Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Edge of Light, The - eBook

Revell Edge of Light, The - eBook

It is the summer of 1838 in St. Lawrenceville, Missouri, and Molly McGarvie's life is about to change forever. When her beloved Samuel succumbs to cholera, Molly is heartbroken but determined to take care of herself and her children. But when Samuel's unscrupulous brother takes over the family business and leaves Molly to fend for herself, she knows she must head out on her own. It is a dangerous journey and Molly has to leave her old life behind. Somehow she must find a way to make a living, keep her family together, and fend off some over-eager suitors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Review 1 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Edge of Light

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As far as books goes this book was pleasant reading. I would not rate it as a must read but it is a wholesome way to pass the time. I am inclined to be a little more lenient with the author as this is her first novel. I will try reading another book of hers to see how her skills developes as I think she has potential.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book turned out to be quite an enjoyable read. This was one of the few books that I've read in recent months that brings out God and the way that He works in our lives to change our hearts and make us more like Christ in a very prominent way. When Molly's husband suddenly dies, she and her children are torn from their home and she is faced with leaving behind the only other adult person she cares about. I truly enjoyed the way her story ran from tragedy and defeat to just trying to survive to learning how to rely on God day to day. There were a couple of twists that I thought played out nicely throughout the plot and a couple of things that didn't work so well, but honestly those were very minor and didn't interfere with the overall story at all.
I would not hesitate to recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good easy read

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
zebrapmb
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pleasant reading with the excellent message of not missing that "still small Voice".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Andrew Wapakala
Location:Nairobi, kenya
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story line is captivating and captures your interest from start to finish.
The subtle leading by the Lord, the strength of Molly and the story of forgiveness and romance encourages the heart.
Absolutely wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I was thoroughly pleased!

Date:May 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Retta
Location:Conyers, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In all honesty, the book was very encouraging and very inspiring. I like it when an author can actually give you a mental picture and can grab your attention at the beginning of a book, and take you on a journey all the way through it, even when your heart pounds through excitement, or you cry, or you literally get mad at a fictional character!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this book was an easy read.

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
holobb
Location:Peru, Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I learned some new things about the hardships of women during that era.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pat4
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use e-reader! Appreciated the bookmarks. E-reader is great! No library run or overdue books. Could buy a book anytime!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
lucy
Location:Kinsman OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
It is very well done, keeps the reader interested. Molly shows lots of determination and strength in the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Edge of Light, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Enjoyable Read

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Shorey has done an excellent job creating a realistic picture of the hardships of life for a widow with children living during the 1800's. I appreciated the fact that Molly is struggling with a life that has not gone according to her plan, therefore she has to deal with issues of faith, forgiveness and the surrendering of her will to the Lord. Molly's struggle to provide for her family in the face of the hardships she endures combined with her eventually finding love again come together to provide an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.