Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books The Chance

Howard Books The Chance

When Ellie and Nolan were kids, they put letters they had written to each other in a metal box, buried it beneath an oak tree, and vowed to return 11 years later. Now Ellie is a poverty-stricken single mom, and Nolan is an NBA star. Will their reunion heal their hearts---and restore their faith?
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Chance
Review 1 for The Chance
This review is fromThe Chance.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's never too late to return to God

Date:May 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennie Wren
Location:Royalton, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started reading Karen Kingsbury's book in 2013 and have grown to appreciate her writing. In The Chance, she tells a story about two best friends who are about to be separated by a continent, and make a promise to meet in 11 years. They lose contact but never forget. Kingsbury weaves the thread of prayer and turning to God throughout the story and it's the power of prayer that brings several broken people back together in a divinely-planned set of circumstances.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy read

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Merridy Friederich
Location:Metamora, Il.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As always Karen Kingsbury did a excellent job. Her books are easy to read and they keep your interest so you want to keep reading. She has a story line that is down to earth and shows the human factor of life. I think I had read all of her books and can't wait for more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Chance
This review is fromThe Chance - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacy
Location:Florence, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book! Karen Kingsbury never disappoints, and this book was no exception! Always love to hear fiction with God's message of grace and forgiveness!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a beautiful story Loved it.

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mary Terry
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I love how Karen Kingsbury uses the scriptures in her story content. It is so down to earth and can apply to so many life situations. The books are the kind that you have a hard time putting down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good read

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lois
Location:Hanover, Mi.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Chance is one of the best books written by Karen Kingsbury that I've read in one setting. Just could not put the book down. It was so loving, so heartfelt, just such a good book. Knowing they loved each other for all that time, and when the 11yrs came due, they didn't forget. Oh, so very touching. I love these kind of books and only Karen can write them....thank you Karen.....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
flanders
Location:Weyburn SK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this was one of Karen Kingsbury's best books. It was hard to put it down. Have recommended it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nan Isom
Location:Clovis, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again KK has done a good job in getting the characters to come to life with situations that test their Christian views and of course God always wins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perhaps Karen Kingsbury's best book yet!!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy Vanzandt
Location:Palmdale, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure when I read the synopsis whether this book would be something I'd like; but I bought it for a friend and read it before I sent it on. All I can say is, "Wow!! What redemption! What a fantastic story of God's relentless love!"
Really, Karen, this is truly one of your VERY BEST!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy C
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A true love story on not giving up. There's hope, faith and the greatest of all, love. No matter how many years drift by, a true friendship never changes when one holds on to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review of the fiction book "Chance"

Date:April 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marilyn
Location:Pearl City, IL.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is never a disappointment in a Karen Kingsbury book!
A lasting impression of thoughts continue to remain in my mind and I often reflect over them. There are many valuable "God-working" lessons for one to ponder and then, to use those incidences learned to progressively grow in ones life attitudes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ShelbyT
Location:Monroe, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a world that has gone crazy, the reader is shown how God can work out things for our good and His glory. Forgiveness and happy endings are something that the world needs more of.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tender story of loss and love

Date:April 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A tender story of loss and love, of forgiveness and second chances, Karen Kingsbury has woven a moving tale in "The Chance ", one that brought tears to my eyes more than once. The characters are beautifully developed and their interwoven stories are soul-stirring, as they deal with heart-ache and shame and the messy reality of being human and making mistakes. But they also point towards the power of God to take what is broken and to breathe new life. While I enjoyed getting to know the main characters Ellie and Nolan, my favorite character was Ellie`s precious daughter Kinzie, a young girl who had an intuitive grasp on life, a belief that Jesus is good and his love is enough for us all. Like Karen`s other novels, I love how the characters hear God`s voice speaking clearly to them, such as prompting them to pray. It`s a beautiful portrayal of God`s loving heart and how he is still in the business of orchestrating the events around us. Probably more than any other book Karen has written, this novel portrays that truth that though the evil one sets out to destroy us and keep us mired in despair, God is bigger and stronger and loving, and shines light into the darkness. "The Chance" illustrates the tremendous power of forgiveness, not just for the one who needs forgiving, but for the one who was wronged. Ellie says it best when she teaches Kinzie that "As soon as you forgive, you're free!" There is power in those words, indeed. The ending is definitely inspiring, and though things may get wrapped up a bit too neatly for some readers, it's hard to argue with a happy ending!
Sure to appeal to her faithful fans as well as acquire a host of new ones, "The Chance" finds Karen Kingsbury still the master of "Life-Changing Fiction". I award this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Howard Books (Simon & Schuster Canada), for the purposes of this unbiased review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love The Chance!

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
living4Christ
Location:Canada, Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury is back with an inspiring novel about love and second chances! This book is about two best friends Ellie and Nolan who through unforeseen circumstances are separated for years. Kingsbury does an excellent job showing that when God has a plan for our lives no one can change or alter them. Through Ellie and Nolan relationship we can see how God uses our lives to draw us closer to himself and also to fulfill the amazing plans He has for our lives. I could not put this novel down! The characters of Ellie and Nolan felt so real and relatable that I was glued to my e-reader so I could find out if Ellie and Nolan would be reunited. Can't wait for her next book! Thanks to NetGalley for this complementary book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Chance

Date:March 28, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In The Chance Karen Kingsbury brings us back to the writing style that we’ve all come to know and love. Yes, it is a storyline that has been done before and some of the characters are larger than life and way above reproach. Do they have flaws? Maybe, but they are few and far between.
The truth is that none of that matters. In The Chance we are taken on a journey through some seemingly impossible situations and in the end God provides a way. We are reminded that our good intentions often have not so good motives. Our righteous indignation is just that . . . ours. We use God to get others to act according to our thinking instead of seeking His wisdom in our own actions.
I enjoyed the premise of young love and the hope that it could become more than that someday. I thought that Nolan was a wonderful depiction of Christ’s love for us in the way he accepted and loved Ellie. Ellie’s parents’ story is proof that forgiveness is powerful for all involved.
A fun aspect of the book was getting to catch up with Molly and Ryan from The Bridge. I am enjoying this new non series that Karen has put together. I like the aspect of returning characters that pop up in future books. It is refreshing after a long drawn out series of series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fascinating read

Date:March 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicola1
Location:Merritt BC Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again we are surprised by a story that draws you in to the life of the characters. Karen Kingsbury has a unique ability to make the characters real and human.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
mimi
Location:Oviedo, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an awsesome book. I pray that those who read this see an increase in their faith in God. So many need to let go and let God. She is a wonderful author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well written main characters

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is another great book by author Karen Kingsbury. She is known for her series about the Baxter family. If you have not read any of her other books though this one would be a great one to start with. It does have a couple characters from one of her books called The Bridge. You do not have to read that book to enjoy this one.
I gave this book 4/5 stars as I had positives as well as negatives about this book. On the positive side the two main characters, Ellie and Nolan, were well written and their relationship was believable. I also thought the story of how they part and reunite was interesting. On the negative side there was a bit of jumping around between what was happening now and what had happened over the past years. There was also a few other characters that played important parts and reading their thoughts made for a lot of introspection and not enough conversation. There is also the relationship of Ellie and her daughter. How Ellie talks to her and opens up about her life just was not believable. I thought the author should have given Ellie a friend to talk to about the issues not a very young girl. It just was not something I think you would see in real life. All that said I felt the ending was perfect for the situation and all will enjoy the story!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Emotional Trauma, Friendship, Healing and Romance

Date:March 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karen Kingsbury in her new book, "The Chance" published by Howard Books takes us into the lives of Ellie Tucker and Nolan Cook.
From the back cover: The day before a teenage Ellie moved from Georgia to California, she and her best friend Nolan sat beneath the Spanish moss of an ancient oak tree where they wrote letters to each other and buried them in a rusty old metal box. The plan was to return eleven years later, dig the box up, and read the letters. But now, as that date approaches, much has changed. Ellie has abandoned the faith she grew up with, her days consumed with loving her little girl and trying to make ends meet. Sometimes she watches TV to catch a glimpse of her old friend Nolan, now an NBA star, whose faith is known by the entire nation. But few know that Nolan's own personal tragedies have fueled both his faith and athletic drive. Despite his success, Nolan is isolated and lonely, plagued by a void in his heart that has remained since that night beneath the old oak tree with Ellie. For both Ellie and Nolan, the coming date is more than just a childhood promise. It's the chance to make sense of it all--the chance to find out if it's ever too late to find love again.
Karen Kingsbury weaves a moving tale of heart-wrenching loss, the power of faith, and the wounds that only a forever kind of love can heal. She delves deeply into a theme that resonates within us all: Hope lives for those willing to take a chance.
It is not that often that we get to have a do-over, a second chance when we blew the first chance completely. Karen Kingsbury has given us a story where Ellie and Nolan get just that; a second chance. But it is more than that. Ellie has changed, given up her very beliefs because of the trauma that life has given her. Nolan is a superstar but he is lonely. Now God gives them one more opportunity to replace that which they have given up and have this one do-over. "The Chance" is one inspiring, romantic book. Issues of faith, emotional healing, dealing with trauma and loss and love fill the pages. Ms. Kingsbury has given us a great ride in this book and she has provided us with wonderful characters that we rally around and root for.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Power of the Second Chance!

Date:March 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ah, the second chance. Why is it that novels that stress that theme just seem to resonate for so many of us? Maybe it’s because we all know that we need them, right- a second chance, or in my case, third and fourth chances as well. You know what I mean- a second chance on a relationship that you thought was long over, or a chance to have a do-over on a job you messed up pretty well the first time. We are human, we are fallible and we all need a second chance. So if you take the concept of the second chance, throw in a large measure of forgiveness, grace and faith in God, you have the story line for The Chance - Karen Kingsbury’s latest offering from Howard Books.
As the novel opens we meet the 2 main characters Nolan Cook and Ellie Tucker living in Savannah, Georgia-. Two 15 year old best friends, on the verge of being something more, are torn apart by the broken relationship of Ellies’ parents Alan and Caroline. Because of this broken relationship, Alan takes Ellie away to San Diego to a new job and what he is hoping for is a new life away from his wife. That doesn’t go so well as when we try to run away, our troubles usually follow us. On the night before Ellie is whisked away from Nolan and her mother, Nolan and Ellie meet in the park, their usual place to go and talk and decide to write each other a letter telling each other how they really feel about one another and bury it in an old tackle box. The plan was to return in 11 years, dig up the box and read what the other person wrote. Neither one thought that they would be separated from each other for that time period. Even with Ellie’s move, they could write each other, call each other, etc. Unfortunately through some unforeseen circumstances, they were separated for that long, but still in the back of their minds was returning to that tree as promised all those years ago.
Their lives each took very different directions- Nolan’s in the world of professional basketball living out the dream he had had for himself for many, many years. And Ellie, her journey was the complete opposite- she didn’t reach the dreams that she had for herself, which included writing the perfect novel and being a part of Nolan’s life. His faith had grown, hers had shrunk. How could this work out?
This story, as most of Karen Kingsbury’s stories do, resonated with me. I love the second chance- the beauty from ashes story lines. They just always make me want to stand up and cheer. This one did as well. The heart string pull was pretty strong for me and I appreciated the journey this novel takes you on. When God is allowed in the middle of relationships, there is forgiveness, grace and restoration. And this is portrayed beautifully in several of the story lines. So if you feel like reading a novel that makes you stand up and cheer both at the basketball portions as well as the relationship journeys, I recommend you pick up Karen Kingsbury’s novel The Chance.
4 stars
I was provided a complimentary copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Chance
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a touching novel of forgiveness and reconciliation

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great novel. This is what Christian fiction is all about!
Ellie and Nolan have been best friends since grade school. When Ellie is fifteen, it comes out that her mother has been having an affair and is pregnant with another man's child. Ellie's father, a legalistic Christian, throws his wife out. He takes a military reassignment across the country and tells Ellie they are leaving in a day.
Ellie and Nolan meet one last time, write letters to each other, bury them in a park and vow to meet again in eleven years. What follows are years of heartbreak and pain. Ellie never hears from her mother – not even a letter. And, even though Ellie has written to Nolan, he never responds.
After several years, Ellie, desiring love, reaches out to a young military man. When she becomes pregnant, she can no longer take her father's harsh words and leaves. She is making her way as a single mom, now estranged from both her parents. And Nolan, what about Nolan? He is a successful NBA star. Does he ever think about her? She thinks about him every day.
Angry at God, Ellie is resigned to her future. But God has other plans.
This is what Christian fiction is all about. It is about how God works in the lives of those who love Him. It is about forgiveness and restoration, even when it seems all is lost. It is about hope in the midst of a hopeless situation. It is about God loving us even when we have given up believing it is so.
There are some serious issues Kingsbury addresses in this novel. One is legalism. Ellie's father is very legalistic and alienates his wife and daughter when they fail to live up to his godly standard. Other issues include infidelity, pregnancy outside of marriage, and more. Kingsbury has given us much to think about in this novel.
Be sure and have a tissue handy when you get close to the end of this touching novel.
By the way, those who read The Bridge will be happy to read a bit about Ryan and Molly in this novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>