Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook

Bethany House Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
6 out of 875%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
Review 1 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of those "sleep depriving" books...

Date:January 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, Deeanne, could you please stop writing books that I can't stop reading. Being unable to put a book down greatly decreases my level of sleep! And yet... I wouldn't trade these late nights for anything! I was so drawn in by the story, the characters and the challenges and hardships that played out in this book. It was wonderfully written and masterfully told. All you fans of Deeanne Gist, romance, historical fiction... I think you'll be very pleased!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Soft porn

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine
Location:Murphysboro IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. I read Christian fiction so I don't have to put up with the sexual aspect of secular books. This is soft porn. Stirring up passions that are not befitting for Christian fiction. I threw the book away.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heart stopper!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
sundrop32
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay! S this book was at times emotionally intense. The story starts off with a situation that seems so hopeless! And at first I kept waiting for the lady to be rescued from what had happened....but she ends up going through and it is amazing. Several times I had to put the book down just to have a break from all the "o my goodness" stuff that happens to this poor girl. But my putting it down was never long lived because my curiosity of what was going to happen next would help me get back into the book.
I identified with this book because we all have tough situations that we sometimes have to go throu that require us to look for God's helping us see a better or more creative way of getting through things. This time last year my area was hit really hard with tornadoes and we were faced with going for about 5 days with no electricity.... So, I felt like I could identify with the lady here. And I think this story help me to look back and see how God did help and bless us through those days. And I really had not stopped until reading that story to reflect that we managed to get through so easily.
Definitely enjoy every book from this author. I actually look for her books when I want a good emotionally detailed read. It is like spending time with a girl friend and talking about your troubles. And then encouraging each other in Christ!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Educated Woman, Reluctant Hero

Date:March 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A Bride Most Begrudging. Just look at the title. How can that not intrigue you?!
This is my first Deeanne Gist book and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. When hero, Drew O'Conner sees someone in trouble, he must needs help. Even if it's a woman with red hair. Which he professes to hate. Both of them forced into a marriage by the rules of the colony, their emotions dance around each other in the usual, yet beguiling two-step. When you think all is faring well and you're ready for the happily ever after ending, Ms. Gist withholds it yet again. I must admit. There was a moment when I really. SERIOUSLY. wanted to slap Drew. Several times just so he wouldn't miss my point!
But, when you find yourself screaming at the main character, wiping tears off your cheeks, and laughing out loud, these are all the earmarks of a fantastic story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intriguing!

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary A
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is set in a time period and place that I am very fascinated with and it was a very intriguing read. I loved the contrast between upper crust Lady Constance Morrow and the gruff Drew O'Conner, as well as the whole "tobacco bride" idea. The plot is suspenseful and is likely to keep you reading far into the night, since you won't want to put it down. A definite asset to your bookshelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Midnight Emissary
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I found this particular novel to be lacking the usual page turning captivation her other books have had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The book made me blush

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Arhazivory
Location:Jamaica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this book to an older, married woman but for myself, who is happily single and trying to keep my thoughts pure, this book was somewhat treacherous. The dialogue is witty, the storyline is solid, the twists are unexpected but the morals that should underline a Christian novel are somewhat lacking. I actually started to become fearful that she would write a bedroom scene, such was the extent of her 'descriptions'.
I am now wary of her other books and I only just mustered up the courage to purchase another one of her novels - Maid to Match - and that was only after reading the reviews. Something I should have done with this one, because even one reader hinting at its sensuality would have discouraged me from purchasing it.
On another note, my mother who's in her 50's and happily married for 25 years thought it was great. -_-'
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a pleasant surprise to read this first book by Deeanne Gist. It's some time ago since I read it, but when I think back this book is still in my head. Not many authors can do that with me. Deeanne is great storyteller!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
This author has a unique way of unfolding a story. It shows that true love through faith is there for everyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
PT
I could not put this book down. Deeanne did a great job in bringing her characters to life. I look forward to a book on Josh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie Canter
I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was an interesting book with good characters and a realistic plot. I thought the book had sexual tension between the characters that was appropriate for their relationship, since they are married. A great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Lacko
I found this book to be very informative of the way England had some of the colonies settled. I liked the book very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelley
This was an absolutely wonderful book. It was so good I read it through twice in two days. I would highly recommend it anyone looking for a sweet, romantic story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
I LOVED this book! I could NOT put it down. At parts I was crying and at others anxious for what happens next! I have also read Measure of a lady, and Courting trouble. They were also quit good. Though they WERE a bit in depth about some things, but over all they were fabulous!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paulette Schierer
Against her will, Constance was sold as a bride. But through her ordeals, she began to know the man she was with and saw his good points and grew to love and care for him deeply, showing that even though we go through bad times and face difficulties, we can make the best of things and become content and actually like where we are in life. It was a very enjoyable book and I couldn't wait to read more of Deeanne Gist's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Norma
Lady Constance became such a real charater to me. I could feel all her fustration, pain and love through this book. How often are we misunderstood in the world. How often do we try to communicate one thing and it comes out as another. I have became a great fan of Deeanne Gist and have moved on to read "The Measure of a Lady" which I am enjoying very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Iris
Wonderfully written! I loved it from beginning to end. I couldn't put the book down. I can't wait to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Mccants
I just finished another one of Deeanne's books. I wish she could write them faster because each one is captivating. I was moved by the love of Constance and Drew; most of all, the love they had for Christ. Why, as Christians, do we fight the passion of love for our Savior as our Groom and the love of a mate? A wife cannot really passionately love her husband unless she first has a passionate love for Christ.Some of the comments are interesting...Mothers, your daughters are learning about lust in the world; please let them see it through a Christian woman's view.I can't for the next novel. Thank you, Deeanne!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Poliana
I simply LOVED this book!! If you're not sure whether or not you should buy this book because of the reviews that said the novel is too sensual; PLEASE don't be discouraged and give it a try. Deeanne Gist knows exactly how to keep situations under control and inside the "Christian boundaries".A bride most begrudging is a perfect-written novel with lots of adventure and comedy that will keep the pages turning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bride Most Begrudging, A - eBook
This review is fromA Bride Most Begrudging.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 17, 2008
A Bride Most Begrudging is a wonderful novel by DeeAnn Gist! Constance is the daughter of an Earl who boards a ship bound for America to say goodbye to her Uncle. She becomes trapped aboard and winds up in Virginia, sold as a tobacco bride. Watching her grow from spoiled little rich girl to loving colonial wife is a real treat. All of DeeAnn's characters have depth. The writing is colorful, really making colonial America of the 1600s come alive. Her plot twists are stimulating, as well - just when I thought the story was predictable, the author masterfully turned the story in a direction I didn't suspect. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.