Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Lady of High Regard, A - eBook

Bethany House Lady of High Regard, A - eBook

Despite her wealthy upbringing, writer Mia Stanley works for Godey's Lady's Book magazine to the disdain of her family. She is a proper young lady and is held in high regard by her elite society of friends. However, her work begins to take her into the world of the Philadelphia docks to help the downtrodden seamen's wives, and she discovers a diabolical plot that may put her where no proper lady should be. Along with her safety, her heart is in danger of being taken by the one man whose opinions matter to her.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Review 1 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another great read!

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book! I love how the author talks so much about God in her stories! The one thing that really stood out to me in this book was that a great way to witness to people is through the way we live! It opens doors to tell others about Jesus! Looking forward to reading the other books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good read

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
VirtuousLady
Location:East Sussex
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The novel is the good mix of romance and lessons in Christian values without being unrealistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Puddie
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Woman of Morality - Prime Example of what young ladies today should emulate. We need to get back to teaching our young girls and ladies morals and values. This book should be read by all young ladies!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Treca
Location:the Netherlands
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book. I like novels with historical settings, and this one seemed accurate according to USA and Philadelphia/Pennsylvania history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vickic96
Location:Swartz Creek, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love historical fiction. I actually have the hard copy of this book in my library. I love Tracie Peterson's writing and buy everyone from her that I find. I was excited to find it in the e- book version. I enjoyed reading it again.
Tracie makes the story come alive and keeps the plot going throughout the book. I don't find lag time where I lose interest. I would definitely recommend this book and any book by Tracie Peterson
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Historical Fiction

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
PrincessMommie
Location:Alvin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this book on the recommendation of a friend, I was not disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Entertaining

Date:May 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lorelei322
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I read this book on my phone each time I woke in the middle of the night. It was entertaining while simple to read. The outcome was predictable from the beginning. However, not one moment was I bored by the story line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read.

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed reading this novel. There were some parts that were a bit intense but it was necessary for the story and it did not go overboard. I am actually sad to have finished the novel because I enjoyed Mia's character so much. I will be reading the next book in the series immediately. Thanks Ms. Tracie Peterson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Sanders
Entertaining book. I would have liked more Christian content. I enjoy a more dramatic, deep series than this first in the Ladies of Liberty series. If I find a copy of #2 at a used book store I might try it to see if I liked it more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley
After reading A Lady of High Regard, I must admit disappointment. The characters were not very developed (especially Garrett), and I was frustrated with the quick, light ending. In the book's defense, the plot focuses on an interesting social injustice of that time period. Overall, this book is very mild and a nice read, but forgettable, at least as a romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy for this book and it's characters as I have been for some of Tracie's stories, but I did enjoy it and will recommend it and perhaps read it again. Mia has a very Emma-like quality about her. She wants to put everyone into a matchmade pair, but when she realizes who she wants to be her other half, it is a little too late as she pushed him away into a pair of his own.Through this story you get entertainment and romance. There is mystery and suspense. There is a devotion and lesson to be learned. There are matters that affect your own life that you can gain from experiencing the lives of these characters. I have yet to come across a book by Tracie Peterson, except one, that I have not loved and this is no exception. It's great, not necessarily amazing, hence the four stars, but it's great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Darcy Cline
I purchased this series for my daughters and they read through them quickly..one right after another in a week! Good story with Christian values.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Peters
much to my surprise this book was absolutelywonderful read. The description on the back of the book doesn't give it justice.I only bought it because Tracie Peterson wrote it, and i haven't been disappointed with her books thus far. This book is for everyone. you will not be disappointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Becca S.
I thought this was a very good book. I've never read any other of Tracie's books so I wouldn't know if it was up to her standards or not. It wasn't the best book I've ever read (probably cause I've read so many), but I still liked it a lot! Thanks Tracie!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Amanda
for someone who doesn't like reading I really enjoyed this book. I Think she used just enough description to paint the picture but left enough to let your imagination fill in the rest. If a book describes to much for me i tend to get bored with it and put it down. This was a book I really didn't want to put down at all. Even after I hit the ending. I would definitely recommend this as a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
I'm not normally a Tracie Peterson fan, but this one intrigued me, so I picked it up. I thoroughly enjoyed Mia and Garrett's romance, as well as some of the more suspenseful scenes involved, and unlike some other reviewers, I did not mind a lack of physical descriptions. What got to me about this book was a lack of deep characters, relationships, and themes. This felt like a fluffy novel's attempt to disguise itself as a refined-but-gritty historical, and it didn't work. However, Mia was engaging, and again, the romance was lovely, so I'm hoping the next one will be better. In the meantime, this one is still worth revisiting if you want a lighter historical than what Tracie usually presents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2007
I was tantalized by the book description, waited so long to finally read it...and was disappointed. A good plot, good characterization, but no descriptive details to really transport the reader to 19th century Philadelphia. I wanted details about wealthy, cloistered Walnut Street, details about the slums on the waterfront, and most of all details about working in the offices of Godey's Lady's Book. Peterson did not paint a picture for us this time. Still love her and will definitely read her next books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Nancy Rhondell
This book was pretty good, as usual, for Tracie Peterson.I would recommend it to all my friends who like to read. Good job, Peterson!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2007
Easy read, good story, great weaving of scripture, principals, and God's love throughout the story. Good love story with just enough action to make it exciting. Tracy Peterson always does a good job of getting the historic background correct.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lady of High Regard, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Janet Peterson
A Lady of High Regard was a good read, however, it didn't move me as many of her other novels have done before. I would still recommend it for those who may not have read her novels before.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>