Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success

Thomas Nelson The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success

Dejected and desperate David Ponder receives The Traveler's Gift when an auto accident sends him on a remarkable journey through time. He meets some very wise people---Solomon, Abe Lincoln, and others---and learns inspiring life lessons, including the seven secrets of Success. If you relish Og Mandino books and films like It's a Wonderful Life, then you'll want to add this sparkling gem by Andy Andrews to your must-read pile! 211 pages, hardcover, Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Review 1 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wendy B
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Writers are readers.
Perhaps I should say, good writers are readers.
I just recently became acquainted to the author, Andy Andrews, because the titles of his book's intrigued me.
So I went to the library and checked out the three different one which they carried by him.
The first book of his that I read was entitled, The Traveler's Gift. 
I usually do not read fiction, but Andy Andrews has definitely broken that ban. I may just have to consider reading more Christian allegorical stories such as this.
Mr. Andrews takes historical figures and facts and weaves them into one journey of healing for the main character and the reader too.
He skillfully uses a parallel story line to empower and motivate the reader. Mr. Andrews delivers seven key decisions which we can choose to make that will determine our personal success in life.
Although this book is in the fiction section, it could not be truer to the message that most believer's need to hear in this hour and times we are living in.
Your life has a purpose. This book gives you a front seat to what potentially could happen if you decide to give up on your dream.
I definitely wouldn't spoil the book by sharing all seven decisions here, but I would like to leave you with a few quotes that impacted me for the better.
You may even take a few of these quotes which inspire you, and put them a post-it or a index card to keep it before you.
Mr. Andy Andrews is truly a dynamic storyteller and inspiring gift to his readers/audience. So glad I have discovered who he is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaShak
Location:Keenesburg, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. Andy is a great speaker and writer. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nanny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book I think everyone should read! There's so much to think about as you read it, then it will make you think for a long time afterwards! I will share it with others! Thanks Andy Andrews, again!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A little history, great story line

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe this book gives us a great way to look at life. We all need a little guidance and this book helps. I enjoyed this book and have passed it on to many of my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
debbie311
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a "must-have" in your personal development library. After reading it the first time, I'm ready to read it again with a mastermind group. I particularly enjoyed the way in which Andy Andrews weaves historical figures who personify each characteristic, then gives practical applications. A truly gifted writer and communicator!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great thought provoking self help story.

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
RANDMAN
Location:Las Vegas NV.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helps a person look into there life and make positive choices. These choices have the ability to help you live a more impowered life. A must read for those looking to change the way they look at and live there life. Once you read this book and put it into action you will want to share it with all your friends, which is why I have ordered multiple copies.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic book for all, men and women!

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
boxermom
Location:Rock Rapids, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my gift to multiple family and friends for Christmas- everyone needs guidance on life decisions and what a great author! Christianbooks.com was the best value I found on the internet, great service and price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Traveler's gift is truly a beautiful, inspirational book. No one can read this book and remain the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
VKay
Location:Coralville, Ia.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is definitely a book that I would recommend to everyone who is struggling with decisions in their life. A great book for anyone building a business. One of the best self-help books I have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An interesting read!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is unlike any other book I've ever read. I enjoy Andrews style, and I appreciate his keys to success. I do wish that he would have given God/Jesus more credit for the success. Other than that, I thought it was very interesting to look at decisions from a historical standpoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Encouragement, but with Some Hidden Flaws

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robby J
Location:Smithfield, VA
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Andy Andrews writes a good story of encouragement about a man on the track to financial, and personal disaster. He then takes his story imaginitively to different places in time to give the main character the secrets to success. I thought this book was well-written, imaginitive, and very interesting, giving a tinge of suspense to the reader. However, it does display a lack of understanding in a controversial subject (the Civil War). Mr. Andrews doesn't display the truth of the matter, as to why the Civil War was fought in the first place, and makes one side of the American conflict out to be savages. Again he goes awry by not including God in the equation of success. God is the center of true success. I believe it should be eight steps to personal success, the first one being trusting Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debra Bise
This is a great book to help you realize that your accountable for every decision you make.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jan Huey
This book came highly recommended. However, I was sorely disappointed that the author did not openly give Christ any credit .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Grace
This is a most unique book! The way the author handled the subject was thought provoking and interesting. I couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jon Philbrick
This is one of the most riviting books I have read, and it provides some interesting positive points to living and how to unleash attributes we all possess for a better tomorrow. Easy reading....hard to put down. Even better than another one of his books, The Noticer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeff Walker
Bought the book after seeing Andy at a Maximum Impact Conference. His personality is humorous and thought provoking. This book is a great read and comes across with some life lessons in an unusual manner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna Dausman
This book is amazing! It is the kind of book that once you start reading it you do not want to put it down. Through the fictional circumstances that the author leads us through you gain real insight into what life actually is about. If you have ever felt like you were at the "end of your rope" this book will inspire you to hang on and give you information that will help you to look at things through another perspective...a life changing perspective. I highly recommend this book and will read it again myself!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Traveler's Gift: Seven Decisions that Determine Personal Success
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Sharon Schwetz
Andy Andrews has taken up the torch from Og Madino. To have the God-given gift of Storyteller is a wondrous gift indeed! A life-changing read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.