Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abingdon Press The Backward Christmas Pageant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Abingdon Press The Backward Christmas Pageant

How can you tell the story of the nativity so that people feel they're hearing it for the first time? How about backwards! In this innovative pageant, Hartin shows that God's gift of his Son's birth transcends the arrow of time---and changes everything. Includes reproducible script, songs, audio CD, and more. Grades K to 6. 56 pages, spiralbound softcover from Abingdon.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Review 1 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

extremely modern day

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
kprice1499
Location:Lawrenceburg, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This play was entirely too modern. The shephards practically ignore the angel, joseph recieves a fedEx package, and one of the wisemen carry a soccer ball instead of myrh to baby Jesus. I was ashamed to tell my pastor I had purchased this play. I believe for a play with kids it's ok to throw a couple of jokes in, but the Christmas story still needs to be taken seriously. And this version was not taken seriously at all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nicely organized and great songs!!

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kym Kirk
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a huge hit this year! The only warning is that it advertises that only 2 rehearsals are needed. I recommend 6 - 8 so the kids are comfortable!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
berta
Location:St. Paul, Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I liked the fact that everything is so well laid out and that a CD with all the music comes with it. We found that this program was longer than what we normally do with our 1st-5th graders. I did like the concept of doing the story backwards.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This pageant looks like a lot of fun

Date:October 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
centralcml
Location:Cambridge, ON
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The concept is great, and is well laid out.
My only criticism at this point is about Mary's meeting with the angel. She asks "Are you sure you're not looking for my husband?" Mary and Joseph weren't married yet. It is so important that we don't sacrifice the truth for the sake of a joke. The set up of the whole scene with Mary and Joseph implies they're living together, before she meets the angel. I'll be adapting this part of the play to more accurately reflect what we know from scripture. It only means a change of a line or two.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Yolanda Medina
I really loved the affordability of this product because we are a small church. The play itself is fast moving and entertaining.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Angela Angel
This Christmas pagent reads very well. It is a great fresh way to look at the Christmas story. I am looking forward to using this program this year. We have a few children adn this will adapt well for them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Keil
Wow!!!! This pageant was great, we used it as part of our Church's "re-branding" of the Sunday School. Everything went off without a hitch only, I would recommend AT LEAST 5 TWO HOUR Rehearsals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Backward Christmas Pageant
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Patricia Austin
Cute and easy to use. The church loved it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.