Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook

Revell Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook

Refusing to settle for anything less than a romantic relationship that pleases God, Faith O'Connor steels her heart against her desire for the roguish Collin McGuire. But when Collin tries to win her sister Charity's hand, Faith is not sure she can handle the jealousy she feels. To further complicate matters, Faith finds herself the object of Collin's affections, even as he is courting her sister. The Great War is raging overseas, and a smaller war is brewing in the O'Connor household.
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(138 Reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
70 out of 7297%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this book from the first sentence!

Date:March 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Location:Purcellville, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me begin by saying that I am a huge lover of Christian historical romance! Julie paints a beautiful story of faith, passion and family values. I was moved by the realistic emotions of her characters and her vivid descriptions of their surroundings. Its obvious she spends a great deal of time researching her novels as well.
One of my favorite aspects of the book was that the story came from many points of view - not only our central characters - Faith and Colin, but of her jealous sister and her loving parents. The portrayal of this crazy, loving Irish family drew me in! The beautiful and loving marriage of Faith's parents rivaled my interest in the main characters as I realized how rare that is in romance fiction - its all about the 20-somethings! Well Julie hit it out of the park with Marcy and Patrick! How encouraging to all of us who are way past 20-something but have been married for 20-something years!
I'd also like to touch on the passion in A Passion Most Pure. I'm sure their will be some who find it too passionate but Julie's character's are real. I don't think Christians need to be afraid to read a brief scene that gets our pulse racing! She draws us in so we realize what's at stake, but falls far short of graphic descriptions, so we can relate! Her characters face real struggles and overcame through their deep abiding faith and the very real grace of God!
Thank you, Julie, for a truly encouraging and entertaining read! You blessed my heart!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passion Most Pure is... Amazing!!

Date:March 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Alpharetta, Ga
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To begin:
I am a voracious Christian Romance novel reader, and last month when I picked this up, I thought it would just be another : boy meets girl, boy falls in love, girl doesn't like him, something awful happens and they end up together etc. (All at the young age of 17...)
Well this wasn't.
From the opening page, Mrs. Lessman had my complete and utter attention riveted on every single descriptive word she used. The feelings, the emotions, the agony of never being together, and especially the jealousy between Faith and Charity was SO REAL. Every chapter held something new - a bit of information I had overlooked that suddenly became crucial to the story (WWI). Or handsome, old(ish) newspaper editor *whew*. I was practically screaming at Faith to go to France and FIND COLLIN.
Collin's conversion really got me too. Many transformations in CF books can seem artificial and sappy, but this one just struck me as real. Maybe it was the heart-wrenching emotions of the loss of his father (and what he believes are his dreams), or maybe it was how he became a good person, but was still flawed. It was probably the flawed - that really sticks with me.
Overall, this book seemed to emulate real life more than any other CF novel I've read. The long time period over which the book took place didn't seem too long or rambley, but described the events like recalling a memory. The passion, too was also something that made the book seem real. There are many CF novels about good, upstanding moral people staying close to God in relationships, but are there any about flawed men and women? Especially books with a female lead who really, really, really likes a guy - but she can't do anything..
But then he kisses her.
And she realizes that the welfare of his soul is more important than his kisses.
That's the message I got from A Passion Most Pure.
And believe me - that message, so wonderfully delivered, is rare in the CF world of 'perfect romance'. Try a flawed CF romance, and you won't ever look at CF the same way again.
Thanks Mrs. Lessman, for a wonderful, joyous, and *passionate* read!
*Parents!*
Reviewed by a teenage girl - so this is awesome for the older teens (15+) I found it really good in the fact that it had temptation, but Faith made the right choice in those times (about 2) and helped lead those who didn't have God in their lives out of temptation and up to a Personal Savior.
Just my humble opinion :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not as good as some other books I have read.

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Andrea
Location:Sarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I felt like there were to many relationships between the two main characters to finally end up with each other. An overall good book, just not one of my favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent debut novel!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed A Passion Most Pure! Julie is an excellent storyteller and writer! Be prepared, though; if you read the first book, you will be hooked and will have to read all the others as well!
The Daughters of Boston series follows the O’Connor family through just before WWI to the early 1920s. Their story is also continued in the Winds of Change series. It’s obvious how much research Julie puts into all of her books. All of the details make it seem as though you are actually there, watching everything play out.
I enjoyed how it came from several different points of view, so you know what everyone was thinking and what was going on in each character’s life. It wasn’t confusing at all, which was rather surprising to me. I thought the changing views would make the book seem jumbled, but it didn’t. I loved that this wasn’t just Faith’s book. Julie brings a whole family to life within this book.
Everyone seemed very real, which was great! Julie didn’t make them like the characters in a traditional romance novel. They were realistic, without being over done. Each person had their own struggles and while I occasionally wanted to slap them and tell them to get it together, they eventually found their way. I loved Faith and her stand. She would not compromise her morals, no matter how tempted. She continually fought to live for God. Even in conflict, when that would have been the easy way out, she finds her way.
I also enjoyed seeing Collin grow and change. His friend Brady was great and I loved how he gently pointed Collin in the right direction. My favorite part may have been when he finally accepted God and learned what living by faith and loving God wholeheartedly is all about.
I love how grounded in God Julie’s books are. Many times, the story was more about a “romance” with God, rather than between 2 people. The book really challenged me to learn more about Him, to become more passionate about knowing and loving Him, and to stand with Him no matter the trials I may face.
I fell in love with the O’Connors and will be sad to see their story end.
I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves Christian romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needed more pure passion

Date:February 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked the basic story line, loved the family moments, and I loved that the parents in this book are shown as still in love 20+ years later. I thought the way love was presented in this read was off. One doesn't realize they love their date or fiancée more due to a kiss or more than one. That isn't love. It seemed that most of the passion and what drew the characters together wasn't true love at all. There were several great quotes such as, " ...it's true passion- the kind that really satisfies-isn't cheap. It doesn't manipulate and coax for a moments pleasure. Believe it or not, it's tied to real love...and it always has God's blessing." However, these quotes seemed somewhat separate from the story.
Faith has been infatuated with Colin since she was young, but it is Charity, her sister and constant rival, that catches his eye. When they become engaged Faith faints. What lies just ahead, though, is WW I which will change their lives forever. Faith finds happiness, and Charity, true to her character, ruins it.
I don't want to give spoilers so will leave it at that. I grew up in a large family, and our friends came from large families- up to 12. Never did I see such rivalry in real life between siblings. It was downright hatred and over the top. I never liked Colin...even at the end there isn't anything to endear him to me as a reader. The ending was expected, but I must admit I was disappointed with it. More "true love" and less lust would have been nice, too.
I did like the peak into WWI. Most books I've read that deal with world wars follow the second one. It was a quick enjoyable read that I would recommend to friends my age. I would not however recommend it for the YA crowd. It falls short in really telling of a pure passion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a fantastic book!

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is so much going on in this book, I don't even know where to start! This book mainly focuses on Faith O'Conner and Collin McGuire. I absolutely loved Faith's character. Her sweet nature and forgiving spirit is one I would gladly like to imitate. Her love for God is strong and true, and again something I would like to imitate in my own life. She exudes confidence, even as she is witnessing to someone. Collin McGuire is a rake. He is sweet and gentle, yet hard and cocky all at the same time. He is looking for love in all the wrong places, when the obvious answer for him is right in front of his eyes. How is it possible that I love him and hate him all at the same time?!
The conflict between Faith and her sister Charity is one I can relate to, just not to the same depth of hatred Charity apparently has for her sister. I have a sister; we fought many times, but I never would have done some of the things Charity did to Faith, ever. The plot was fast-moving, and at times heart-wrenching. I was weeping at certain points of the story, laughing out loud at others, and so mad at Collin or Faith or Charity I wanted to scream! I couldn't put it down! As a matter of fact, I read it through in one day!
The message of the story is two-fold. For Faith, it was learning to trust in God no matter the circumstances in your life. Relying on His peace and grace in the midst of the storm as well as in the good times of your life. For Collin, it was learning to place your trust in a higher power. Learning that God wasn't a cruel God or a mocking God. He is a God of love and he wants what's best for his children.
Overall, I absolutely loved this book. I loved the plot, the message, and the characters. I can't wait to read the next book in the Daughters of Boston series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!!!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I wrote a review for this book awhile ago but I waited to long after reading the book and I really don't like it! It in no way gave my full feelings for this book so after rereading it I'm going to give a second try!
Words cannot fully express my love for this book! Several times I would just stop reading to hug the book and give a happy sigh-yeah I'm a bit ridiculous! This book gives you the full spectrum of emotion. I laughed out loud several times and other times tears made it hard to read. Julie Lessman is one of those amazing authors that can make you happy to be sad and it is a true gift. And knowing what was coming didn't help any in lessening the emotions in fact since I read the prequel I think it was even harder!
Faith is an amazing heroine! Her relationship with God was so close and real; it was truly inspiring! I also was insanely impressed with how she kept God as her priority and refused to be with anyone who didn't love Him as much as she did!
Collin is not that admirable of a hero to begin with but as his love for Faith draws him closer to God he begins to turn into a man you really like. And when he finally gives his heart to God he becomes one of your favorite heroes!
Patrick and Marcy's relationship was made even more special after reading A Light in the Window which is the story of when they fell in love! I love how even after over twenty years their love has not dimmed but instead has grown!
In short I once again loved all the characters with the exception of Charity but knowing how much I ended up loving her in the other books made her much more bearable in this one! I love the O'Conner family dynamic and each of them endeared themselves to my heart. The other characters were pretty awesome as well from Mrs. Gerson to Mitch, and Faith's friends at both The Herald and the Irish Times.
So now that I've rambled for awhile I will end by saying I adored this book and it is truly one of my absolute favorite books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Passionate, Dramatic, Delightful!

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow. What a book. I had to sit and take a few deep breaths to get my thoughts in order for this review! :) First of all, it was really cool to have a Charity in a book as a main character. She actually stars in the next book (review coming soon), but she was pretty important in this one too. Albeit she wasn’t a likable character here…but her name made up for it (my name is uncommon…finding someone who shares it is awesome). There were SO many intricacies in here that it was mind-boggling in a still understandable way. Faith, the main heroine, is absolutely lovely. And I love their parents, Patrick and Marcy. There were a couple passages in here that I especially identified with – for example, Patrick (the father) once says “Charity, your mother and I love you very much…and it’s because we love you that we are so strict regarding, well, certain things.” (pg 36) I’m pretty sure that’s a direct quote from my parents, name and all! Faith and I are alike in some ways – we both bottle a lot of stuff up and don’t confide easily or quickly in hardly anyone. I love having a heroine I can identify with. All in all, this was a great book, well-written – I love Julie Lessman! It is certainly passionate, more-so than much Christian fiction, so keep that in mind if you decide to read it. Other than that, all I can say is that it was amazing and very good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

An okay read

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I liked some parts of the novel and the writing style, but personally, I felt overwhelmed by the amount of sensual tension between the characters. I usually enjoy a mixed genre of historical, adventure and romance but this was definitely romance.
I understand it was the main story line and such but there were times when I was frustrated about the lack of restraint and how I felt there was nothing more to the story line. It almost felt like the story was circling or repeating and I was thinking here we go again. I struggled to finish the book.
I was wanting more depth to the characters other than their wanting of each other. They all seemed to be defined by their love interest (especially Faith and Charity with their suitors) and I would have enjoyed the book more if more time was taken to show us who these people are as individuals. We were only given glimpses and I wanted more.
There were scenes and moments of the novel that I really enjoyed how it was written. Since this was the first novel from Julie Lessman I have read I probably will try another of her novels with a different storyline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHAT AN EMOTIONAL JOURNEY !!!!!!!!

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
BonTon
Location:Mt. Washington, Ky.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in tears when I finished reading A Passion Most Pure - albeit, they were tears of joy, & satisfaction, for the ending. However, they weren't the first tears shed during the reading of this wonderful book! Julie Lessman keeps her readers "hanging" until the last few pages of her books; the passion, & unexpected twists, leave one breathless, & emotionally wrought. I became so emotionally invested in the characters of A Passion Most Pure, it was hard to put the book down, & I didn't want it to end.
A Passion Most Pure is the story of Faith O'Connor, & her quest to find the husband God has chosen for her. The Journey is, greatly, complicated by the jealousy of her sister, Charity. Faith & Charity are daughters of Marcy & Patrick O'Connor, whose romance is portrayed in A Light in the Window. Each member of the O'Connor family is featured in a separate book - A Passion Most Pure is followed by A Passion Redeemed, A Passion Denied, A Hope Undaunted, A Heart Revealed, & A Love Surrendered.
Overjoyed at starting the next book in the series - Julie's writing has stolen my heart, "hook, line, & sinker"!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

God Works in the Tough Places

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ronya
Location:Riverside, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book that I’ve read by Julie Lessman – in fact I was very excited to have won it in a contest!
This is book is full of drama. To be honest, almost more drama than I wanted to deal with. I couldn’t stop reading it though, because it’s kind of like your own family…even when there’s drama that you don’t want to deal with, you’re invested in making sure it works out okay in the end.
Julie created characters that are so real that you feel as if they are your family or at least, close friends. That fosters a genuine care for each of them, their situations and decisions – even when they are making hurtful decisions. You hurt when they hurt, you laugh when they laugh, you love the people they love, even if sometimes you don’t want to.
Probably my favorite thing about this book is the very natural way that God is a part of their lives. From the beginning you have a cast of characters that is very diverse in their beliefs. From everyday Christians to Sunday Christians to those who want nothing to do with God and live lives fully on their own terms. In that, Julie writes in a way that makes God in our everyday lives so natural. It’s a working example of how we can practically have Him in our everyday lives. She shows the very real necessity of knowing God’s Word and how it truly is a source of help and comfort in our lowest points as well as a beacon of guidance always. She also shows how vital it is to have a Godly mentor, someone that we share our hurts, beliefs, doubts, sins and love with. And I love the way she shows the importance of family, even when it’s less than perfect (aren’t they all?) and full of hurt – even so, God puts us together to support one another and see each other through.
So, parts I struggled with:
- The drama – it was almost soap opera like and more than I truly wanted to deal with. With that said, life is messy and full of drama and this book shows how God is in the midst guiding us through.
- The focus on the physical in this book was difficult for me. One reason I read Christian fiction is to not deal with this aspect. Never did I feel that she stepped over any bounds in explanation or anything, she is very adept at letting you know where it was headed without the details. Again however, life is messy. We are not perfect. God gives boundaries to live with in – which is a main point of contention in this book – and when we’re not walking closely with God (and even when we are, if not being accountable) we can find ourselves in these very real situations. As much as I didn’t like it, it’s a reality in our world and needed to be addressed.
Parts that I love:
- The well-developed characters that you just can’t help loving, even though sometimes you don’t want to deal with them. I’m so grateful that God sees the potential and doesn’t give up on us as in my humanness I am more apt to do.
- The variety of settings, from Boston to Ireland to the
war-ravaged France.
- The positive portrayal of a Christian marriage and what it looks like. God honoring marriages are not the norm these days, so it is very nice to see an example to emulate.
- The aspect of forgiveness, shown in various ways throughout the book. I love the way Julie went straight to the scriptures to help one of the characters see the need for this and exactly how to do so when she thought it impossible.
- The everyday aspect of living with Jesus – not just the knowledge of Jesus, but how knowing His Holy Scripture can make such a difference in how we perceive and react to things. Although never mentioned or suggested, it leads one to want to memorize Scripture, have it hidden in one’s heart so that it can make a difference in our lives the way it did for the characters in this book.
- The believability of it. Life is messy, but some of the issues in this book could have felt forced or not real. As much as I didn’t like the sin and the outcomes, Julie told this very twisted tale in a very plausible way. And the grace and faith she wove into it was just as convincing.
In summation, obviously there were more parts of the book that I loved than parts that I struggled with. This book touched a chord with me. At one point the heart-wrenching pain I witnessed caused me to leave the book and spend time worshiping God. At another point I was so thankful that of all the ways my sister and I have struggled, we didn’t have to deal with what these sisters were dealing with, that I stopped reading to let my sister know. As I finished the book, even though it was 3:30am in the morning, I couldn’t help myself, I had to write down my feelings about it. This book may deal with things that my heart doesn’t want to see, but this book literally drew me into the arms of Jesus for comfort and guided me in ways and reasons to incorporate my love for Him even more into my everyday life. I highly recommend this book. I don’t believe you can read it without being touched by God. I so look forward to what God has in store for me when I read the next two books in this series, A Passion Redeemed and A Passion Denied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a convicting novel

Date:July 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hannie
Location:NSW, Australia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first book of Daughters of Boston series is a convicting novel about a woman who chooses to lay down her desires for a man who'd rather have her than her God. In her trials, she blossoms into a woman of faith and prayer and sees God meet her needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Author ever!!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixiedarlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolutely incredible book! I seriously couldn't believe how passionate, fun, and heart wrenching this book was! Once I got into it I couldn't stop reading until I was finished!!!! I loved that it is bigger than most books so it makes you feel as though you really get to know the characters. If you love romantic, historical fiction than you'll love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It just the beginning...

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A quick word of warning, if this is your first book by Julie Lessman, then you'd better be prepared to lose some sleep, shed some tears, scream and laugh and get frustrated at the people that become like a real family. The O'Connor family draws you in to their home and soon you won't ever want to leave. Sure there's heartbreak, hardships and trials, but all in all, they're people so full of life and love that their journey will become your journey and their tears your own as well.
All the characters in this book are weaved together beautifully and Julie writes with such passion that you can't put the book down. Faith goes through a lot, and you can't help but cheer for her throughout the book as she gets battered by the storms of life, and yet she stays strong.
This is not a story to be missed and I highly recommend these books to all lovers of Christian romance, although I wouldn't encourage young teens as Julie is a master of passion and desire.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Passion Most Pure, Indeed!

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the first book of the Daughters of Boston series, Julie Lessman opens the story with a dramatic 'BANG'! And she keeps the reader on the edge of their seat with emotions that rival the ride of a roller coaster. I loved A Passion Most Pure because Julie shows the inner struggles that we as human beings go through at some point in our lives, including those of us who love God and want to please Him. She delights in taking her characters and putting them in situations that make them do some serious thinking, ultimately bringing them before the throne of Grace. And then she throws in a heaping of romance just for good measure.
The book is set in 1916 Boston during WW1. This is the story of Faith O'Conner, the oldest daughter in the O'Conner family. Faith loves God with all of her heart, but she also loves Collin McGuire, the cocky rogue who stood up for her when she was a little girl. The problem is, her father has forbidden her to have anything to do with him. Not to mention, she knows that he is secretly seeing her sister. But when things change, and Collin's interests are suddenly directed her way, will she be able to withstand the longing that she feels in her heart for Collin, or will she decide to follow God's leading? Or can she have both?
You'll have to read it to find out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A passion most pure is a epic novel that spans several years including WWI. Set in the city of Boston, we are introduced the the O'Conner family. This book centers around the two older sisters, Faith and Charity. The older sister Faith is a strong christian woman who takes her faith in God very seriously. But when her sixteen year old sister Charity begins seeing the man that Faith has been secretly loved to for years, that faith in God is put the the ultimate test.
I really liked Faith, she was strong and spunky. In the beginning we find that she is a strong Catholic christian who knows what God wants for her life and is willing to risk rejection for those values. But her faith is sorely tested and like any other human being, she turns her back on God for a little while, while she runs through the gambit of human emotion. I could really relate to her and her relationship with God.
Collin I didn't like at all. When we first met him he's a drunk and a womanizer, and we find out that he's courting Charity just to get Faith out of his system. While does learn to trust God I really didn't find anything heroic about him.
The author did put a lot of God and redemption within the story, all the characters struggle to find it, which I thought was a great move on her part. In reality, we struggle through life and most things don't come easy.
The down side, I didn't need a description of Charity's naked body, I thought that that part was very inappropriate for a christian book. And there was a lot of discussion about Collin and his baser nature. I got it the first time, didn't need to have it discussed again and again. I believe the story would have stood very well without all this. There was nothing sexually explicit, but I can understand why some people would be upset. These are not things that you would expect to find within a book that is published under a christian publishing company.
If you have teenage girls, be cautious with this book, you will probably want to read it first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book. I cried and laughed along with them.
The way that Julie Lessman writes keeps me so enthralled, I can hardly put the book down.
I tell my friends and family that they need to read her books they are awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fall In Love With the O'Connors!

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wow, what a book! I so enjoyed meeting and getting to love the O’Connor family. Patrick and Marcy are such wonderful parents and they run a home that is precisely how I pictured a loving family to be like. They are completely devoted to Christ, each other and their children. I was surprised how one man could come between two sisters so strongly, Faith and Charity, but because of petty jealousy on Charity’s part there really is no real relationship between the two girls. Faith is older and is completely surrendered to God while Charity resents her and lives to persecute her. Patrick and Marcy become aware of how Charity feels and do everything they can to defuse the situation, but Charity refuses to cooperate and it leads to her do foolish things that are both harmful and destructive. I have never disliked a fictional character as much as I disliked Charity, but that only illustrates the talent Lessman has in creating such a character.
I didn’t like how fickle the main characters are in deciding who they love and the constant triangles at work within this beloved family, but much of it stems from sibling rivalry which is realistic. It’s also proof of what happens when unforgiveness exists in one family.
There are three things you are guaranteed when reading this book. One, you will NOT be able to predict how the story goes. More than once I was convinced I understood how each relationship would conclude and it never ended up that way. Two, you will grow to love the O’Connors as if they were a real family. You will laugh and cry with them. You will experience their heartaches and joys as if they were real people and you will root for them throughout their journey. Three, you will experience the love of God through their eyes and it will impact your heart in new ways.
Without a doubt, my favorite part of the story is how protective Patrick O’Connor is of his daughters. That really blessed me and stayed with me through this story; it was one of the most precious things for me to experience in the story (much more so than any romance). I also loved seeing how certain characters experience a change in their faith that makes them stronger and gives them new perspective. Some of these changes were so tangible they touched me deeply. Faith was diligent in her love for God until ¾ of the story where her heart gets broken in betrayal and she decides to turn her back on God for a brief time. I also know how that feels, but loved seeing how God would not release her and she finds her way back to her Beloved. I also deeply enjoyed the Ireland setting in the story.
I won this book a while back and finally made time to read it. This author is very special to me and now I have fallen in love with her books as I knew I would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Favorite Book

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anb123
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my all time favorite novel! I could feel every character as if they were real and they knew me as well as I knew them! I felt their pain and their triumphs. Beatiful story that should get 5 out of 5, do not waver about this series seriously the best book I read EVER
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Passion Most Pure, A: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Story!

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this book Mrs. Lessman has captured the truth about what it is like for a young Christian girl (at any age or time period I might add) to draw a line in the sand and stay pure for God and her future husband (in this day and age the line is almost non existent) instead of throw your morals to the wind and just doing what feels good at the time. No harm done, right? Wrong and Mrs. Lessmen shows that following God's path and not our own leads us to happier marriages and lives. Not that our lives wont be harder by doing so but just much better in the long run. Anything worth having takes a lot of effort. That message needs to be out there, and I believe Mrs. Lessmen has done it with this book.
I would recommend this book to the young and young at heart!! Please read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...7Next >>>