Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vision Video The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD

Vision Video The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD

Called to serve the desperate teens of New York's gang-ridden, drug-infested streets, young country preacher David Wilkerson started one of America's most successful drug rehab programs. Countless souls have since been saved, proving that nothing can stand in the way of God's grace. Starring Erik Estrada and Pat Boone, this edition features DVD extras, including Nicky Cruz's testimony. Approx. 105 minutes.

Special Features:

  • English, Spanish, Portuguese, Russsian, French, Italian, German and Polish language tracks with or without English subtitles
  • Biographical information on actors, director's commentary, testimony, and a look back on the making of the film and its impact
  • Chapter titles provided for easy scene access

Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 out of 1060%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Review 1 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It Should be rated pg-13!!

Date:November 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
GINGER MULL
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not watch the entire movie because of the sexuality part. We had to take the movie out. We are not desensitized I suppose. I did not like Seeing hookers acting sexually and it was very inappropriate for a Christian movie. The woman kept licking her lips trying to get the pastor seduced and then it gets worse. They go inside the place where another hooker was dressed inappropriately, couples kissing smoking, etc. I wish they could have kept out those parts. I could not keep watching with all that in it. This is the kind of movie I would expect to see in Hollywood (just from the bad parts I saw) I liked the part where he took off his shoes and gave them to the boy who needed new shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Denise
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The DVD sticks a bunch of times. I got frustrated and just turned it off - I wasn't even through a 1/4 of the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This movie is good.

Date:June 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leonor
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is very good. You can see how God can change the persons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Message is awesome

Date:February 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
somebozo
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story of a Man called by God to go into the depths of NY and work with gangs what a powerfull message. To be obedient even when danger and fear are present. The 60's-70's Disco music and acting made it a little tough to get through. This would be a great movie to remake.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring true story!

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
ruthiehope
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I personally would give this all 5 stars as I So appreciate this true story, and his continued walk in the streets to this day! However, I rated it less because my teenage kids were distracted due to the fact that it was an older made film; plus they didn't really understand the history of gangs and rumbles, so we had to stop to discuss this a bit. It is very tastfully done, so don't take what I just said wrong - they just thought rumbles weren't realistic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:Myerstown,PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The book is much better. It explains the background of the setting much better and all the happenings in between that make the story. If I hadn't read the book, the movie would have left a very vague picture of what really happened. Read the book!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWSOME a MUST WATCH !!

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terri Favreau
Location:Plattsburgh, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is riviting, it shows how one man CAN make a difference in the lives of so many people. Our church watched this movie at evening service , I was not able to attend, so I bought my own. I am so glad I did , now I have it to lend to others so they can see what David Wilkerson went through to spread the word of God & help save Niki Cruz from his own distruction. This man was a true Christian & never gave up, even when faced with unthinkable odds. David Wilkerson was killed in an automobile accident on April 24 ? 2011. He was in his 80's. I am not sure of the specific date of death but know it was April. We prayed for him at our service. He was a true man of God. This is a fantastic movie , that actually was never meant to be, it was based on interviews with David Wilkerson. He was still spreading the word of God until the day God took him home. I will watch this movie again, just in case I missed something the first time. It is set back in the very early seventies. Might be harder for younger teens to grasp, but its the same as now , just an earlier time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
tilly
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it, it had many issues that are still very relevant today.. maybe even more so then when it was originaly released.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exspiring

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Glory to Glory
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Movie was very touching and encouraging David Wilerson was very brave in Christ and stepped out to sling down a BIG problem in a tough city. It shows that God does the immpossible as we trust and walk in faith!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing for any age

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dorothy
Location:Midland, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gripping! Could be showed to inmates in a jail and keep their attention. When God moves, it can shock and amaze us! Excellent evangelical message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeff
I watched it immediately and it was all I remembered! I then loaned it to a young man who was impacted by it. The clothes and styles are '70's, the message is timeless! Jesus provides healing and and hope for hurting people. The additional features the DVD adds are must-see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Maritza Ferrer
wow tremendous testimony,may the lord keep opens eyes and hearts thru this DVD, very inspirational and touchy!!!love it, all the glory to our almighty God!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila Landis
A great and powerful moving true story but was a little graphic in violence and drug use for young viewers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cindy Kelly
Good movie. This is a gift for my aunt who gave me the book to read. Erik Estrada and Pat Boone are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Charity Johns
I didn't care for this movie at all. The message was good, but really bad acting, and very outdated I thought. I didn't realize it was back in the 60's or 70's type of scene when I purchased it. I didn't throw it away, it still has a good message so I gave it to my mom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dee Or Chris Nazer
The world today could use the faith that this Pastor had. His belief in Jesus and the power he has is lacking all to often today. Teens can still be reached the very same way today if someone would just take the time to care. An excellent movie. Every family should watch this movie especially those with teenagers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Raymond Holmes
This is a very touching movie because it makes one think about why some people stay in areas where there is so much violence. I only regret that similar testimonies are not happening today, especially in South Oklahoma City and other cities where gangs are constantly claiming lives. Where are the people we see in this movies who reach out? One would like to say that gangs went out in the 1950's and 60's but they haven't. What's missing sre the witnesses who share the Gospel. Anyopne can make a movie or write a book; but, only a person with the mind of Christ as pictured in Philippians chapter 2 can go among the violent and hurting to bring them to Christ. It takes more than giving people the "Romans Road to Heaven" or telling them the "A, B, C's" of salvation or asking them to repeat a Sinner's Prayer. People in Gang infeted Areas honestly need to become a New Creation in Jesus Christ by being born through belieing in Jesus Christ as their Lord. Instead of of falling victim to a knife or a gun, they find salvation by the grace of God through faith that can only come from God's Holy written Word, the Bible. This movie is about one man who demonstates that fact and I highly commend his bravery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ray Tanyer
This movies is still very relevant for young people today. It is inspiring for Christians of all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Deanna Stewart
loved the movie!! I have been wanting to see this for so long. Will inspire anyone watching and bless those who need to be reminded of Gods deep love and compassion for his children
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Cross and the Switchblade, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Love it. I grew up watching it and still think it is one of the most powerful movies I've ever seen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>