Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Books 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook

Baker Books 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook

Does the pressure of the world feel overwhelming? Remembering the great men and women of the past---including Charles Spurgeon, Dwight Moody, Amy Carmichael, and Fanny Crosby---will inspire you to renewed strength and purpose. Combines Wiersbe's Living with the Giants with Victorious Christians You Should Know, plus a new preface and two new biographies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
30 out of 3197%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Review 1 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sparks interest for further study

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
teaching4
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to read with my kids as part of our Bible time. We cover one person each week. Some weeks have been very dry and difficult to read through. We like the biographies that include family information and growing up information. It is also interesting to see how the paths crossed for many of these people.
My children are 4th-7th grade. Based on each of their personalities is how they react to the stories. It gives us great examples we can learn from. We can learn from these Christians about how we should pursue Godly choices and a Godly life.
I think the price here on CBD is really good too, so bonus!
I gave it a 4 based on the biographies that are really difficult to read through because there isn't much information to build them up to a relatable character. 5 stars on the fun to read people.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great way to see our ancesters faith

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Frenchy
Location:Peabody Ma.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warren Wiersbe's review of our great Christian giants of the past brings great insight to our faith in dealing with today's problems.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Do yourself a favor and read this book

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andres
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very inspiring book, it opens your eyes to how true Christians should be.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wolfman
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Book this is one that should be read by all !!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Reference and Enjoyable Reading

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
AllenR
Location:Thornton, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I have, for many years, enjoyed Warren Wiersbe's warm and easy to follow writing style. "50 People Every Christian Should Know," is another in a long line of great books by Wiersbe. This book makes a great reference source for key individuals of church history. The chapters devoted to each person are only about 8 to 12 pages or so and can easily be read in one setting. A chapter can easily be read as a suplement to a daily devotional time. My only criticism of the book would be that there are a lot of key people ommitted. He incudes several individuals that are minor when compared with many he did not indlude. I understand that his intent was not to write an exhaustive work, but still it seems a bit unbalanced in favor or the slightly lesser known to the expense of some of the greater contributers of church history over the last few hundred years.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
servant of Chist
Location:gosport, indana
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i am on the 16th person in the book and i love it. i really enjoy reading about people who gave there all for God. if you like heroes this book is for you. these people are heroes of the faith. i wish there was a little bit more of information on each person. i think the author does a relatively good job on letting the people talk for themselves instead of add his own ideas. i think that is important. i think Evan Roberts should have been one of the 50 people. Not to many people know about him and the welsh revival that lead to revivals all over the world made even azura street.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love to learn about the people of our faith.

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kimmy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Will take some time to read....slow but sure. Enjoy picking it up when the days slow down and I need some quiet time. Looking forward to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this is a great intro to missions

Date:November 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
shay
Location:Deland, Flordia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really enjoyed reading this book. I would have enjoyed it better if the author would have added pictures of each missionary. I have read enough to decide what misionary I wanted to read more of. I wish parents would read this to their children.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great encouragement

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Psmarjiefam
Location:new zealand
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to be able to see faith standing the test of time. God is faithful to every generation, it is great encouragement to see that lived out in people's lives.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has a good historical perspective.

Date:September 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susanna
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
In this book, the background of many persons are considered. Their lives amongst the "great cloud of witnesses" gave added testimony to strengthen my faith!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
TWP1
Location:Bradford, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very interesting. However, it was a little different than I expected. The entries were more lengthy than expected, and the references to other works, that are sometimes out of print, is cumbersome.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christians need this view of history!

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
gabrielle haynes
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Modern Christians often forget "those who came before." This timely book is an encouragement to today's believers to live sold out to Christ--advancing His kingdom and not our own. Easy to read, easy to pick up and read a few chapters.
Good references to further reading at the end of each chapter. Should be on the shelf of every believer!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helen Smith
Location:Berkley, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book contains mini biographies of many of the greats of the Christian faith. We got this to give as a gift!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:Jerusalem - Israel
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book to read in installments. Very good and very informative. Amazing to see again and again how people are called to serve God and yet are not immune to the pains of life. Makes me humble!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take a new look at Christian Biography!

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mamsy
Location:Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have never read much Christian biography but can truly recommend "50 People Every Christian Should Know". Wiersbe has done an outstanding job of making these saints' lives come alive, each in a single chapter. I particularly appreciate the listing of additional books on each person's life. I look forward to reading more biographies.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wilk
Location:MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring and easy to read. This is great as devotion accompaniment or as just good reading. It is ideal to pick up and read a chapter or read for long periods of time. Take it with you!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very encouraging

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Ho
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great book to read if you want to be inspired! The chapters are short so you can read about some of the Heros of faith in just a few minutes each day. Good gift book too!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book is a great reference features

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Mcclure
Location:Branford, Fl
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is excellent for preachers just starting out their services to the Lord. Providing references to Books that have been written about great religious men & women that have gone before.
However. if your looking for in depth biography in this book you will be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring, humbling, fascinating.

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gretchen
Location:Mesa, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent array of the contributions of the movers and shakers in church history (especially English and American). Each mini-biography includes a review of most of the works for each"spiritual giant" which can help target your further reading. It would take a lifetime to read all of Wiersbe's "must reads", but he'll convict you to try!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 People Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Spiritual Giants of the Faith - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very inspiring book

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
fran
Location:Bellevue, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone should read this to be encouraged. Knowing what is in our heritage as Christians is always a good thing.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>