Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Passion Denied, A - eBook

Revell Passion Denied, A - eBook

Young Elizabeth O'Connor is the little sister John Brady always longed for. But she wants much more than that from her spiritual mentor. As she blossoms into a beautiful young woman intent on loving John, he must push back the very real attraction he feels for her. His past just won't let him go there. Unfortunately, Lizzie won't let him go anywhere else--until she discovers he is not all that he seems. Can true love survive such revelations?
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 out of 4298%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Review 1 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great book from Julie Lessman!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
BookLover
Location:Belington, WV
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading A Passion Most Pure and A Passion Redeemed I was very excited to read this book! I loved Brady, from Collin and Faith’s book, and Beth (who now goes by Lizzie) was so sweet. It’s fun to see her all grown up and learning what it means to be an adult.
Lizzie has loved Brady almost since she met him. For her teen years he was her spiritual mentor, someone she looked up to, and idolized. He was her “ideal” man and she fancied herself in love with him, especially after reading Jane Austen’s books about “true love.” The question is: what are you supposed to do when the man you love, won’t love you back? But Lizzie doesn’t let this hold her back, instead she does her best to change his mind.
Brady is determined to remain a bachelor all his life and refuses to even consider a relationship with anyone, much less his “little sister” as he still sees Lizzie. He even still calls her “Beth,” which drives her crazy. He tries to continue mentoring her, but finds his affections changing and can’t allow that.
I loved having Collin, Faith, Charity and Mitch back, continuing their stories, even as we read Lizzie’s. Collin’s point of view adds depth and understanding to Brady. We see him through the eyes of his best friend. I also love the new character added, Cluny. He was so cute!
My only complaint is that it sometimes seemed a little repetitious at times. Brady and Lizzie seemed to have the same argument every couple chapters for the first little while. Then they would move on, but would occasionally revisit that disagreement, again.
Watching Brady overcome his fear and guilt, may have been my favorite part. I was rooting for him all the way and kept wanting to slap him when he would backslide or push Lizzie away. He, like Charity and Mitch, had to learn what it means to be redeemed by God. Brady continued to punish himself, even though God had forgiven him. I wanted to jump and yell “yes!” when he finally got it! You know it’s a great book when the characters can bring out such strong emotions in you!
I also really enjoyed watching Lizzie grow and come to understand what true love is. It’s loving someone no matter what. Her love for Brady had boundaries and when he disappointed her, she had to accept that he would hurt her sometimes. It wouldn’t be intentional, but he’s human. She had forgotten that God loves us endlessly and His forgiveness is infinite. He requires the same of us, that we love with His love and always forgive.
The ending was great! I love how Julie brought it all together in the end!
While this is the last book in the Daughters of Boston series, it is not the last of the O’Connors! If you loved these books, then you will also love Julie’s Winds of Change series, where we pick up the O’Connors story again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WHAT A ROLLER COASTER RIDE!!!!!!!!

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
BonTon
Location:Mt. Washington, Ky.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A Passion Denied" is the story of Elizabeth O'Connor, and her quest for the love of John Brady, whose secrets from a painful past threaten to destroy a friendship, keep him from loving her - and kept this reader on the edge of her seat!!
"A Passion Denied" - set in 1922 Boston - is third in the Daughters of Boston trilogy, by award-winning author Julie Lessman, and is followed by the Winds of Change trilogy - each book, a story of a member of the O'Connor family.
Julie Lessman pulls "all her guns" out in this story of romance, family, true love, betrayal, guilt, deceit, forgiveness, and redemption. She is a master at unexpected story "twists-and-turns", description, realistic characters with whom you hate to part, passion and angst, emotion that has you laughing one minute and crying the next, and happy endings.
A love for God and following His will for one's life is a central theme in Julie's books. Each book I read becomes my "new" favorite, and leaves me with sadness that the book has ended, joyful anticipation for the next one, and a spiritual warmth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Probably my fav of the Daughters of Boston!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
gatorade635
Location:Midland, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok I'm pretty sure this is my favorite book in this series! From the first time we met Elizabeth O'Conner in A Passion Most Pure I knew I was going to love her since I could identify with her shy quietness and her love of books. And I also loved Brady as soon as he came on the scene being Collin's friend and helping lead Him to God. So needless to say I could not wait to see how their story would play out!
I think one of my favorite things about this book was the fact that both Brady and Lizzie had a passion for God from the beginning and they both strove to honor Him with all that they did. I loved how close Brady's relationship with God was, how he lived it out all the time, and how he seemed to be constantly drawing others to Him. Brady is just one of the very best heroes ever written and I actually cried when he thought he had done something awful when he was younger because he was just that close to God that the thought of his sin crushed him. Ok I better stop but I really could go on about Brady for quite awhile!
Lizzie, she is so innocent, sweet, and kind that you really just can't help loving her. My heart broke for her as she dealt with rejection from Brady and then the pain of some truly awful discoveries. But through it all she still remained the Lizzie we knew and loved with a few moments of Irish temper thrown in.
Once again the secondary cast of characters was amazing! I loved Father Mac and his unique ability to mix being a priest and a friend. And Cluny McGee was such fun especially with knowing how he was going to grow up! And of course the O'Conners, McGuires, and Dennehys were fantastic!
Like Julie Lessman books often do this book made me cry at some points and at others left me with a huge grin splitting my face! So in short it was simply amazing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to the Daughters of Boston trilogy

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Passion Denied, the final book in the Daughters of Boston trilogy, is full of angst, misunderstandings, passion, love, and so much more! The main story revolves around Beth, who now goes by Lizzie, and the man she has loved since she was thirteen, John Brady. Beth has built John up in her mind to be a prince charming. While it is true that John is a man devoted to God, he has been too scared and ashamed to tell anyone about his past. This hinders any possible relationship that he could develop with Lizzie and opens the door to his twin brother Michael and his attempts to woo Lizzie for himself.
There is also an extremely interesting side story concerning Lizzie's parents, Marcy and Patrick. We learn some interesting details about their beginnings. Although painful truths are learned that have the ability to tear apart a long-standing marriage, I found myself intrigued with this storyline and felt it was very well done.
I must admit that John and Lizzie's story frustrated me a bit, but I feel it was mostly because I was impatient to know the full truth of John's past. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the author wrapped this story up at the end of the book, as well. Another well-written story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

profanity used in this book

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
yaya
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a really good author, she has a very creative mind and in saying that I don't understand her need to use the Lord's name in vain, especially when the book is speaking about God in many areas. In this book a priest uses a curse word, I pray this isn't really happening that when you stand for Jesus at one time and then curse him with the other. Total disappointment :-(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't go wrong with Julie Lessman

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's rare to find an author who can consistently deliver great books, and so when you find them, you try to read everything under the sun that they've written. Julie Lessman is one of my new favorites and so I'm cruising my way through all of her books. I enjoyed this one, probably not my very favorite so far, but still definitely worth the read! Lizzie and John's story was a little frustrating for me since it took them awhile to put aside their pride and get anywhere, but the plot took some unexpected twists at the end and I was certainly engaged throughout the whole book.
Julie is a fantastic writer and I highly recommend her books although, I'd not encourage young teens to read them as the married couples are quite passionate and Julie is a master at showing desire in couples. It is Christian fiction, but still, there is a time and place for everything...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabulous book!

Date:May 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
dixiedarlin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was soooooo excited to read about Lizzie - the little sis to Faith and Charity! This book is full of drama, romance, and takes you back to Boston in the early 1900's. Such a fun, tear jerking book. You'll love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No Denying This is a Great Book!

Date:April 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
AngiOakley
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The third and final book in the Daughters of Boston series, A Passion Denied is the story of Elizabeth O'Conner. 'Lizzie', as she is known by her family, was always a shy, quiet girl with her nose in a book. Now she has grown into a beautiful young woman with thoughts of romance, particularly for the man who has been her friend since she was a gangly thirteen-year old.
A man of God, John Brady has always thought of Lizzie as the little sister that he never had, sharing her love of books and her hunger for spiritual things. But when Lizzie's romantic feelings become apparent to John, his own feelings for her begin to change as well. But will dark secrets from his past stop a budding romance?
In this story of love and turmoil, Julie shows that there is forgiveness through God...forgiveness for others and forgiveness for one's self.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book number 3

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tammy
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the characters in this book. I cried and laughed along with them.
The way that Julie Lessman writes keeps me so enthralled, I can hardly put the book down.
I tell my friends and family that they need to read her books they are awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Elizabeth's Story of Forgiveness and Conclusion

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wman4JC
Location:miami, fl
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(sigh, catching my breath) My goodness, this beautiful author knows how to keep her readers wanting to see the happy conclusion with this beloved family in fiction! Denied is Elizabeth’s story of the O’Connor family and it’s hard to believe she’s gone from a child to a lady so quickly. That’s one of the best pleasures of this series, watching the characters grow up as they do. In this book we get to experience the wonderful relationship between Faith and Charity, the relationships with their husbands, and how these sisters encourage “Lizzy” in her desire to win John Brady’s heart once and for all. It was non stop amusement and touching moments seeing how these sisters banded together to see their baby sister happy.
Elizabeth “Beth” is now 17 (turns 18 before the story is over) and tired of John Brady not noticing her, everyone else knows her as “Lizzy.” One of the goals in this book is for Lizzy to kiss Brady, but will this endeavor cause their friendship to end?
Faith is having a small marital issue with Collin; Charity is having the opposite marital issue with Mitch; Patrick is working long hours at the newspaper to keep up with all the work placing restraint on his marriage to Marcy (they have now been married for 26 years-WOW). Someone from Patrick and Marcy’s past shows up presenting another obstacle to overcome and more praying. I took great pleasure when Patrick throws this obstacle out of his house thinking the person was a friend. This is a letter I’d love to address to Patrick regarding the whole issue…
Dear Patrick O’Connor:
I’m currently reading about the problem you’re facing with Marcy and I have to say, you’re really misunderstanding your bride in this situation. She endured a crush on Sam for a time and then courted him briefly. She never realized the man he really was therefore even though she loved him, she couldn’t have understood unconditional love before you came along. Sam was never a real friend to you and he hasn’t changed. He only sees what he can’t have and because of that he lives in an unhappy existence. He is a jealous, selfish, inconsiderate, petty, and deceitful person that you need to stay away from and forgive as God gives you the strength to do so. He never loved Marcy and he will say anything to break up what he knows to be a powerful marriage you and Marcy enjoy. Please don’t give in to those lies, please believe that Marcy’s heart is forever yours, and place your trust back in God’s capable hands. Because when God ordains a marriage between two beautiful people like you and Marcy, let no man attempt to put that ordination asunder or that man will suffer consequences. It’s not worth it, Patrick, you are truly loved both by God and by Marcy. Looking forward to the part in this story when you receive this revelation.
Your faithful reader, Kara
PS. Thank you for being so protective of your daughters, that’s such a blessing to read about in your family!
Okay, had to put that out there  Marcy and Patrick have smaller roles in this book, but overall the O’Connor family is still a huge part of each other’s lives and it’s so refreshing to see them together whether they’re eating, praying, playing games, or comforting one another…..it never gets old watching them as a family. They learn in everything that God is big enough, that He loves them enough, that His grace is sufficient enough, and that His peace will sustain them through anything. Here’s some precious advice to Marcy from Mrs. Gerson when Marcy is suffering through something new:
“The kind of love you and Patrick share always tips the scales in the other’s favor. Patrick can’t do that right now, Marcy, but you can.”
Marcy swallowed hard. “How?” It was a whisper, a faint surrender.
“Fourfold, my dear. First, you repent for any bitterness you’ve held up until now. Second, you learn from the Master. Once, when Jesus was asleep in the boat with his apostles, a storm threatened. The Bible says that Jesus rebuked the winds and the sea, and there was a great calm. You will do the same. When bitterness comes, you will rebuke it in Jesus’ name, and he will send the calm. Third, you will put feet to your faith, because action speaks louder than words. And love, my dear, speaks louder than anything. That means you will demonstrate your love for Patrick—a love note, a favorite dessert, a kind tone—regardless of how he treats you. And finally, my dear, you will pray. Pray for God to soften his heart, to wrest him free of from the grip of sin, and to bless him. And this, Mrs. O’Connor, is the most powerful step of all. Because if you are faithful to the first three, your prayers will unleash the power of heaven.”
During the apology scene with John Brady and his siblings—why did they feel the need to spike his punch if they genuinely forgave him? This gets explained later on and I DID NOT see it coming. However, that scene had me suspicious and later on I realized why.
It has TRULY been a pleasure reading this series and watching this family overcome any obstacles that came their way. The O’Connors are flawed in various ways, but Lessman does a brilliant job of showing that God can get us through anything if we just surrender to Him and trust Him with our heart (this lesson is done without preaching). Forgiveness is also a HUGE theme throughout this series and sometimes the person wronged has to forgive multiple times before healing has been completed. I’ve learned that communication is utterly relevant even in ideal marriages and that communication is something we learn in our relationship with God. I also learned that marriage is something we need to seek God about before considering making a commitment, but it is worth fighting for when you marry the person God has designed for us as a partner. I’m looking forward to the Winds of Change series and I’m so happy that the O’Connors got their happy ending. I highly recommend A Light in the Window, the prequel to this saga and where it all starts…..Marcy and Patrick’s story AFTER reading these three books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Powerful Story of Forgiveness

Date:March 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
anb123
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This story had a good message of the powerful love and depth of God's forgiveness. It was full of passionate love of God and definetely recommended. Two thumbs up!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Message

Date:March 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Darla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth O'Connor is young, shy and bookish at the start of the 1st book in the Daughters of Boston series. But now she is older and has fallen in love with her brother-in-laws best friend John Brady. He only sees her as a sister. Elizabeth is determined to change his mind but can John let the past go to find true happiness? This book has a good message to anyone who feels unworthy of love. Please Read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Book In This Series!

Date:September 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melanie
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third book I've read by Julie Lessman and, while I loved A Passion Most Pure and A Passion Redeemed, A Passion Denied is my favorite in the series! I just loved the characters in this book so much! While I loved a lot of the characters, my favorite was probably John Brady in this book. He had intrigued me from the previous book(s) so getting to know his character more and reading his story was great.
Another thing that I loved about A Passion Denied is that throughout the book we got to see more of Faith's and Charity's lives and how things are with them. Some things Charity said/did were so funny and just made me laugh! Katie O'Connor (Charity's sister) was similar in that I couldn't help chuckling sometimes because of the way she acted (especially regarding Cluny).
Forgiveness was a HUGE aspect of A Passion Denied and I loved that! It was so powerful to read and even made me tear-up a little bit. I loved all of the Bible passages that were in this book and how faith was a major part of the characters' lives.
While A Passion Denied had a lot of "passion" in it, it didn't bother me that much because most of it was between married couples and I even found it sweet (although a few times it was a little much for me). Because of that I would only recommend this book for mature readers who don't mind some slightly heated scenes.
A Passion Denied took me on a very entertaining ride and the book was really hard to put down! If you enjoy historical books with romance then I recommend the Daughters of Boston series, of which A Passion Denied is book three (make sure you read them in order). It's one of my favorites - I just loved the entire book! :) I am looking forward to reading A Hope Undaunted very soon.
*I borrowed this book. I was not required to review it, I chose to. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fabtabulous Read!!

Date:April 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leorah
Location:USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book so much! In fact, out of all three Daughters of Boston books, I think it was my favorite. Don't get me wrong! I absolutely loved the other two! It is just that not only out of all three sister's did I feel like I related to Lizzie - shy/book worm/hopeless romantic/day dreamer - most, I just love happy endings. And this book certainly did do the job with ending the series most splendidly! I won't say much because I don't want to spoil anything but I loved Faith and Charity in fact more than I did when I read their stories! (And this was after I thought you couldn't love a character more!) I think it was because I felt more sisterly love than ever and I just really liked that.
Anyway, don't miss out! Love, love, love this book and this series and I totally recommend them!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Read Not to be Denied

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Carrie
Location:Virginia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This work is set in the 1920’s. There do not seem to be many inspirational fiction novels set in this time frame. It has a fresh feel to it. Other novels in the two series are set before and after this time.
Elizabeth AKA Lizzie O'Connor cannot shake John Brady’s determination to keep her as “Beth”, treating her like a sister. With a strong desire for God, John fights his growing feelings for Lizzie. Because of a shameful personal and family secret he feels he cannot trust himself. Both Lizzie and John love literature and both have soft hearts for those in need. While the most popular college man in town recognizes that Lizzie has grown up, John continues to keep her at arm’s length.
Julie Lessman’s tagline is “Passion with a Purpose” and that is evident in this novel. Like other Julie Lessman novels, this one has: a large cast of characters with multiple points of view, a continuation of story lines from previous books, an extended Irish Catholic family in Boston, and a positive very hopeful feel to the writing yet with an underlayment of serious spiritual truths and growth. An amazing author!
Spoiler alert: There is another Brady who isn’t afraid to risk loving Lizzie. But is he all that he seems to be? When his brother exposes his secret shame, Lizzie rejects John, and he takes another path in his life pursuing God with more vigor than ever.
But God has plans for this couple that include his healing from the hurts of his past as the truth is revealed by a very unlikely person. And when this person listens to God’s nudge, a dreadful decision is avoided.
This is one of the most romantic books I have read with all the yearning and yet desire for the best good for the other person, which is the essence of true love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that from the opening pages of this novel, I felt a connection to Lizzy O’Connor. Being a rather hopeless romantic myself and often lost in the pages of a book, I understand her, and the twists and turns of her romance did not disappoint! You know you’ve got an amazing book when you are actually yelling out loud at the characters when you know they’re making a mistake. I found doing that during this read, and will admit that I’m now fully invested in the happenings of this family. This is a wonderful end to an unbelievable series, but I’m so glad this isn’t the last we’re hearing from the O’Connor clan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspenseful

Date:December 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jocelyn Green, author of Faith Deployed
Location:Cedar Falls, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set back in Boston, we get glimpses of Faith and Collin, Faith and Charity, and the girls' parents, Marcy and Patrick. By now, all of these characters are old friends, and we know a lot about their histories. I love that we see the ups and downs of married life in this novel, through the subplots of these three other couples. It's a great reminder that life is not always happily ever after once the wedding is over- love takes a little work! But it's still worth it, and there is still passion.
Ironically, the protagonist, Lizzie, is accused of imagining that real love should look like the love she has read about in romance novels. But usually, it's far more complicated than what we read about, and requires ample doses of forgiveness, patience, and understanding. An interesting truth for a romance novel to proclaim! :)
If you're feeling breathless after A Passion Redeemed, you'll find this story a little tamer, but still enjoyable, intriguing, and suspenseful.
I was amused to see Lizzie getting love life advice from Charity and Faith, two sisters whose approach to love couldn't be more opposite.
There are enough secrets and twists to keep you guessing until the end. You might think you know how the last page will read, but there's no way you could imagine the winding road that gets you there.
We meet new characters here, including a scrawny orphan who ends up being one of the main characters in a later book Lessman writes, A Hope Undaunted. I loved getting to know this guy as a child in this book!
As with the other two books in the series, faith is an integral part to how these characters make their decisions. They struggle with their pasts, their own choices and consequences, and each one finds himself/herself at a crossroads where they can choose life or death.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Absolute Must-Read!

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
EMarie
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Passion Denied was my favorite of the Daughters of Boston series! I love Lizzie O'Connor and John Brady. They are two of my favorite characters. Maybe that's because I'm so much like Lizzie. We're both bookworms who love happily ever afters. ;) A Passion Denied takes us on a journey to true love and teaches us a lesson in the power of forgiveness. You do not want to miss this one. Just make sure you read A Passion Most Pure and A Passion Redeemed first, because this is definitely a series that should be read in order. ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Passion Denied

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ashley Roberts
Location:Indiantown, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was wonderful!! I really related to the heroine because I could see myself in her! Loved it and you will too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Passion Denied, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another must-read from Lessman!

Date:December 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luv2bmami
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Passion Denied…is a book that must be read!! It won’t sit on your shelf for more than a couple months, before you absolutely MUST pick it back up again! Lizzie and Brady are characters that will stay with you forever—and throughout the rest of the series, thankfully! You’ll feel like you know them by the end of this story, as you laugh, cry, and smile with them. One of my favorite books, from one of my favorite authors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.