Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes

Hendrickson Publishers The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes

This is the only complete interlinear Bible available in English, and it's keyed to Strong's Exhaustive Concordance. An interlinear Bible is a time-saving tool for researching the subtle nuances and layers of meaning within the original biblical languages. Featuring the complete Hebrew and Greek texts with a direct English rendering below each word, it also includes The Literal Translation of the Bible in the outside column. Strong's numbers are printed directly above the Hebrew and Greek words which enables those with no prior knowledge of Greek or Hebrew to easily access a wealth of language reference works keyed to Strong's Greek/Hebrew dictionaries, analytical lexicons, concordances, word studies and more.

The Hebrew is based on the Masoretic Text and the Greek is from the Textus Receptus. The sources of the texts are documented in the preface, and are essentially the same (with some minor variations) to the Hebrew and Greek texts used by the KJV translators.

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
33 out of 3497%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Review 1 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Use my set all the time!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nomie Lynn
Location:California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has brought new life to the Bible! The original language brings depth and beauty to daily study. So glad to have this resource in my library!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
newcreation
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted and expected for the price. Good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing insight into true meaning of text.

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
joonzie
Location:Titusville, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much enjoy reading from this Interlinear Bible set, something about the original syntax and setting helps convey the true "gist" of the text, and because it's laid out so well, it makes studying the Scriptures much more pleasurable than my old fashioned way of looking up the meanings independently rather than in their original context.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

easy to follow

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Location:Kampsville, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my mom who is really interested in the Hebrew translation. She really enjoys it. She even brings it to church and reads the scripture from the sermon in this Bible. It was a great price and very easy to search through and read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product was a great value.

Date:April 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra
Location:Maine
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very much appreciated the reasonable price of this book set. I had been wanting to get an interlinear Bible for a while. In addition, the books are very pretty on the outside, as well as being laid out well on the inside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tool!!!

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:Chelan, WA, USA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I use this tool to support our study of the Bible. I recommend these books for every student of the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Homer
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall is a great set. English type is rather small but can be read with magnifier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perhaps the most literal translation possible

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stef
Location:San Clemente, CA
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I grew tired of the interpretation issues and italicized words in the bible and wanted a version that does its best not to interpret or misstate. The Hebrew Greek English Interlinear Bible does an excellent job of providing an English version of the bible that is not adulterated by interpretation. Does anyone really think that Yeshua said 'I am he' (instead of 'I AM')?
Since the goal is literal, word-for-word, translation there is little interpretation being made. This translation does however use the proper names and the word 'church' (other words than this I have not, as yet, learned to take issue) which is from the German tradition ('J' sound preference over 'Y') and also represents an interpretation. I would prefer transliterations from the original language.
This bible provides two English translations: the most literal and (perhaps) the second-most literal. The most literal is in-line with the Hebrew (OT) or Greek (NT) and the 2nd-most is in the outer margin.
There is little room for notes but I prefer to use spiral notebooks so this works for me. It is also not my primary bible to carry since it would be difficult to manage multiple volumes (or restrict my interest or need to one volume). I do like to use it as my primary reading bible (but I do also read from my large print KJV Thompson Chain Reference Bible).
Until I learn Greek (and Hebrew, and Aramaic; neither of which is likely until/unless I retire!) this is the best resource I've found to get the word of God in a pure form, even better than the King James since there is no issue of interpreting old forms of English language.
It does require that I contemplate and think about what I am reading. Much more so than any other translation. And that is a good thing.
I also appreciate the additional information included about the translation. I try to read every page of my bibles and find any that doesn't explain itself to be lacking in integrity (like literally any from Zondervan or any other 'modern' translation).
The quality of manufacture is lacking. While the pages are well sewn the font is small, crude and not so readable (in some cases the print quality simply ). I would greatly appreciate a large or giant print version. The covers are cheap and inflexible but as I don't carry it around it should last me just fine.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a valuable study resource

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
m berg
Location:Arkansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Hebrew/Greek Interlinear Bible has helped me in writing out meditations on scriptures. With so many translations available, it's hard to select the right one. So I go to the Interlinear and find the meaning of the key word in the verse, then I select the translation that is closest to the word in the original language. It's a little faster than working only through a concordance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ok Star
Location:New York
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
larger print would help. one oof the greatest word study aids available.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debra Halverson
Location:Sugarloaf,Calif.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I gave the books to my husband for Fathers day. He is very pleased with the quality of them. He reads a 400 page book easliy in a week. The hebrew to english is very good. He says it's the best gift I've ever given him.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Books!

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:GEORGIA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek English Bible is an excellent resource for anyone wanting to know the exact meaning of the written Word. And it proves that the Authorized King James Version is accurate in it's translation. And contains the "whole council of God." Without omissions of His perecious Word. I use it often in my studies. And would recommend it to everyone.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is so easy to understand!

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bubbette
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A side by side comparison of the original text, with the direct translation above it, right next to an easy to read English translation. This has quickly become an invaluable aid to my Bible study. I highly recommend it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is the best set of manucripts

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pastor C Z Nieves
Location:Iglesias Servidores Cristianos de Puerto Rico, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy for the manucripts, but pay little atention to the translation into english, the original hebrew and greek with the strongs concordance numbers are the only posible way to get the true word of God when you use it with a king james bible not an niv. you won't be sorry buying at this price (55.00 - )because they are much more in many other places.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

majorety text aka received text, textus receptus

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Altamonte Springs, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This set should be in every KJB Fundamentalist library! I found it a great resource when people claim something has been taken out of the KJB or added too like 1John5:7! would also reccomend the single volume as well! very good stuff!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

invaluable aid

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Looking To Learn
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned that the NIV translation committee selected a corrupt Greek Gnostic alteration, not a translation, as its base for the New Testament translation and additionally left approximately 5% of the Greek words untranslated I became alarmed. When I explored the the beliefs and doctrines of the men who did this I became more alarmed. I also learned that the later versions of concordances have been adapted to fit the new "translations" and are not reliable references. So I did a little research into how we actually got our various Bible translations and was relieved to learn about Jay P. Green's Interliear Bible translation in both the New Testament and the Old Testament. I keep a concordance by my side as I go back and forth from my Bible to this four volume Hebrew and Greek translation. It really helps me understand subtle nuances of scripture. It has a good hardcover binding and because it is divided into four books, is light weight and easy to carry. The Hebrew Old Testament reads from right to left and the Greek New Testament reads from left to right. The pages are bright white and clean.The print is small but not too small. If you have vision problems you may need a good pair of glasses. I love this set of books because I am not a Greek or Hebrew student, yet it helps me understand God's word a whole lot more.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is an outstanding work from the original text.

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bubba
Location:Shawnee, KS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very useful tool in studying the Scriptures using the literal method of translation from the Received Text and the Masoretic Text, the same texts that are the original languages that are the basis for the King James Version of 1611.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
3wishes
Location:Ohio
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very excited to find this set and at a great price. If you want a resource for looking up the true meaning of the actual Hebrew words used in the Bible, this is what you are looking for. Sometimes the translators did not choose the best word/words to impart the intended or full meaning of a word or phrase so this set of books is a valuable study resource for obtaining proper interpretation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study tools........

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
abbeyt
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this set of 4 Interlinear Bibles for a gift. When I received the Bibles and saw how wonderful they were going to be for studying. I had to order a set, as well. I gave them a perfect score. I thought the writing in the Bibles were a nice size (not extremely small). I love having the Hebrew/Greek translations along with the Strong's number that I can do some further investigating on passages that are hard to understand. Extremely pleased on the quality & the price.... can't wait for my set to arrive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek-English Bible, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stud10us
Location:Louisville, ky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book seems to be the key to the questions I was having in my personal studies. I find it is a great companion with my other study books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.