The Christian Life Hymnal. The hymn settings are perfect for the support of congregational song. I likewise find the explanation of the older lyrics at the bottom of the pages a nice feature. If you are contemplating the purchase of the Christian Life Hymnal for your home or church use, please consider it no more. I know as a person who is both a minister and a musician that this will be an invaluable and irreplaceable resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danita Phillips
Great through and through. I wish it had in the rear a section for other things to enhance the service such as Calls to Worship, Benedictions, or Responsive readings. However, that is minor. This hymnal is fantastic for our nondenominational church. Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Way Eikleberry
I thought the Music book was very nice.I will need to take it to our committe and then we will let you know if we want to order more. Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bert R.
This hymnal was a great addition to our home collection of Christian books. We sing a hymn as a family when we put our daughter to bed for the night now that we have this book. It's a large collection of hymns and probably has the ones you're looking for and some you haven't heard of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Ayers
I love this hymnal it has a great selection of both old classic and newer hymns. I especially wanted it for the many Christmas carols that are included both old classic and some newer ones that I could have all in one book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anthony Hollon
I have found this hymal truly great. It has most of the standard songs I grew up with. I recomend it to anyone,the price is unbeatable especially if it is your first hymal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ida Laluz
I love it, just what I was looking for. My family love singing/worship and wanted to be able to sing at home with the books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Grace Bible Baptist Church
There are several reasons we chose and why you should choose The Christian Life Hymnal. The most important reason is these hymns are true to God's Word. Each hymn gives a scripture reference that inspired or backs up it's message. Frankly, I am amazed at the value for the money. I challenge you to find a better price anywhere: it's not likely to happen. It has over 600 hymns and songs. In those 600+ hymns and songs you have so many of the old favorites: How Great thou Art, It Is Well With My Soul, Amazing Grace, The Old Rugged Cross. If you so choose you could do 3 or 4 songs at every service and never repeat a single song within a year of getting these hymnals. There is a large amount of seasonal songs. I was very impressed with the Christmas section when I looked at it. I could keep on going, but I will conclude my comments by saying that I am very glad we found this hymnbook and you will be glad as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Belle Drake
Wonderful hymnal. Lots of the old standards and an excellent value. Highly recommend this hymnal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Naomi Fournier
The Christian Life Hymnal is an excellent hymnbook. It is filled with the old classics that have been sung for generations, as well as many of the new favorites. The font is nice and big, making it easy to read if your eyesight just isn't quite as good as it used to be, and it is also well bound, so with good care, your hymnbook will last for many years to come. I think that it is an excellent hymnbook choice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
William Garner
I am very impressed with this collection of hymns and worship songs!!I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wishes to make a joyful noise unto the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>