Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984

Hendrickson Publishers Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984

Copious note-takers, rejoice! The extra-wide margins and loose-leaf format mean you'll always have writing space.

Features:
  • Center-column reference system
  • NIV concordance
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • 12-page atlas of maps and timelines
  • Study notes
  • 8.5" x 11" pages in a sturdy 11.5" x 13" x 5" five-ring binder
  • 9-point type
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
15 out of 1883%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Review 1 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a huge book....

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
jwht
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
binder is very large.... bigger than anything I have ever seen that didn't incorporate a D-ring binder. but they don't and it doesn't have tare proof paper in it... paper is actually pretty thin. Anything this big should have larger print... but it doesn't have that either.
Nothing they say in the description is wrong... they just don't tell the whole story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Big, cumbersome and invaluable.

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Arcadia, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have wanted a loose leaf Bible for all they years that I have been a Bible teacher. Now I have one and am able to use it in many ways. It is advantageous to remove a whole book of the Bible and have it with my notes in a 3-ring binder. I have an "regular" NIV Study Bible that is about worn out and this loose leaf will last me many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Desk Reference

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
jamie
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this book for my son that is away at college. He loves this book as a desk reference. This is a very large book. It is not recommended to carry around due to the size, but he has a study bible to carry to church with him. He can use this one at home to reference any passages or notes that he took at bible study. He said that he loves this version for being able to easily read any passage that he is studying. The loose leaf version makes it easy for him to remove pages to take with him and replace them when he returns. I recommend it for anyone that has space to keep it and study without having to strain with smaller print.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I hoped for

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mark
Location:Cornelius, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my New Year's Resolutions was to read through the entire Bible. The current Bible I use is great, but does not give me room to make many notes and the binding is beginning to come apart. I wondered if a "loose-leaf" Bible existed and, after some research, found this Bible. The price was very good and it seemed like a perfect fit. I had read one issue people had was that it was very big. This is true. However for my purposes it works great. I just pull out one book and put it in a smaller binder that I can take with me everywhere. I have highlighted and made notes everywhere, and because of the loose-leaf layout, I can print additional notes and information and include it at the exact spot in the Bible where it will make sense in the future. This Bible is not one that you will want to take to Church every Sunday, but as a study tool, it's perfect.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It is what it is and it isn't what it isn't

Date:December 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave the Librarian
Location:Oswego, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A loose-leaf Bible is not what you are probably going to bring with you to church. This tome is hefty, six inches thick and comes with a five-ring binder. I didn't weigh it, but we have a dog and a cat that weigh less.
For my working studies, I will probably have the portions I am using in a smaller three-ring binder and use the five-ring as a master. For those who want a more portable study Bible with a nice cover, look elsewhere. Given that I have had Bibles start off bound and ended up with loose pages, this will be a nice change of pace.
If I want to bring it to church, I'd better take the truck.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for particular study situations.

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mamawg
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It could have reinfordcements on holes and tabs.
It is as I expected and I am happy with it although it is really heavy. I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with arthritic hands or bad eyesight. Price was great. It will get used!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased

Date:November 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sonshine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave up on writing notes in my Bibles because they would fall apart in just a few years. This loose leaf version was a perfect remedy. I have plenty of room to write notes and insert my own pages and I don't have to worry about it falling apart! I have been able to study so much more deeply. It is a 5-ring binder so I have to punch two extra holes in my paper, but it's worth it. I did buy hole reinforcements. The only problem is that the holes in the Bible are punched at 3/8", which is larger than typical. So I ended up buying a 3/8" hole punch from a scrapbook online store. Another thing that's so great about this Bible is that I put in a binder pouch that holds all my pencils, hole punch, reinforcements and other study items. I do wish the binder itself had pockets. The Bible is large so I'm not carrying it to church and back, but it's great for in-depth study at home.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helps

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerry Rice
Location:El Paso, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Big, heavy, paper poor. To fix this I used "workable fix-a-tive" art spray on the paper to make the paper, generally more sturdy. Double spray each side, letting it dry between each spraying, dries is seconds. Then get hole reinforcements, the plastic type which are lighter and thinner than the paper type. The next day, apply the holes. Expect to double the weight of the Bible!!! Workable fixative is a clear polymer latex which soaks into the fibers of the paper(and anything written on it[making it permanent]). I do this on USGS maps. Then get 2 or 3 3-ring binders, initially. I used the expensive metal hinged binders that I got at a business stationary supply store. You can also get reinforced hole 20# filler paper there in college or narrow rule(hard to find). All this done you won't need another for many many years!!! The NIV study Bible was the first and still the best.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful experience

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
George
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Bible arrived damaged, I called Christian Book.com and they sent me a replacement Bible. The Bible exceeded my expectations, after reading some of the other reviews. The paper is just fine I (so far) have not ripped either page out. It is LARGE,but, that was what I ordered. I am VERY satisfied. I thank Christian Book.com for their WONDERFUL SERVICE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Location:Crossville, Tennessee
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally recieved it today and am verry happy, what a great tool.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent buy

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shannonzann
Location:Singapore
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very useful for me to study the bible! I write notes on the generous margins, and the maps and illustrations help me to visualize better too.
Though like many reviewers have mentioned that the holes of the papers tear easily, so I bought reinforcement rings stickers and stick on 2 of the holes on each sheet as I read along. Which thankfully I did as they almost tore when I first flipped the pages (relatively gently).
Nevertheless, that's a small issue and I'm very very satisfied with this purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bill
Location:Ocala, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product very,very HEAVY!- BUT - the real problem is the type size. The Bible type is small and the Study part is even smaller.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gloria Dobbin
Location:Laurel, MS
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book was much larger than expected. It takes up a lot of room. The text is easy reading but verse explanation is not as in dept or detailed as most study bibles. It's too big to carry anywhere. It's strictly for home study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product is good for the family

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leann
Location:Kokomo IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is good for everyone to use. It is a great study bible when you are in a bible study class. The whole family can read this bible together. The maps are wonderfiul in seeing whatwas going on in ancient times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has some great features.

Date:July 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Erwin Epp
Location:Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
I was looking for a large easy to read study Bible and that is exactly what I got. This is not a bible that you would bring to church with you but for some serious study at home is perfect. It has far more study notes than any of my other study bibles and it seems that the notes go deeper and farther along than what I have ever had before. The binder is large and roomy but my only complaint would be that they should have used "D" rings and made them just a little bit bigger. If you add personal notes you will run out of room very quickly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great idea. The binder doesn't close properly -- but I'll be removing the pages anyway to carry in a smaller notebook.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the expanded margins for notes

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mike2171
Location:Franklin, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like everything this loose leaf bible has to offer. It has large side margins for making notes and it provides all the same additional great information as the normal NIV study bible. My only suggestion is, it maybe better if the Old and New Testaments were in their own binders. With the entire bible in one binder the bible is very large and heavy and the bible pages alone take up almost all the binder and my reason for wanting the loose leaf was to add sermon notes and additional information as I came across additional information, but in all, very good product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Weight makes bible unwieldy

Date:October 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Johnny Johnson
Location:Las Vegas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pages are almost exactly the same as a bound NIV study bible on a heavier paper. The pages are 8 1/2 x 11, so the bible weighs about four times the normal weight, maybe more. Plan on separating it into other binders and using only what you need when you take it to church.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn Hlivjak
The Bible pages are easy to read and have wide margins for notes-no complaints. The five ring binder is exceptionally cheap you will probably have to replace it, three ring binders work. Service is fast, curtious, and caring, I would definately recommend Christianbook.com and this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zondervan NIV Study Bible Loose-Leaf Edition with binder 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reba Knight
I love the Bible, but it is much bigger and heavier than I thought it would be. I plan to use it a a study Bible and take the pages I need to teach by to church in another binder with my notes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.