Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook

Bethany House Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook

Lillian Haswell, brilliant daughter of the local apothecary, yearns for more adventure and experience than life in her father's shop and their small village provides. She also longs to know the truth behind her mother's disappearance, which villagers whisper about but her father refuses to discuss. Opportunity comes when a distant aunt offers to educate her as a lady in London. Exposed to fashionable society and romance-as well as clues about her mother-Lilly is torn when she is summoned back to her ailing father's bedside. Women are forbidden to work as apothecaries, so to save the family legacy, Lilly will have to make it appear as if her father is still making all the diagnoses and decisions. But the suspicious eyes of a scholarly physician and a competing apothecary are upon her. As they vie for village prominence, three men also vie for Lilly's heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
Review 1 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderfully woven tale...

Date:January 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was such an enjoyable read! I truly loved the characters in this book. The main character, Lilly, longs for more than what the small village of her birth can offer. She was abandoned by her mother, but she is loved and adored by her father and brother. Her Aunt and Uncle offer her the opportunity of London society, and she takes it. She finds she enjoys the life London offers, but she does occasionally miss home.
Upon getting word that her father isn't doing well, she returns home. There are several twists and turns in this book, and I enjoy being surprised. I rarely give a book with a written reviews five stars, but I truly feel this one deserved it. I highly recommend this wonderful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
mactacmary
Location:Plumas, Manitoba, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find Julie Klassen's books just spellbinding......can't put them down, once I am started......I can hardly wait for the next one!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst book I've ordered from CBC.

Date:July 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phyl
Location:Bristol, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my first experience in reading Ms. Klassen's work. I found this story to jump from one thing to another without offering a satisfactory resolution to any predicament. I had to re-read numerous paragraphs to see if I'd missed something. The characters are not well-described, and the storyline is lacking.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blessed in Texas
Location:Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this book. Enjoyed reading this book very much. The Apothecary's Daughter is an excellent Christian fiction book. I enjoyed learning about apothecary. Would give more stars if allowed. Don't miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little disappointing...

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have enjoyed many of Julie Klassen's novels, but this would not be on the top of my list. Call me a hopeless romantic, but I kinda wished she wouldn't of ended up with the man she did. If I could rewrite the story I probably would, but I suppose that I would make it so much more predictable. :P
There's almost a sense of security in thinking you know where the plot is taking you, and when you end up somewhere totally different then where you planned on going, it throws you for a loop.
It is a little slow, (my friend said she just skimmed through it) but the book is well researched and written in Julie's typical style (which is great). All in all, it's an enjoyable read. Go on, read it! How was it for you... ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book you won't want to put down

Date:March 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sqwiggles
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first book by Julie Klassen. I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters and the entire story. It wasn't completely predictable, like many books can be. I was enthralled with this book and found myself reading long into the night wanting to know what happened next. That is the sign of a great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Klassen has become one of my new favorite authors! Her books are amazing, including this one! It really kept me on my toes and had a great storyline! Probably not my favorite by her, but it is still a must read! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not my personal Julie Klassen book, but her writing, plots and characters are as solid as ever. The research that went into discovering what the apothecary trade consisted of was amazing. I truly enjoyed reading about that.
Worth reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

•°o•:*¨¨*:•. INTERESTING READ .•:*¨¨*:• o°•

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Heather Guerrero, Homeschool Mom to 2Blessings
Location:CORONA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This was a pleasant 411 page book that I finished it in 2 days, so needless to say I looked forward to what would happen next. I appreciated how the story opened up with the prologue set in 1810, while the characters were young, and then switched to about 3 years later in Ch.1, so you could see the differences from their youth to the present period of the book.
The author has shared extensive detail throughout the book regarding Apothecaries from days gone by. She visited the Worshipful Society of Apothecaries and a museum of pharmacy, plus the Beadle of Apothecaries’ Hall and the Assistant Keeper of the Museum of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain, while visiting England (as noted in her Author’s Note at the end of the book). Fair Warning: if you are squeamish, this book does go into details you may not enjoy (such as blood letting and leach use). However, if you are of a more scientific mind (medical professional, homeschool teacher, etc.) it’s fine. I am a homeschool teacher, so it did not bother me, but did make me REALLY stop and think what a different time that was and very far our medical knowledge has come! Not to mention how far ladies have come in society as far as what professions were not legal back then, but are now. I appreciated that in this book.
The main character is Lilly. She moves in and out of various parts of society, which is fun to read and glimpse into. I became attached to some characters, while other characters (villains – 1 in particular), I simply wanted to ring their necks. I guess evoking that emotion means the writer is doing a good job! ;)
I did feel the main villain never received proper justice, but “vengeance is mine, sayeth the Lord”, eh?
The author lightly weaves faith throughout the book and you can see how the different characters have or do not have relationships with God, just as in real life.
The author is a noted Jane Austen and Jane Eyre fan, so this book fits nicely into the Regency Era genre.
Things that ARE included:
*Discussion Questions for the reader to ponder or for a Book Club :)
*Author’s Notes regarding historical references and also that The Gatehouse featured on the cover is the actual Gatehouse the author pictured when writing the story. How interesting.
*Each chapter opens with a random quote the author wished to share; such as: “The apothecary’s house should [have an] inner chamber, wherein he may prudently observe through some lattice window whether his apprentices spend their time idly or faithfully…” –C.J. Thompson, Mystery and Art of the Apothecary
This is an added bonus to the book.
The author’s website is also listed: www.JulieKlassen.com, where you may view photos of places she has researched for her books, sign up for news of upcoming books, correspond with her, etc.
I recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Elegant Novel

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie Klassen has an elegant voice, perfect for this historical inspirational novel set in England. Lots of nice little “gifts” of information about the lives of apothecaries and their profession and the harsh realities of the transition to more “modern” medicine. A very unexpected pattern in the romances that her heroine has and in the final choice she makes. There are so many twists and turns that this is a novel that the reader may wish to read the book again.
Bibliotherapy components: Losses, recovering from desertion by a parent, coming of age choices, making the hard decisions in life, and discovery of unknown close relatives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great research work done in this book.

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
Location:Russell, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful book from Julie. She did great research
into this time period. Some things I didn't know myself but
have learned from her hard work. I was glad that Lily
and Francis got together and to find that Mary was Lily's
half sister. I was sorry to find Mary died near the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thomas
I read this book at the insistence of my girlfriend. I was not sure how much I would enjoy it (or if I would). I was pleasantly disappointed. The story was amazing. So in-depth. The characters were well-developed, the story flowed smoothly, and accurate historical detail just floods the book. Normally, I do not read romance (at all). However, this book just possessed so much history, that I could not put it down. I have read The Lady of Milkweed Manor, and am currently reading The Silent Governess, but the Apothecary's Daughter was definitely my favorite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2010
I slipped into Lillys world the moment I opened this book. Klassens vivid descriptions, combined with a riveting plot and a multitude of equally as intriguing subplots kept me immersed in the 19th century for the duration of the read.Lilly is both vexing and endearing. There were times when I grew vocal in my protests as I followed her escape to London, knowing that she wouldnt find what she was seeking there amongst wealth and privilege.And she kept me on edge as she developed friendships with various gentlemen. Klassen did a wonderful job of developing viable relationships that all had merit. It kept me on my toes trying to figure out who shed end up withand then worrying over it when Id made my decision before Lilly did!In fact, Klassen excels at creating memorable characters that easily carry the storyand the conflict. There were so many surprisesand one moment of stunned disbelief on my part (which had me scanning earlier pages for clues to a monumental discovery. I found them and scolded myself soundly for not noticing them the first time round!)Klassen includes fascinating details on the apothecary trade and meticulous historical details which enhances the authenticity of the time period. Definitely high on my recommended list.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
A very good book, with some reservations. It was very slow in some places, but a real page-turner toward the end. There was plenty that was left unexplained or unresolved... threads that went nowhere and detracted from what was important. The main core of the story was great, I just think there could have been pruning done. I liked The Lady of Milkweed Manor more.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2010
A very good book, with some reservations. It was very slow in some places, but a real page-turner toward the end. There was plenty that was left unexplained or unresolved... threads that went nowhere and detracted from what was important. The main core of the story was great, I just think there could have been pruning done. I liked The Lady of Milkweed Manor more.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emilee
I really enjoyed this book! Great historical content! Awesome characters! I will definatly read more of Klassen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
BK
This is an excellent book. The writer reminds me of Blackwell. I can hardly wait to read more of her books.The only problem I had with this book is that I bought it new and when I received it , it looked like it had been read 10 times!!! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction. One of the best that I have read!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tracy Meriweather
Loved the Jane Austen style of writing. Wonderful, fascinating book. Loved the history of pharmacy yet so romantic too. Klassen is my new favorite author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Klassen is an excellent writer!! I finished this book in just a few days, it was so well written. You get lost in the era and feel you're there with them and are at a loss as to which choices should be made at times. The beginning & the end are just great! I look forward to getting Klassens next book!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Apothecary's Daughter, The - eBook
This review is fromThe Apothecary's Daughter.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Staci Horton
I really enjoyed "The Apothecary's Daughter". Julie's research into the all ways that Apothecaries helped the common man is interesting and confirming to read. To realize that at one time everyone went to the "pharmacist" for the cure instead of running to a doctor was a great idea to explore in a book. Doctors were just beginning their trade and researching how to treat patients. They, the doctors, were the underdogs to the apothecaries who already knew which medicine each patient needed. And now the doctors are the top dogs of the medical world and it may make you wonder why. We see the switch in roles just as Lilly experiences it. Apothecaries down graded to a doctor's assistant when just one year earlier a doctor wasn't even visited by the common man! Julie shows us just how far we have come in our views of medicine! Whether the current view is right, the author leaves the choice to you.The characters are reminiscent of "Wives and Daughters" with a captivating storytelling that pulls you into their lives. I always start with the end in mind, but this end had so many new twists even I was surprised and delighted.It was a great read and I have recommended it to many of my friends and family already.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>