Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Beyond This Moment - eBook

Bethany House Beyond This Moment - eBook

Dismissed from the university where she served as Professor of Romantic Languages, Dr. Molly Whitcomb travels west to start over in the secluded mountain town of Timber Ridge, Colorado, where she'll be teaching children. Her train stops in Denver, and on a whim, Molly purchases a wedding band; an attempt to cover a mistake, but also a chance at a fresh start.

Sheriff James McPherson was eager to hire a schoolteacher, but Dr. Molly Whitcomb isn't what he expected. His instincts about people, which rarely miss the mark, tell him she's hiding something. And when Molly's secret is revealed, her reinvented life begins to unravel. What's more, she risks losing her newfound relationship with the sheriff and her renewed faith in God.

Average Customer Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Review 1 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very enjoyable

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:San Jose CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
i am enjoying the authors writing style. Her style brings me right into the characters hearts. The characters are believable and the geographic landscaping makes me feel like I'm right there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Could not put thr book down

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bosun
Location:Upper Tantallon NS Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, captivating, all characters really came alive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light reading.

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janet Mcgee
Location:Southern California
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It held my interest. Was rather predictable but a fun book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:June 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely fell in love with Molly. Perhaps it's because I also teach a one-room school, but also because she was very real with struggles rather than being the "perfect" heroine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:October 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leslie
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time I read Tamera Alexander. I look forward to the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good, but not my favorite

Date:October 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marbie
Location:The Netherlands
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really love Tamera's writing and I can say I'm a real fan, but this book was not my favorite.
I found it difficult to love Molly. I did after some time, but it was not as easy to love this character than other people in her earlier books. I was disappointed in finding her lying. I knew lots of people would get hurt by it and I didn't like to see James get hurt. I loved his character in the first book in this series, so I was looking forward to read this story.
Normally I read Tamera's books in 1 or 2 days, but this one took me almost 2 weeks to get through.
It took me some time, but I'm glad I read it, but I'm pretty sure I won't reread it.
Looking forward to the next book that sounds very promising!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2010
The characters are so real and the descriptions of the land and people help to make the story live. Thanks for writing good Christian fiction that includes the gospel and Christian growth. Also, how people can live their faith to influence others for Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Another absolutely great book by Tamera Alexander! We see the second book in this great series with Dr. Molly and her secrets! Sheriff James is such a great man, too! I love the story line and all that happens from beginning to end. You have to get this and the first one, and soon the third one will come too!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorissa
I loved this book even more than book 1 in this series. You really get invested in the characters and their stories. I love Tamera Alexander. She is a wonderful author, I have almost all the books she has written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Constance
Awesome book! I would recommend it very highly for teen girls. Makes you think about the consequences of premarital sex. Fortunately for the heroine in the book, the hero was just that, a hero.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah
Ever keep a secret? I don't mean one someone has told you and asked you not to tell. I'm talking about your own secret. One that snowballs into a life of deception and shakes your world at it's core.Secrets may seem harmless enough at first, as Molly thought. You may be tempted to believe that in keeping such a secret you will be protecting others and no one will get hurt. I can pretty much promise you that someone definitely will. More than likey, more than one someones. Most likely, You.Molly will tell you. She headed West with a secret she thought she could keep to herself. Then, realized in order to keep this secret she would have to lie. A little lie seemed so harmless, until she had to start living that lie. Cue heartbreak.Molly learned that God is big enough to handle our secrets, our deceptive hearts, and every heartache. He makes all things new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2009
I absolutely could not put this book down. The characters and situations are so true to life that you feel very much a part of them. I cannot wait for the next book to come out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa Richardson
Dr. Molly Whitcomb, professor of Romance Languages at Franklin College is forced from the only life she's ever aspired to, after a devastating mistake. Packing up her pride along with her beloved books, she leaves to teach school in Timber Falls, a little town in the heart of the Colorado Rockies. There she meets Sheriff James McPherson who shows her the beauty to be found in her new lifestyle. Everything begins to unravel as the web of deception she has used to protect herself begins to fray. My biggest complaint about the book is that it ended too soon. I simply wasn't ready to let go of Molly and James. Ms. Alexander is a master of her craft. She keeps you flipping the pages avidly, even when you're not certain you want to know what happens next. Definitely Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Clements
This was an excellent book. I honestly can't wait until the next one comes out. It's definitely true to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Everyone needs a fresh start sometimes, and Dr. Molly Whitcomb is no exception. Mollys new beginning includes a move west with a job as a schoolteacher in Colorado Territory in 1876. She is not the average schoolmarm, Molly is a woman of many talents, a Professor of Romance Languages, and has more than one secret hiding in her heart.Sheriff James McPherson has a secret or two of his own, and finds himself intrigued with Timber Ridges newest citizen. He is a keen judge of character, and while Mollys behavior and manner with others seems above reproach, something just doesnt seem right.Molly must overcome several obstacles to win the approval of some of the residents, but she appears to do so with flying colors. As friendships between Molly and McPherson, his family, and other residents blossom, things get more complicated. Dr. Whitcombs conscience and rekindled faith is a force to be reckoned with. Molly unwittingly jeopardizes McPhersons reputation and future as sheriff.Will Molly be forced to leave Timber Ridge? Will her past forever haunt her? Tamera Alexander weaves a rich tale of a woman facing choices and consequences, redemption, and new beginnings. Anyone who enjoys historical fiction will enjoy Mollys story in this picturesque setting. I was hooked from the beginning and had trouble putting it down, but was sorry when the story was over. I hope Ms. Alexander continues this series I for one, will be sure to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tamera Lynn Kraft
"Beyond This Moment" is a compelling story that tells the cost of deception and how God can cause the truth to bring redemption and forgiveness.Doctor Molly Whitcomb has secured a teaching job in Timber Ridge, Colorado. But she is really escaping a mistake she's made that will follow her to the growing frontier town. Molly is pregnant and has never been married. She desperately wants to put the past behind her and decides a small deception, saying she's a widow, will help her do it. But she has second thoughts as her feelings grow for the straight-shooting, honest Sheriff James McPherson. James grows more fond of Molly with each day that passes. But his integrity is challenged when he finds that Molly has been keeping her preganacy a secret. He suspects she's hiding more than the child. But he's keeping a secret of his own, one that threatens to tear apart their budding relationship.This love story takes place against the backdrop of a town dealing with thier prejudices against immigrants and freed black slaves and their self-righteous views on right and wrong. I highly recommend this novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
Dr. Molly Whitcomb, Professor of Romance Languages, arrives in Timber Ridge needing to start a new life. As the new teacher, she's quickly embraced by most of the town, particularly the handsome and principled sheriff, James McPherson. But Molly has a secret, and the longer she keeps it to herself, the higher the price she'll pay when it becomes known to everyone.Ms. Alexander has woven an enthralling tale of life in the Colorado Territory. This is the old west as few people have seen it. It's a land of sweeping mountain vistas and breathtaking beauty. And it's a land that sees the inevitable encroachment of modernization and the march of progress. A sub-plot about the Italian immigrants who have moved into the area and the way they are looked at by the locals is a fresh and timely topic for today, even in the historical setting.In Molly and James, we have a tale as old as time; two people who find themselves falling hopelessly in love, even though they both believe they are meant to live their lives alone. As we find out more about these two, we can't help but cheer them on, wanting them to live happily ever after, even though the prospect is bleak.Tamara Alexander is a gifted writer, one who pulls you into the story from the first page and never lets you go. She has populated the town of Timber Ridge with a group of characters you won't soon forget, and makes you wish that there were more Timber Ridge stories to read right now!This is the second book in the Timber Ridge Reflections series. I've read them both, but I don't think it's absolutely necessary to read them chronologically. But, after you've read this one, you're going to want to read the first one, so you might as well buy them both and read them in order!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Emilee
I have read all of Tamera Alexanders books and this one was even better than the last one, if thats possible! I was curious as to how realistic this book would be because of the main characters professional role, with the time period being in the 1870s. But the characters are so "real",and so deep. I highly recomend "Beyond This Moment". I loved it! I look forward to the next book in Timber Ridge Reflections.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy
When I received this book I sat down and read it in 2 days. Tamera came through again and gave a story of forgiveness and a plot that kept you turning pages. Thank you Tamera!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beyond This Moment - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
As a historical romance author, when I want the very best in reading, I look no further than Tamara Alexander. And I am thrilled to say that Ms. Alexanders second novel in the Timber Ridge Reflection series, Beyond this Moment, was truly beyond my expectations.Easily my favorite of all Ms. Alexanders novels, which is saying something because I love them all, Beyond this Moment not only enthralls with vivid imagery and stunning prose for which Ms. Alexander is known, this particular novel, for me, captured something else. A quiet, but smoldering romantic tension that literally would not allow me to put the book down. In fact, as an author on deadline, there have been only a handful of books that have ever compelled me to put my own work aside to finish their story, but Beyond this Moment did just that. Despite the guilt I experienced at reading a book all day when I should have been writing my own, I absolutely loved this novel and am amazed at Ms. Alexanders God-given ability to craft flesh-and-blood characters in my minds eye that are sure to stay there for a long time to come. Tamera Alexander, there is no argument here you are clearly one of the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>