Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lion Fiction Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2

Lion Fiction Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2

Grieving his wife's death, Aidan accompanies his daughter to one of her mother's favorite places---a renowned retreat center. But when a troubled teen is found dead on the beach, everybody on the island is under suspicion. Determined to unearth the truth, Aidan and policewoman-turned-minister Lucy launch an investigation. Will they find the culprit?
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Review 1 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
This review is fromDeath on Lindisfarne - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aidan and eight-year-old Melangell are still reeling from the loss of their wife and mother, Jenny. It is hard not to go into the past as everywhere they go reminds them of her. Lindisfarne is particularly special as it was one of the places she wrote a book about with photos taken by Aidan. Now years later, Aidan wants to show their daughter the places behind the books Jenny wrote, and give Melangell a little bit more time to say goodbye to the precious mother that raised her and loved them both with all her heart. Lindisfarne is the first place they stop and visit for a week - and accidental amateur sleuth Aidan finds himself in a very real 21st century drama.
They meet up with Jenny's friend Lucy who is teaching a course on Northumbrian saints. She has with her a young woman that is troubled and in need of the peace and quiet the remote island offers. But when Rachel ends up dead, the eyes of the law turn to everyone presently on the island. Rachel's friends trickle in, and Aidan and Lucy learn more about Rachel's past. A piece of Lucy's past is revealed as well, and suddenly things just aren't so simple anymore. Will Aidan be able uncover who killed Rachel? And with all the intrigue and suspicion surrounding the murder, will Melangell be safe as he investigates?
So I've got to admit that the setting for this novel is very different than I'm used to. While I love historical fiction of any kind, I have zero knowledge of the Celtic history. This book put a quick end to that. Sampson combines the interest of a mystery along with what can be considered dull facts of saints dead for centuries (for those of us who aren't passionate about this time period.) and created a story that stayed long with me after I was done. The way she describes the places, and the word pictures of the thoughts she was trying to convey were just excellent. I felt like I could taste the salt water at the crossing and feel the sand underneath my toes. It was the next best thing to being there and seeing it for myself.
This book was provided by Kregel Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Murder Mystery Action Thriller

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fay Sampson in her new book, "Death On Lindisfarne" Book Two in The Aidan Mysteries series published by Monarch Books brings us another mystery with Aidan and his eight-year-old daughter Melangell.
From the back cover: Twice each day the holy island of Lindisfarne is cut off from the mainland by the incoming tide.
Slight and ginger-bearded, Aidan the photographer and accidental sleuth brings his inquisitive eight-year-old daughter to the retreat center on Lindisfarne. There they meet Lucy, a young Methodist minister, with a painful past, who is running a course on Northumbrian saints.
When one of the course members is found dead on the beach, suspicion falls on one guest, then another. Or could the tides have allowed a murderer to come from the mainland?
Then someone from Lucy's previous life makes a most unwelcome appearance.
And so Aidan is drawn into his second mystery. Masterfully told by award-winning author Fay Sampson, Death on Lindisfarne explores the complicated motivations of fallen people against the backdrop of ancient holiness.
Lindisfarne is what they call a tidal island and is situated off the north-east coast of England. It is connected to the mainland of Northumberland by a causeway and is cut off twice a day by tides. I am surprised that Agatha Christie didn't use this location in one of her books as it is just the spot that she liked to use No problems though as Ms. Sampson is using it and what a location it turns out to be. Aidan is up against quite a mystery here even more difficult than the previous story. I think Ms. Sampson is an extremely talented writer who really knows how to tell a story that will grab you and keep you flipping pages until you find out who did it. After reading this book I want to go and visit Lindisfarne that is how real Ms. Sampson wrote. The murder mystery is top-notch and will keep you guessing and flipping pages as fast as you can read them. "Death On Lindisfarne" is a very exciting book that will keep you engrossed, not only in the mystery, but in the lives of these characters as well. This is a wonderful series and I am so looking forward to the next book in this series.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Monarch Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Story

Date:September 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Death on Lindisfarne by Fay Sampson is a good book but it took me while to get into the British style of writing. There was very little humor in the story but I did get a good laugh at the author calling the clerical collar a dog collar. Aidan has been a widower for six months when he decides to take his eight year old daughter, Melangell, to Lindisfarne to show her all the places that her mother loved and wrote about in her books. They were there for a week long retreat and were joined by eight other people in addition to Lucy, a Methodist minister, who was leading the retreat. Lucy is trying to help Rachel, a young girl who is working to overcome her drug addiction, and not too far into the story, Rachel’s body is found on the beach. At this point the suspense of the story begins to happen. Did Rachel commit suicide or was she murdered and if murdered who is the guilty person? There are also several less important questions that add to the suspense of the story. Aidan lets the group assume that he and his wife, Jenny are separated. Lucy has things in her past that she does not want to reveal such as why she left the police department four years ago. James, a minister, staggers into the house dripping blood from a cut on the head and cannot tell the group how he was injured. Sue is at the retreat with James as his assistant and she seems to worship the ground he walks on but he treats her with complete disdain. David and Frances are a very different couple and seem to constantly find something to complain about. Elspeth is a professor at Oxford and a most disagreeable woman. Valerie, her companion, is the complete opposite and is always doing her best to keep Elspeth from antagonizing the rest of the group.
The author did an excellent job in making all the characters come to life. Some were loveable and some were completely unlikeable. Scene descriptions were very well done and in my mind I could picture myself in the action right along with the characters in the story. There were several twist and turns to the plot and several mysteries to be solved. The author had me guessing until almost the end of the book exactly who had murdered Rachel and why. From the very first I wanted to know how to pronounce the name of the spunky little eight year old Melangell. She was my favorite character for she was about the only one who had no secrets to hide and was completely honest in everything she said. In fact, most of the time she appeared to be more mature than the adults. I have to be honest and say that I really did not care all that much for the history of the Holy Island of Lindisfarne and the Northumbrian saints that were included in the book. I would have enjoyed the book much more if it had just been about the group at the retreat.
I recommend this book to anyone who likes a book with a lot of suspense and who also likes British history.
Kregel Publications provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Death on Lindisfarne is a contemporary mystery that follows the journey of Aidan Davison and his daughter, Melangell. They are visiting some of the favorite spots of saints and/or holy places of Aidan’s deceased wife. She wrote many books on Celtic saints and Aidan was the photographer for her books. For this trip, the two are part of a small group that has signed up for a tour guided by a Methodist minister, Lucy. The other characters signed up for the tour are a supporting cast and also become a field of suspects after someone is found dead. At first, the death is thought to be a suicide, but soon that theory is rescinded and evidence of murder is discovered.
Also, part of Lucy’s past returns to haunt her. She is a former police constable who had a very manipulating and possessive partner whom she left suddenly four years ago. She came to the island of Lindisfarne to escape him. She eventually felt safe enough that she left the island to enter the ministry. She now returns to Lindisfarne when she needs to regroup. She enjoys the peace of the place. This trip she has brought a troubled teen girl who Lucy has been trying to help stay off of drugs and get her life in order. Lucy is attacked at one point of the story during the night. Is it the same person who has committed murder in their small group? Why is Lucy now a target?
Throughout the story, Aidan and Lucy come to realize their attraction for each other. Aidan, however, is still grieving for his wife and needs more time before embarking on any kind of relationship. Aidan does feel protective toward Lucy and comes to her rescue. Lucy has more suspects for the murder than she can count. Now, she is looking at some people in her little group with a different eye. Who has the potential to be a murderer? Is Lucy the next victim?
I read the first book in this series and found it to be average. I thought this book was a bit better and enjoyed the character of Melangell. She is a smart little girl, who loves her daddy very much. She keeps her head in stressful situations and is just a darling! I also liked the potential love interest for Aidan and hope to see that developed in further books. The plot seemed to flow more smoothly in this book, and the short chapters helped keep the story moving right along. I hope to see Aidan and Melangell have their characters fleshed out even more in the next novel. There is also the history of some saints and the area of Lindisfarne to learn about, which I found very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

learn much about Celtic spirituality

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We met Aidan and Melangell in the first of The Aidan Mysteries, The Hunted Hare. Now Aidan has taken eight year old Melangell to a week stay on the British island of Lindisfarne for a course on the history of Northumbrian spirituality. It was one of the places that had inspired Jenny, Aidan's wife and Melangell's mother, to write her books. Aidan thought the time there might help in grieving the recent loss of Jenny.
Things go terribly wrong when one of the people at the retreat center is found dead. She was a troubled teen who had come with the retreat leader and Methodist ministry, Lucy. Lucy had hoped the peace of the island would help the teen in her struggles. It is determined to be murder and everyone on the island is under suspicion. Aidan is faced with his second murder mystery.
This is a mystery for lovers of British history and Celtic spirituality. As Lucy lectures to those on the retreat, we learn much about the saints whose lives impacted the area including Aidan's namesake.
This is not a mystery with lots of action. It is in the style of British mysteries, dealing much more with the character of the individuals and their motivations than with action and suspense. Those who like Agatha Christie novels would like this one.
I did find telling the story from different characters' points of view a bit distracting. For example, we are privy to the thinking of Aidan and Lucy. I know that is the modern way to write but I do prefer a single point of view. Then I am on the same playing field as the major character.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightfully suspenseful mystery

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
Location:Rochester, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was privileged to read Ms. Sampson's first in the Aidan Mysteries series, The Hunted Hare back in November of 2012. As delighted as I was with that book, I was thrilled to be asked to review Death on Lindisfarne, the second in the Aidan Mystery series. Too be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect. It is not an easy task to measure up to high expectations with a sequel, but I was not disappointed at all.
Mysteries are not high on my reading list. I'm too impatient and often find myself 'peeking' at the last chapter to see 'whodunnit.' Yes, I cheat when it comes to mysteries. Some would say, 'Doesn't that take away the suspense?' Not at all. It heightens it for me because now I spend the rest of the book trying to figure out how the author is going to get to the conclusion.
Well, you'll be glad to know, I held off temptation and did not look at the end of Death on Lindisfarne to see 'whodunnit.' I found myself, as in my reading of The Hunted Hare, reading each chapter and getting more frustrated with my own attempts to figure this murder out. It seemed Ms. Sampson has not lost a step in keeping the reader guessing from chapter to chapter. She incorporates enough characters to fill her books with the notion that just about anyone could have committed this heinous crime (with the exception of little eight-year-old Melangell Davison, and possibly her father, Aidan).
Set on the Isle of Lindisfarne, Sampson incorporates good history even as she writes about a modern-day murder. If I was a teacher of history, this is the type of novel I'd love putting in the hands of young 'skulls full of mush' to make them fall in love with history. The sites, the sounds, the people involved, even though long since dead, come alive as Lucy, the tour instructor and Methodist minister, leads a widely-varied group of people through this adventure.
I know you'll be pleasantly pleased with this tale. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Sequel

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Galadriel
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book, the sequel to The Hunted Hare, is the second in Fay Sampson's Aidan Mysteries. While mysteries are not my favorite genre, I love the author's blending of Celtic history, Irish scenery, and modern mysteries. In fact, it sometimes feels like I'm taking a vacation to these locations, without the inconvenience of long flights, poor weather, and traffic.
While The Hunted Hare was told through the eyes of Aidan and his wife Jenny, Death on Lindisfarne uses multiple points of view. While this can be useful, I feel it is a mistake to use more than two points of view in a mystery novel, as the reader learns more than an one character knows on his or her own. However, as the author generally stuck to Aidan and the group leader, I feel the possible damages were limited.
While I am looking forward to any further books in this series, I also think there's a limit on how many murders one individual can stumble onto without breaking suspension of disbelief. I'm hoping to see some theft or missing persons cases, just to mix things up a little.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reminiscent of Agatha Christie

Date:September 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Stanish
Location:Midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In Sampson's first Aidan Mystery, the reader was first introduced to Aidan and his wife Jenny and their daughter Melangell. At that time Jenny was terminally ill and they didn't know how long she would be alive.
When Death on Lindisfarne takes place, Jenny has passed away some months ago and Aidan is taking his daughter Melangell on a rather unusual vacation. They will be attending a conference on an the island of Lindisfarne to learn about the historical figures who played prominently in the building of the monastery. Melangell is not your typical 8 year old, as she seems to know as much about the subject as Lucy, the lecturer (former police officer turned Methodist minister).
As the characters slowly assemble for the conference, I felt as though I was reading an Agatha Christie book. Sampson did a great job of painting a picture of each person as they arrived. There was the troubled teen that accompanied Lucy to the conference. A couple that had been foster parents. Two women travelling together (never quite clear how they were connected whether as friends or something more), and some others as well.
As the characters assemble for the lectures, some participants are almost adversarial setting a rather tense tone to the conference. Lucy has brought Rachel, a troubled teen along to the conference hoping that the change of scenery and a removal from her less than healthy ties may help Lucy forge a relationship with her to help her more fully to have a fresh start. What neither Lucy, nor Rachel, realize is that a very dark part of her past is about to catch up with her.
Early on in the book, Rachel exhibits some concerning behavior that makes Lucy wonder if she has gotten involved again with drugs. Before she can find out more, Rachel has disappeared and the conference attendees are in the very awkward position of being suspects in what later is determined as murder.
I found the book a very good read from a mystery/suspense standpoint. Overall, the book is "clean" however there were a few moral problems that I had with the book.
One somewhat confusing part is that Lucy often thinks back to a previous relationship. If I understood correctly, it sounds like she was living with a man. In her later decision to become a minister, it seems as though there would be some embarrassment and shame in having done that. Either it's just not shown or she really felt there was nothing wrong. That seemed a significant weak point as someone pursuing full-time ministry should strive to lead a life of moral purity.
I was a bit put off by the relationship that I felt Sampson was hinting might be lesbian. It was never quite made clear but I was left wondering why a Christian book would include such an ambiguous set of characters. Perhaps I was misreading their relationship but it seemed to be purposely left in mystery. Nothing definitive was offered so I could very well be reading more into it than was intended.
Drug use was part of the plot and I felt that the obligation to report such abuse was sort of swept under the rug. And there is also the hint of an attraction between Aiden and another woman; only six months after his wife's death seems unwise in light of having such a young daughter. Surprisingly, Melangell seems to encourage the relationship--hard to believe she would be so quick to accept a potential replacement as mother. Nothing actually moved forward so I'm hoping that if this relationship resurfaces in a future book, that a bit more time will have passed in Aiden's grieving process.
Aside from those moral questions, I do believe that Sampson is a gifted writer who crafts an engaging tale in the style of Agatha Christie. The characters definitely come alive and the reader is drawn into a suspenseful mystery. Readers will also learn a great deal of fascinating history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aidan and eight-year-old Melangell are still reeling from the loss of their wife and mother, Jenny. It is hard not to go into the past as everywhere they go reminds them of her. Lindisfarne is particularly special as it was one of the places she wrote a book about with photos taken by Aidan. Now years later, Aidan wants to show their daughter the places behind the books Jenny wrote, and give Melangell a little bit more time to say goodbye to the precious mother that raised her and loved them both with all her heart. Lindisfarne is the first place they stop and visit for a week - and accidental amateur sleuth Aidan finds himself in a very real 21st century drama.
They meet up with Jenny's friend Lucy who is teaching a course on Northumbrian saints. She has with her a young woman that is troubled and in need of the peace and quiet the remote island offers. But when Rachel ends up dead, the eyes of the law turn to everyone presently on the island. Rachel's friends trickle in, and Aidan and Lucy learn more about Rachel's past. A piece of Lucy's past is revealed as well, and suddenly things just aren't so simple anymore. Will Aidan be able uncover who killed Rachel? And with all the intrigue and suspicion surrounding the murder, will Melangell be safe as he investigates?
So I've got to admit that the setting for this novel is very different than I'm used to. While I love historical fiction of any kind, I have zero knowledge of the Celtic history. This book put a quick end to that. Sampson combines the interest of a mystery along with what can be considered dull facts of saints dead for centuries (for those of us who aren't passionate about this time period.) and created a story that stayed long with me after I was done. The way she describes the places, and the word pictures of the thoughts she was trying to convey were just excellent. I felt like I could taste the salt water at the crossing and feel the sand underneath my toes. It was the next best thing to being there and seeing it for myself.
This book was provided by Kregel Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice to 'see' Aidan and Melangell again

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
OhioSarah
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read The Hunted Hare which is book 1 in The Aidan Mysteries series last year and if you remember it was a book I both liked and disliked – with Death on Lindisfarne it was completely different. I liked following Aidan and his daughter Melangell to the island of Lindisfarne, which I’ve read of in other books and enjoy reading to know more about this famed island which is cut off from the mainland each day. This book takes place 6 months after Aidan loses his wife, which is why they were on holiday in The Hunted Hare so that they could have one last family vacation before she succumbed to her cancer – Aidan is still caught up in the grief of losing his wife but hates all the pitiful looks he gets as many assume he’s a divorced, single father.
The elderly couple in the book, the Cavendishes (if I’ve misspelled their name I apologize), really rubbed me the wrong way from the get go and I found it somewhat odd that no one, including Aidan who left Melangell in their care a couple of times, picked up on the odd behavior until the very end. I don’t want to give away the whole story and spoil it for everyone else but suffice to say it ended unlike I thought it would but at the same time the suspects were who I thought they were. There were a couple cuss words in this book, however they came from the ‘bad’ character and therefore I was a bit more able to overlook them and it wasn’t taking the Lord’s name in vain – but my other issue from book 1, was non-extant in this one.
Reverend Lucy was quite a bit more liberal in her approaches to life – such as being a female ordained minister in the Methodist church and also seeming to lean toward other liberal areas whereas the other Pastor who was there for the teaching was made out to be hard hearted and mean in how he dealt with women (because he believed in the Bible’s teaching of women and pastorates) as well as other conservative leanings – it seems there were some biases to these two characters in how each was made to be perceived by the reader. Regardless I truly enjoyed this book in the series and spent just one day reading – I look forward to book 3, hopefully in the near future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Death on Lindisfarne, Aidan Mysteries Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mystery & History

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kaitlin
Location:Maryland, USA
Age:18-24
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sequel to The Hunted Hare, and 2nd in the "Aidan mystery series" is full of surprises. I certainly wasn't expecting to be treated to the rich history of Holy Island and of Northumbria. While the mystery itself may have been a bit predictable, the richness of the landscape and the depth of the characters certainly was not. I found myself drawn into the medieval history, taught by the characters, of the ancient Christians on Lidisfarne. For anyone who enjoys a well-written, well-rounded story with education served on the side, this is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.