Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Christian Life Hymnal - Green

Hendrickson Publishers The Christian Life Hymnal - Green

From classic anthems and beloved gospel standards to a wide array of "must-have" hymns and new worship favorites arranged for congregational singing, here's the perfect worship resource for every tradition and generation. You'll find 600 songs; an extensive seasonal selection - including nearly 60 Christmas carols; 7 indexes; and much more. 656 pages, hardcover from Hendrickson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Review 1 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christian Hymnal

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patricia Waters
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a hymnal that contained my two favorite songs. This hymnal had them and so many other great hymns. The book is full of solid old-time songs we sang at church many years ago, and it also has some of the newer songs that have now become standards at worship services. I am thrilled to have this hymnal and the neighbors can probably hear me playing "Beulah Land" on the piano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good value

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mesa lady
Location:San Luis,co
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of favorite songs. Modern and traditional. Good quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent value

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
lyster
Location:Winder Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our small church needed a hymn book with many of the
older hymns. The lower keys make this book easier for the
congregation to reach the high notes. I am not totally comfortable with the neuter gender in many songs but we can
change the words back to the orginial with little effort.
This is an excellent value and our congregation is thrilled to
have a new hymn book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gary
This is a great hymnal! Most of the great old hymns are there with the added benefit of being transposed to a lower key. As the pastor of a small church, I teach adult Sunday school, lead in worship through singing and then preach immediately after singing. I greatly appreciate the songs being in a lower key. My voice hasn't been strained since we started using this hymnal. It has also benefitted the ladies who are no longer straining to "hit the high notes." We purchased the binder for the pianist and the organist and the singers each have a hard copy of their own. Definitely worth buying.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Louie Celaya
Our congregation is thrilled with our new hymnals, the price, contents and quality, and the short amount of time it took to receive them after we placed our order. Keep up the good work, and God bless you all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janice Brandli
The hymnal was a gift and the recipient was very pleased. Very good selection of classic, standard and worship favorites. Price was very reasonable. Choice of colors was good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Church Of Daniel's Band
Very pleased with the Hymnal. A great affordable price for the amount of hymns you can choose from. From Traditional Hymns to quite a few current choruses and hymns. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Oak Tree Ministries, Inc
The Church Loves this hymnal. It is a great blend of traditional & newer contemporary songs. They still use mostly hymnals, rather than Power Point
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
A Cry In The Wilderness Min.
This is a wonderful hymnal! A lot of the hymns are rewritten in lower keys for singing comfort.Thank you for carrying such fine products such as this hymnal.KathyA Cry in the Wilderness Ministries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amy Houser
One of the things I really like and appreciate in this hymnal is that so many of the songs are written in a lower key and so much easier to sing. Also, a number of the songs have 2 or 3 tunes to the same words which is very interesting. I like the indexes in the back where you can easily find the various tunes which a lot of hymnals have, but not all of them. The wide selection of Christmas carols is why I bought my hymnal, and after finding so many of the hymns in lower keys, bought our church organist and pianist each a copy. In this day when it is very difficult to find church hymnals as so many churches no longer use them, I would highly recommend this hymnal to anyone that is interested in purchasing hymnals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jean Fulton
This is an outstanding hymn book. The keys the songs are written in make all of them very singable. They are written in a more comfortable singing range. It has a nice mix of old standard and newer songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Philadelphia Baptist Church
This hymnal has made an incredible improvement in our music service. As a small church, it is hard to get folks to sing loudly, especially when they cannot even reach those high notes. The lower keys have made it possible for all to join in for a great song service. The only draw back to the hymnal is the use of different versions of Scripture, but we ignore the incorrect verses and adhere only to the Authorized Version King James Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christian Life Hymnal - Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Launa Howell
The book is beautiful and the hymns are fantastic. There are some in there that I haven't seen for a long time. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.