Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House In the Company of Secrets - eBook

Bethany House In the Company of Secrets - eBook

Dismissed by the Earl of Lanshire's chef, Olivia Mott leaves England for America with the daughter of her former employer. Finding work as a cook at an elegant hotel in Pullman, Illinois, Olivia weaves a tangled web of deceit. Will she ever admit her past---or continue lying to preserve her new life?
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Review 1 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No ending in the first volume; must buy more books

Date:June 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lite Reader
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, I didn't realize this was one of a series of books based on the primary character. Normally other books I've read end with a conclusion of the main characters and then continue with the secondary characters in another volume. However, this book leaves you with no ending and you are forced to purchase the next book etc. (No doubt this is the plan of the author). Having said that; I did enjoy the storyline, but do not appreciate the "need to make multiple purchases" in order to come to a finish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An enjoyable read

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy this book so much. Love the plot and the characters. I would certainly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mouse68
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the story line, didn't know that there were two more books as continuation of the main character's life so i will be looking to get book 2 and 3
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good storyline

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stoney
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love to read good clean fiction, especially when it has a Christian theme. Great read
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
curlytop3710
Location:missouri
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book highly recomend its . Read it like 5 times an hard to put down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good read.

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Chapin
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but did not realize it was a series and did not stand alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A good read at an even better price!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has it all: a great cover, story, quality, and value! Can't get better deal anywhere!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chode
Location:Tacoma WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading the first in the series made me order the other two. From the descriptions of Pullman, I'd love to go and visit, just to put visuals to my imagination. I really enjoy historical fiction and this did not disappoint. The dual perspective presented--the rich and the workers--made for a great read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
MomaDawn
Location:Oklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book, I am really enjoying reading it. I can't wait to read the others in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Inna Matveev
It is a slow read. Not much action going on. The book started out slow, and continued until almost till 1/5 was left. I hope the next book in a series is more interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jessica Alfaro
great book...kept you guessing, interesting subject matter. well thought out and Mrs. Miller definately did her reasearch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cyndi
I have read all three books in the series and they are very good. I enjoyed the suspense and the historical setting of each one. You will enjoy this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annica Johnson
I think this book was really good for light reading. The story line was pretty good and I was entertained. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet
Loved it! Olivia Mott and Lady Charlotte leave England for America weaving a web of lies along the way. As they begin a new life in the town of Pullman, Il will Olivia be truthful with her new employer. Will she admit her deceit to Fred, of whom she feels much affection? Will Charlotte reconcile with her babies father? How will Olivia deal with Mr Howard and his unwelcome advances? Can't wait to read books two and three!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheri Neely
this series is very good. I,m just into the secound book and each one gets better, I,m so glad i ordered the set so i can go rihgt on to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Mobley
This is a great book, but the ending really leaves you hanging. Luckily, there are two sequels. It is a wonderful series. I would definitely recommend them. I give the three of them together five stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
This was a really enjoyable book.There was a good message about honesty,but I really loved the historical feel of the book. You really get a glimpse of what it may have been like to live in those times. Great Read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shirley Provow
I am now completing the third book of this series and they are all outstanding books. I would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone who enjoys reading a great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jill Hart
Olivia Mott was miserable. She finds a way out, but in the process lies must be told. When she lands in Pullman, Illinois, her job, even her very life, may depend on her keeping the truth from everyone she meets. She devises a way to keep track of her tall-tales, but shes not sure it will be enough to avoid the looming trouble she feels is following her. In the meantime, she catches the eye of two of the towns eligible bachelors. She must learn to manage her lies, her new occupation and her heart.The first in the Postcards From Pullman series, In the Company of Secrets takes readers back to 1892 and gives a grand picture of what life was like then. Olivia struggles to fend for herself and finds herself in over her head on more than one occasion.Readers who enjoy historical Christian fiction will find this book charming. The only frustration I found was the ending, or lack thereof. Its a great lead-in to the next book in the series, but leaves the reader feeling left in the dark. I highly recommend this book, but warn readers to be prepared to buy the next book in the series as well. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In the Company of Secrets - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
In the 1880s in London, Olivia Mott works in the exclusive Spencer home, but when she rejects the sexual assaults of highly regarded Chef Mallard, she finds herself in jeopardy of losing her position. However, she gets lucky when pregnant single Lady Charlotte Spencer decides to go to America to find the father of her unborn child; she wants Olivia along as her companion.They reach factory town Pullman, Illinois where the prime factory is and those who work for the company of the same name live. Under Charlottes direction, Olivia hides her past and obtains work as an assistant chef at the Florence. One lie leads to another and soon Olivia feels engulfed in the well meaning Charlottes web of deceit as she falls in love with sincere town manager Samuel Howard.This is an interesting historical tale that brings to life a company town through the deep support cast and the reactions of the two female English newcomers to Pullman. Olivia is a delightful protagonist who detests the mendacious background that necessity being the mother of invention has forced her and Charlotte to create. Readers will appreciate this Postcards from Pullman tale as Judith Miller vividly brings to life late nineteenth century Americana.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.