Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook

Bethany House Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook

Annie Zook, the only daughter of an Old Order Amish preacher, wants to please her parents and her community, but a hidden passion stands in the way. Creating art is strictly forbidden by Annie's church district. Her secret has already cost her the affection of handsome Rudy Esh. She must choose between her art and the People . . . the only life she knows.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Review 1 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolann Kirin
I have started a collection of Beverly Lewis Books on the Amish, I cannot put down a book ounce I pick it up. I buy the whole series before I start reading so I can complete each story. Her writing of these books is the best I have ever read on the Amish. I appreciate her detail into all The Ways and her knowledge of this. The stories are amazing and the lifestyles are unique. I would suggest these books to anyone who loves to read!!!!!!!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Jiggetts
a most enjoyable book.Helps me understand the world of the Amish.Beverly Lewis is an accomplished writer, and keeps you wondering what will happen next!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carol Kondos
Phenomenal!!!This was a wonderful series. She really goes deep into her characters. You feel as if you are there with the characters and want to be with them. I have always had an interest in the Amish People. They are a fascinatingly resilient group. They have strength of character, strength and love for family and friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I LOVE "The Preacher's Daughter"! Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. As soon as I finished it, I bought the second book "The Englisher" which I loved just as much. I'm now reading "The Bretheren" which is the last book, and it's great too.Each books picks up where the other one left off, so I would recommend reading them in order. I highly recommend "The Preacher's Daughter", and I think Beverly Lewis is my new favorite author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beverly Kaiser
What a great book to read. It was fun to read and get lost in the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tammy
I'd never read a Beverly Lewis book, as I rarely read fiction. I started this book at 10 p.m. on a work night, figuring I'd get bored after the first chapter. I finished at about 2:30 a.m. as I couldn't pull myself away! Each chapter left me with a "what next" feeling, and I wasn't satisfied til I'd read the whole book! Since I really don't like to go to work on four hours of sleep, I wasn't going to buy the next book, but I couldn't resist and bought it today. Maybe I'll save this one for a Friday night! So, even those new to the genre will be quickly pulled in by the fantistic writing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Julie
Although the start was a little slow in "The Preacher's Daughter," Mrs. Lewis certainly picked up the pace in the second half. One would think that the storyline would be stale after so many previous books about the Amish, but Mrs. Lewis doesn't disappoint with a well-written and captivating story. Can't wait to read the sequels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mary
I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Beverly Lewis. I have always enjoyed books about the Amish community. Beverly Lewis has a wonderful ability to tell a story and keep your interest. I immediately order the second book and am now ordering the third! I have read almost all of Beverly Lewis' books, even the young readers books for my daughter. Beverly Lewis is really an asset to parenting as she gentle supports our Biblical beliefs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Natalie Beningfield
This was definitely the worst book written by Beverly Lewis I have ever had the displeasure to read.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kim Mittelstadt
I bought this book up at a local store, because the brief description intrigued me. I couldn't wait to get to the end. Once I finished this book, I HAD to go out and get the second one. I have since finished that book and am now more anxious than ever to read the last one in this series. Beverly Lewis is indeed an exceptional "story-teller". She is able to bring an "assurance of salvation" message into her books, without "preaching" at the readers or making the characters "preach at each other". Very well done indeed!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kristi
I loved this book the second I finished it I went out and bought the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Heather
This is another great book from Beverly Lewis.I couldn't put it down. My only complaint is that it ends very suddenly and leaves you hanging. I can't wait for the rest of the series!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Christian Book Previews.com
The Preachers Daughter by Beverly Lewis is a story of heartbreak, friendship, and uncertainty. Annie is a young Amish girl torn between the life she knows and the art she loves. Lewis takes the reader into a world that for many is unknown and mysterious. Annies family allows Louisa, an English girl, into their world, and Annie soon begins to grow and question everything she has ever been taught. There is a constant conflict between the outside world of the English and the small world of the People. The most unforgettable experience is when something is found and quickly covered up. Annie Zook is the only daughter of the preacher, and she is a talented young artist. However, she must keep her talent a secret, for her art is forbidden by her Bishop. Louisa Stratford, Annies long time pen-pal, is a young art teacher, who longs for a simple life away from her materialistic family in Colorado. Louisa comes to visit Annie in Paradise, Pennsylvania, to get away from it all. Quickly, the two women become like sisters and find out who they really are. Annie is a young girl who doesnt know what she wants. She seems to want to join the church but she cant have both the church and her art. However, Annie is eager readiness to teach her friend the ways of the Amish. Louisa knows what she wants and knows how to get it. She wants to be away from her wealthy, overbearing parents, so she goes to Amish country. Away from the complexities of her hurried life, she quickly adapts to a world where its quiet and far from distraction. There are many twists and turns, and the reader is left pleasantly surprised at the end. Young women would like this book. There is a romance element, but its more about friendship than love per se. I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever been a little indecisive about a big change. Anna Herschell, Christian Book Previews.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Rebekah
I have to agree with the other reviewers! 'Preacher's Daughter' is a great book, very well written, and I can't wait to read 'The Englisher', as well as any more in this series! Thank you, Beverly Lewis! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
Georgia Lewis
I LOVE Beverly Lewis Books. Can't wait for the sequel to The Preachers Daughter. When will that come out???!!!!! Have read and have as many as I can find. Friends and I pass them around to each other also. Its like who can collect the most Beverly Lewis books!! Wonderful!! Thanks for some good clean wholesome reading!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Debbie Morgan
I have every book that Beverly Lewis has ever writtn. Great Author. This one started out kind of slow because she wants you to get to know the characters of the new series. But I couldn't put it down as usual, and I cannot wait for the next book. This story could go in all kinds of directions, and I can not wait to see and learn more about Ben and Zeke and how Annie will handle her compassion for art. Fantastic. You did it again Beverly. Left me wanting more......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Debbie Brooks
Excellently written. Beverly Lewis pulls us into the characters lives, making the book hard to put down, and us waiting for the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
Delila
A very good book. I have to wonder, though, why Annie doesn't just become a Mennonite. Well, maybe she will in the future books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Preacher's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2005
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Great book. Can't wait for the next sequel. You feel a part of the Zook family and the challenges the Armish families face as well as the English included in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.