Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Barbarian Way

Thomas Nelson The Barbarian Way

Erwin McManus wasn't raised in a Christian home, so when he came to Christ as a college student, he didn't know the rules of the "religious club." He didn't do well in Shakespeare courses, so he didn't really understand the KJV Bible he was given either. But he did understand that prayer was a conversation, and he learned to talk to God and wait for answers. Erwin's way was passionate and rough around the edges - a sincere, barbaric journey to Christ. Barbaric Christians see Jesus differently than civilized Christians. They see disciples differently, and they see Christ's mission differently. The Barbarian Way is a call to escape "civilized" Christianity and become original, powerful, untamed Christians - just as Christ intended.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Barbarian Way
Review 1 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love his passion and risk-taking faith!

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sundance
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
McManus is inspiring to people who long for a challenge and a call to something higher: a risky, magnificent adventure in Christ. Too many of us settle for a civilized faith in which the goal becomes a peaceful existence and the slogan is, "Don't rock the boat." But an unwillingness to take chances in obedience to Christ means we'll never experience the deeper joys and satisfactions of walking with Him. For those who want to encourage and inspire others to live courageously for Christ, this book can be very helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Eagle
Great book for a men's study group or study in general. Only 4 chapters which makes it easy. The book is inspirational to live a life that is authentic, bold and descisive for Christ which goes back to the basics of the great commission in Matt. 28. It does not sugar coat the faith and lays out the reality of what it means to battle daily for God's kingdom using weapons of Love, fatih and hope. I enjoyed the book and it had tied in some great inspirational scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Daniel Ross
I read this book years ago, and it still encourages me and challenges me. And it makes we want to read the Bible so that I can know how to be like those true Barbarian, especially Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joe
I got this book because the Mosaic podcasts are so good. I found this book to be very dull. It had potential but it was never realized and to this second I'm not sure what the Barbarian Way really is. I would not recommend this book to someone.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Denise Dawson
Refreshing....rekindles the "first love" of a new Christian, but in the context of growing in grace and truth and in a vital walk with the Lord here and now where you are planted...our whole family loved it and read it together for encouragement and prayer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gary Rayment
Great book! I enjoyed reading this book for a class I'm taking - it was a suggested read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kim Breckel
I give this book to everyone I know. It is well written and very inspiring. I think Erwin McManus captures what it is like to be "On fire for GOD." He encourages a wide open, scripturally sound, relationship with the Savior unrestricted by what some traditionally think "Religion" should be.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Micah Pounders
People try and knock McManus saying he is more about the individual enlightenment than teaching biblical principle. I would say to those people that you first need to really make prayer your focus, because God will show you those things that are of him, and those that are not. These books are of God. I know that God must be pleased with the work that McManus is doing. Christians get caught up too much in the literal translations and meanings of scripture instead of recognizing that someone is trying to help christians that are living there life aimlessly. McManus presents an unbiased few of christianity, showing the good and bad things that can happen. He's not a Joel Osteen, who only preaches prosperity and never preaches anything negative. Osteen is good, but I'd like to see how large he church would be every sunday is he started preaching about hell every once and a while. McManus Barbarian Way is a call to be a warrior for christ and take whatever comes at you in this life, and trust in God. Get off this man, and take the good from this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Danielle Jostes
During Jesus' earthly ministry, he was far from 'politically correct'. There was nothing tame about His message. How much glory could be given to God...if all of us moved beyond being Christian to truly being followers of Jesus Christ! This book ignites the journey...should be required reading in ALL churches.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jared Reed
This was an awesome book, I enjoyed every page. I've read it once though and I've actually started reading it over again. Def. pick up this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Washington Ave Baptist Church
McManus has been one of my favorite authors since hearing him speak at a leadership event at Willow Creek. I am always challenged to think on a different level when exposed to McManus' 'raw' honesty. This book has not only awakened the "barbaric" call on my life but has helped me to realize that I am not losing my mind. My growing disdain for 'same-old' Christianity is being stimulated by the Barbarian Way God has called me to live in. I am grateful to McManus for writing with an honesty that is refreshingly different from mainstream Christianity! My life and approach to ministry have been changed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bill Motte
This may be one of the best eye opening, life changing books I have read. I was so moved by the content that we are using it as a study guide for our Home Group. If you read it your life will be changed, one way or another.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tim Hubbard
This book resonates so deeply with the passionate spirit of Christ within us who know Him. Once you begin to experience life on "The Barbarian Way" you will never be satisfied living any other way. McManus has articulated what my heart cries out. Life in Christ is terrifyingly exciting. Nothing else comes close. In Him we truly live!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
David Wright
As a men's ministry leader, I implore you to get this book, read it, and get a copy for each man in your group. Every now and then, a book comes along that can arouse the hearts of men (something sorely needed in most churches). THIS is one of those books!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kristin Billerbeck
This little book is so profound. McManus has that gift of making the difficult, easy. I loved his view of life, and running full bore into life and what God has for you. Wonderful! I liked it so much, I left it on a plane for the next passenger to "find".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jo Ellen Morris
In this book you learn how civilized christianity will chock salvation out of your life. If you feel dried up, searching for that "first experience with Jesus", read The Barbarian Way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jane
I highly recommend anything by Erwin McManus - he is a master at opening the Scriptures in a way that is relevant and meaningful. This book (and the sermon it's based on, also titled "The Barbarian Way) changed the way I view everything - especially Christianity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Barbarian Way
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
Ron Waggoner
Mcmanus has written a masterpiece! This book stands alone in a call for Christians to be what they were called out to be. Enough already with hiding inside the church. We do live in a culture of passive and civilized members who are content with going to church. This book challenges the reader to rediscover their unbridled faith that is inside and to join a tribe of barbarians.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.