Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Forbidden, The - eBook

Bethany House Forbidden, The - eBook

In this sequel to The Parting, Caleb Yoder's father has forbidden him to court Nellie Mae Fisher, but words alone cannot stop Caleb's devotion. Yet if he continues to pursue Nellie, he risks losing everything. Nellie, too, is torn. She longs to marry her Old Order beau but cannot ignore the gentle pull she feels toward the faith of her New Order family. Can she and her beloved satisfy the expectations of the People while remaining true to their hearts?
Average Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forbidden, The - eBook
Review 1 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nellie Mae Fisher has the expectations of the People riding on her shoulders. Too much is at stake to falter with her choice. She wants to be with her New Order family, but will she be able to split her allegiance between them and her Old Order beau?
Caleb Yoder is torn between his love for Nellie Mae, and the promise his father made to him if he stays away from her. The conflict between what he knows is right and what he is starting to feel in his heart are two completely different things. He will loose everything if he disobeys his father, but he will loose Nellie if he doesn't make a decision soon. Will they be too late to satisfy their heart's desire? Or will forbidden fruit be sweeter than the consequences?
This second installment in The Courtship of Nellie Fisher is as good as the first. I couldn't put the book down for wanting to know what would happen to the community, Caleb, and Nellie. There comes a point when reading becomes an addiction, and if this book doesn't cause that to happen to you, then give up reading and go watch a movie.
Even though there are multiple plot lines going on at once (which we've come to expect from Lewis) I never once felt overwhelmed with everyone's story. It always lead to the bigger picture of what was going on, and the depth of character development made me feel that even Caleb's father was paid attention to and not just inserted as the bad guy. A recommended read for young people and adults alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nellie Mae Fisher has the expectations of the People riding on her shoulders. Too much is at stake to falter with her choice. She wants to be with her New Order family, but will she be able to split her allegiance between them and her Old Order beau?
Caleb Yoder is torn between his love for Nellie Mae, and the promise his father made to him if he stays away from her. The conflict between what he knows is right and what he is starting to feel in his heart are two completely different things. He will loose everything if he disobeys his father, but he will loose Nellie if he doesn't make a decision soon. Will they be too late to satisfy their heart's desire? Or will forbidden fruit be sweeter than the consequences?
This second installment in The Courtship of Nellie Fisher is as good as the first. I couldn't put the book down for wanting to know what would happen to the community, Caleb, and Nellie. There comes a point when reading becomes an addiction, and if this book doesn't cause that to happen to you, then give up reading and go watch a movie.
Even though there are multiple plot lines going on at once (which we've come to expect from Lewis) I never once felt overwhelmed with everyone's story. It always lead to the bigger picture of what was going on, and the depth of character development made me feel that even Caleb's father was paid attention to and not just inserted as the bad guy. A recommended read for young people and adults alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Forbidden, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forbidden, The Courship of Nellie Fisher #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 23, 2009
This is an enticing love and romantic novel. What makes it special are all the unending vivid descriptions of the Amish, which in turn make you want to know more about the characters and how their way of life has shaped them. A clean reading that challenges the characters to decide whether their faith is more important than tradition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Forbidden, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forbidden, The Courship of Nellie Fisher #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jeanette Jiggetts
i am so glad i read these books.i have grown to understand the Amish more ana I am interested in order books. Beverly Lewis is an excellent author. good clean reading!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dolly
I read & completed all 3 Series of Nellie Fisher. As always, the book was excellent and I read it in no time at all. Caleb's dad was a bit hard nosed & I wondered if he would ever change. Not wanting to tell the story, I'd advise anyone who enjoys these wonderful books, to read Series from Book 1 to end of Book 3. Great Series and more great books from Beverly Lewis. What I also like as in other Christian authors too, they bring the Word of God into their books and it's a great witness for Christ and the Glory goes to Him. A lovely way to bring the Message to people. Excellent book & series of Nellis Fisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Forbidden, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Forbidden, The Courship of Nellie Fisher #2.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loretta Langdon
I bought this book as a gift for my mom. She reads them in less than a day or two. She can't put them down. She loves the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wanda Richards
This book only took me two days to read, I enjoyed it so much I didn't want to put it down.Please make sure you get all three books in this series because you will want to read them all. They are that good. I sincerely love every book this author has written. I hope she writes a lot more. Wanda in Idaho
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jerry Valley
Good series, easy reading and enjoyable. I love knowing more about the Amish and their ways.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Alongi
Another Beverly Lewis winner! I could not put this book down........read it in one night. This is very customary of Beverly Lewis' books. They just don't hit the store fast enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Alongi
Another Beverly Lewis winner! I could not put this book down........read it in one night. This is very customary of Beverly Lewis' books. They just don't hit the store fast enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Christine Simcisko
I loved this book and the 1st one in this series. The study is fiction but it is based on real facts about the Amish community in the 1960's in Pennsylvania. I haven't read Beverly Lewis's books in while and I can hardly wait for the next one to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elsie Fitzpatrick
this series for very good and makes you want to know more about the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammie Hicks
The Forbidden holds you captured, not wanting to put the book down. There are lots of surprises throughout the book. By the time your finished with it your wanting book #3. Lot's of reasons for smiles and brings tears to the eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terissa Mckinney
I love reading Beverly Lewis' books!!! She tells of family and love for one another and their search for God and a relationship with Him. I have always wondered about the Amish and Beverly has answered every question in her writings. I highly recommend her books. She is the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kellie Holsey
Once I start a book I have to finish it even if it is slow moving. It was the the second book that left me wishing I read something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roberta Vining
I really enjoyed reading this book. I can hardly wait to receive the last book in the series. I have ordered it. Thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heather
I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down once I started! I can't wait until the next one comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
I didn't like The Parting as well as I have liked Beverly Lewis's other books, so I didn't plan on liking The Forbidden. But I did like it! I can hardly wait for the next one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Danna Hyatt
Bev Lewis has won me over and I can't wait for the next in this series. Bev writes with such detail and vibrant word usage that you feel like you are reading a letter from home. In this story she weaves the lives of so many together in faith. This, of all her stories has more people coming to a personal relationship with Jesus, the one who really transforms their hearts and brings them into saving grace by faith and their struggles to keep their family together. I live in Lancaster county and see the people all around me and now I have a glimpse into their world through Bev's stories. She leaves us wondering about Caleb and Nellie Mae like Romeo and Juliet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Forbidden, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kay Gunter
I am a big fan of Beverly Lewis and enjoy all her books. I especially enjoy the Amish stories because I admire them tremendously. She keeps your interest from cover to cover. I anxiously await the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.