Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook

Bethany House Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook

Charlotte Lamb, a fallen vicar's daughter, hopes to secret herself away in London's grim Milkweed Manor. But once there,she is mortified to find herself in the care of a former suitor, a physician whom her father long ago rejected as unsuitable, a man who now hides secrets of his own. Both are determined, with God's help, to protect those they love. But neither could guess the depth of sacrifice that will be required of them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
Review 1 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
mactacmary
Location:Plumas, Manitoba, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first book that I read by this author......gripping story, had to keep reading. I immediately ordered more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Probably Her Best or at Least My Favorite

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jamr
Location:Astoria NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have a deep appreciation for Julie Klassen and the gift God has given her to write with such depth.
It is as if Jane Austin's world has returned, only we get to see a little bit of that society's underbelly. She writes with sense of compassion that is lacking in some Regency era novels.
I also recommend the audio version of this book.
Please read it for yourself. You won't be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Above and beyond!

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book went above and beyond of what I expected! It is a heart wrenching story, but beautifully and passionately written! The characters grabbed my attention quickly and my heart went out to Charlotte! Truly reminds me to be thankful of what God did for us by sending His Son!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, I started this book and put it down for several weeks before trying again. Once I got about a fourth of the way into it, that's when I really grabbed a hold of me and I finished it by the next afternoon. It's not your everyday historical fiction with your typical ending. I think that this writer is talented and brings a fresh perspective to this type of book. Worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:February 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karen S Wolford
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Julie Klassen's books. this is another ecellent read. Good details of the time and culture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love her Style of Writing

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
graceful
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all her books and look forward to them!!
This book is set during the Regency period.
Charlotte Lamb hides to herself away in London's Milkweed Manor. One of her suitors is a physicain with his own secret as well. There are twists and turns in this book with well developed main characters.
Interesting facts of the treatment of unwed mothers, wet nurses etc.. during the 1800's. Very sutbly christian theme.
Her books are filled with ton of research and I enjoy reading them
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Inspirational

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
brit
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I believe that Charlotte was a shoe in for a courageous woman. the story is a beautifully written narrative and i recommended it to a great number of friends. i will keep reading Klassen because it was such a wonderful book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betts
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not enjoy this book at all, depressing storyline, couldn't finish it. Threw it away. Don't waste your money on this one.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book!

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzy Mackey
Location:Paris, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book I have read by Julie Klassen and I think possibly it is going to be one of my all time favorites!
This book is wonderful, I could hardly put it down and when I was finished, I was even upset it was over. Great author, I have even started her next book, Apothocary's Daughter, so excited I have found this author!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the first time I tried a book by Julie Klassen. I read the first part of the book in one night. After that I took a shower and planned on going to bed, but I was thinking about how the story would continue, so I traded my bed for the couch and read till 2 in the morning. I just simply couldn't keep my eyes open any longer, or else I would have read through till dawn.
After waking up I couldn't wait to get back into the story and then I read the rest of the book.
I really loved it and it didn't disappoint at all!
I'm sure going to read her other books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Cain
I bought this book for my sister's birthday and she hardly left her room for two days as she read it. She loved the book and said it was definitely a page-turner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
I thought this was a truly amazing book! I was truly never bored. The writing was captivating and hauntingly beautiful. I learned so much about the regency time period and the wet nursing profession, a subject that's always intrigued me. I did have to take off a half star, since I would've liked Charlotte's reasoning behind her monumental and life-changing decision at the end fleshed out a bit more. It seemed a tad abrupt and cold. Still, I highly recommend this beautiful novel. You'll be pulled in and have a hard time putting it down!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria Rosser
I have read all her books and can't recomend them enough! She is a great story teller.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy Meriweather
Great book!! I am an OB nurse and found the wet nurse subject fascinating. Loved it, such a unique book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
This was a great book. I didn't want to put it down and I let a couple of my friends borrow it too and they enjoyed it just as much! Klassen is a great writer and her other books are great too!! (check out "The Apothecary's Daughter!!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shannon Phillips
This book was so full of excitement. You never really knew what would happen next. I loved the unexpected ending. You'll be glad you read this sweet, exciting, unexpected book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janey Backer
This is the BEST book I have read in a long time!!! What a story, I was captivated page by page. The end was slightly idealistic and a quick wrap. But the rest of the story was well paced, good history, wonderful characters. I am delighted to find a new author.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
this was a very good book, very well written and rich in spiritual matter. it contained a few deaths, which i would much rather it didn't. however, it was tender, without being overly romantic and had a good plot. also, it deals with a lot of very modern issues, which was really helpful. i intend to read it again, as i do with only the best books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julie Granlund
Very much a book of Sacrifice...if you are looking for a light hearted book, this is not it. That being said, it was very well written. I very much enjoyed this book and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lady of Milkweed Manor - eBook
This review is fromLady of Milkweed Manor.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2009
I was captivated by this first novel by Julie Klassen. Rich in historical detail, heartbreaking at times. The unexpected twists and turns bring joy and satisfaction at the novel's end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.