Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vision Video China Cry, DVD

Vision Video China Cry, DVD

Growing up in Shanghai in 1941, little Nora Lam lived like a princess until the bombs dropped and Japanese soldiers seized her house. Years later, threatened by the Communist regime that now envelops her country, Nora cries to God for salvation---and miracles follow. A heroic account of one woman's courage, determination, and faith in God. PG-13. Approx. 103 minutes.

Special Features:

  • Spanish and Portuguese Tracks
  • English Subtitles
  • Biographical Information on Leading Actors
  • Original Preview Trailer
  • Chapter Titles

Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for China Cry, DVD
Review 1 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Touching True Story

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
valoyka
Location:Puerto Rico
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is no way to imagine what our brothers and sisters who live in countries where being a Christian is prohibited go through. This movie is instructive, captivating and I loved specially the happy ending. Recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quite good!

Date:June 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
joyful
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DVD has been out for several years and had always wanted to see it. It was quite good .History of that time in China would be interesting to research.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Story!

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Whatyathink
Location:Colorado Springs
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I enjoyed this movie and realizing that its an older movie the story was well put together. It was condensed a bit but highlighted a number of things Nora Lamb went through. I found it to be a great value and one I wanted to add to my collection of Christian based movies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

inspiring

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
eddie
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is very inspiring and is applicable in our lives today!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Steve Trgovec
Great movie to watch with the whole family.Brings across how great God is in our lives.It will bring tear's to your eye's. Also very educational about what happen in history.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patsy Yoder
My grandchildren had no idea what it would be like for a beliver to live in a Communist country. An eye opener to the truth, and Gods power.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Edna Harderson
this is a very well written christian movie with a good story. I also liked the fact that this movie is a true story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kendra
This is a very good movie. It shows how much she put her trust in God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Li Lewis
CHINA CRY is a wonderful, true story of God working in the lives of the people in CHINA .This was a very exciting movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Missy
I wish I had known before buying this DVD that there was a scene in this movie where soldiers grab Nora's chest and make lewd comments about her body. Otherwise, it's a fabulous movie.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Thomas Berger
Excellent Movie ! I will loan my copy to others in my church and encourage them to buy copies to loan out also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carlos L. Guerrero
Very very impact movie, is like it in the times of Moses when God took his people out of Egypt with strong hand... And this is exactly what God do with us when we are in difficult moment in our lives. God bless you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chancellor Carlyle Roberts Ii
This was an excellent, yet heart-wrenching, movie that is well worth watching. This should be in every Christian's DVD collection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Glasco
The story is inspiring. The movie didnt give it justice. Too much hollywood with the subtle love scenes. I would rather have read the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Orma Blunt
China Cry was a excellent DVD, it spoke to me about prejudices within the Christian world. Also it shows how being a non-Christian can have a great impact on your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anita Hughes
A beautifully made film depicting the life of Nora Lam who during the communist reign of China; came to realize she was a Christian and refused to deny His presence in her life. Her bravery under persecution is a testimony to all of us who love the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Staci Schwarz
I rented this movie several years ago at a secular movie store and loved it. What an amazing testimony to the miracles of the Lord. Since then I have been searching for years to find it! I am so happy to find it here and thank you Christianbook for carrying it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for China Cry, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Darlene
China Cry is one of the most beautiful and inspiring movies I have viewed in years. I just happend upon it and was transfixed to the subperb ending. Everything about it was beautiful.The world needs more movies like China Cry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.