Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook

Revell Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook

Jo-Lynn Hunter is at a crossroads in life when her great-aunt Stella insists that she return home to restore the old family house in sleepy Cottonwood, Georgia. Seeing the project as the perfect excuse for some therapeutic time away from her self-absorbed husband and his snobby Atlanta friends, Jo-Lynn longs to get her teeth into a noteworthy and satisfying project. But things are not what they seem, both in the house and within the complex history of her family. Was her great-grandfather the pillar of the community she thought he was? What is Aunt Stella hiding? And will Jo-Lynn's marriage survive the renovation? Jo-Lynn isn't sure she wants to know the truth--but sometimes the truth has a way of making itself known.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good!

Date:January 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought the book was good overall, but I have to admit there were quite a few times that I was tempted to put the book down in the beginning because I just couldn't seem to get myself into the story. However I'm glad I stuck with it because I thought the ending was very powerful! It was amazing to see the research the author did for this book since it's fictional! How the story was written I would have thought the characters were actual people who lived at one point in time! I also really enjoyed how she gave the reader a head's up on some things because she told the story of a young Stella which later gave clues to the reader about her relationship with Valentine as well as the folder "Thursday Nights" since Jo-Lynn didn't know the information yet. Once I got into the book I couldn't put it down! I'm not a big mystery fan, but there was just enough suspense that kept me wanting to more! Overall a pretty good read if your looking for a historical novel with some suspense!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rene Forehand
I have been a fan of Everson's since her first novel Shadow of Dreams was published in 2001. Her character creations are amazing. When I sat down to read Things Left Unspoken I was not able to put it down until I was finished. If you love reading about small town life and secrets from the past you will love this book. I was intrigued by Everson's research and documentation of a time long ago when the Klu Klux Klan was common in our society. This is a story about the pain of a first love not forgotten through the decades. You may think you know these characters, but you may be surprised to find out who they really are. Sure to satisfy the christian readers, you will find what the true meaning of forgiveness really is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cheri Cowell
With each page I was pulled deeper and deeper into this slice of Southern fiction. I wanted to know the "secret" they were hiding, the secret the house held, the secret the town held. As I read, I fell in love with the lead character. She was confident, strong-willed, and yet longed for what it appeared she could not have- the respect of her husband. Then, as I was lulled into a rhythm by the daily dealings in this pictureque southern town with its vivid and rich imagery, wham, the "secret" was revealed. I may have let out an audible "Ohhh, my." I don't want to give it away, but you just have to read this book. It is so beautifully written, so true-to-form of southern towns, you'll delight in each page turn. I loved this book so much that for weeks I've been sending all my friends to go get their copies- because I'm not giving them mine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pamela Dowd
Southern charm wafts from this fragrant story of a woman at the crossroads of life, remodeling a family heirloom home in need of more than detailed renovation. Peeling back the mysteries within its walls, Jo-Lynn Hunters heritage and failing marriage undergo rediscovery as page after page of fresh secrets draw the reader into Jo-Lynns heart and mounting predicaments. Should she hide the startling revelations about her family, which could alter many lives in her childhood community, or let the confidential matters remain? The first person plot keeps pace despite deep description, although those who prefer tight prose might find the microscopic detail distracting. The house is as much a character as the eccentric story people. This captivating contemporary story is an interesting study of generations altered by decisions good and evil. Eva Marie Eversons southern drawl spins a tale as quenching as a tall glass of sweet tea. Highly recommended leisure reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dawn Cronk
What a wonderful jaunt to the south! Jo-Lynn Hunter winds up in Cottonwood, Georgia because of a death in the family. She undertakes a renovation of a victorian home that has been in her family for generations. Houses and people all have secrets, and some want none of them to get out. Strange incidents happen, and Jo-Lynn must find out what is truth and what is not. For someone who is in an unstable marriage, what a respite from tensions as home. Not only is she renovating a house, she is renovating herself. A very enjoyful story, well-written
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2009
The closest relationships are the ones that make us the most uncomfortable.The dearest friends are the ones who arent afraid to express the most painful truths.The best books are the ones that touch hidden places within us to extract painand pleasurewe didnt realize we had.Things Left Unspoken is an amazing novel. It doesnt have the cozy, crazy feel of author Eva Marie Eversons Potluck Club series. Nor does it contain the conversational journaling and breathtaking photography of her Reflections of Gods Holy Land. But it does reflect her talent and versatility as a writer. More importantly, it displays the depth of her heart.Interior decorator Jo-Lynn Hunter faces multiple choices: stay in the city or return to her rural roots and a family-driven restoration project? Continue her trophy wife lifestyle or escape to the creative delights of antiques and their surroundings? Stick with the timeworn security of deception or relentlessly pursue the truth? As Jo-Lynn undertakes the planned renovation, God works renovations of his own. Eversons multi-layered plot and characters reflect a rare knowledge of life and people. She shows family relationships at their intimate best and dysfunctional worst. Read the book for the compelling characters, the carefully crafted words, the Southern flair. Youll find comfort there. But be warned: youll also uncover discomfort as your own hidden wounds and secrets rise to meet you.Reach toward the truth that sets free. You may discover more Things Left Unspoken than you knew.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen T. Fahel
I just finished this book. I LOVED it! It's really hard to describe. It's not a mystery, although there are mysteries and questions that needed solving. It's not a "chick book", but does have a couple of great love stories within it. It's not a crime drama, but it does have criminals and police. It is just a great book with colorful southern characters, emotion, humor, excitement, characters that you can actually care about...and a solid storyline to boot (not to mention a FASCINATING back-story that is unforgettable).I'll try to describe the storyline without giving too much away. Jo-Lynn Hunter, a married, childless woman in her 50s, is hired to renovate her great-aunt's home, in a large project to renovate her childhood hometown into a combination of tourist area and wholesome place to live. In the process, she faces the problems with her husband, her family, and secrets from the past.The characters really come alive in this book; after a while, you really feel like you know them personally. The descriptions are so vivid that you feel like you're sitting right with them; you can feel the dust in the attic, the cushions on the couch, the chill in the air. In a scene in a teahouse, I could almost hear the clinking of silverware on china and murmurs of conversation around "our" table.Not only would I recommend this book highly, I am looking forward to a re-read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
mary beth
Weaving together a family mystery, a strained marriage and a mid-life crisis, Ms. Everson draws you into the heroine's inner life with ease and grace. It is a wonderful read that's takes you on a woman's journey of discovery to figure out who she is and what home is all about.The heroine, interior designer Jo-Lynn Hunter, returns to her ancestral home in Cottonwood, Georgia to restore the family mansion after the death of a favorite uncle. Her marriage is on the rocks and she is unsure of her future feeling like her life is passing her by. As she digs in to her new project, strange things begin to happen around her. Break-ins and vandalism do not deter her from investigating her families history leading her to discover long held secrets that dramatically impact those she loves. In between the mysterious happenings, Jo-Lynn begins to repair her strained marriage with her husband Evan,who eventually learns to appreciate the treasure he has in her.What I love about Ms. Everson's work are her character's and the fabulous southern setting. Her secondary characters bring Cottonwood alive. Jo-Lynn's Aunt Stella is a hoot! She is feisty and honorable. She made decisions in her past that are revealed through touching flashbacks. She is one strong southern woman! Ms. Everson paints a lovely portrait of Main Street with graceful old buildings just aching for someone to breath life back into them. She is extremely delicate with some sensitive historical facts, revealing a more positive side of the past. The town of Cottonwood becomes a metaphor for the reawakening that Jo-Lynn is experiencing.And the food! Southern cuisine is all about family and bringing everyone to the table. It comforts the grieving and is the centerpiece of any celebration. There were scenes where I just wanted to crawl into the pages and join the table. Oh my goodness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Things Left Unspoken by Eva Marie Everson is an enthralling book about family secrets. When Jo-Lynn's marriage starts to fall apart and her great-uncle Jim dies, she returns to her family home in Cottonwood, Georgia. Her great-aunt Stella informs her that she's selling the family home to be turned into a museum but on the condition that Jo-Lynn does the restoration. She soon finds that the renovations aren't just being done on the house, and that as the house is emptied of personal belongings, long held family secrets may come to light. Jo-Lynn is a terrific protagonist making the story immediate and real. Everson builds the suspense slowly by revealing the secrets a little at a time making it impossible to put this book down! She describes Jo-Lynn's love of family and home in a way that makes the reader fall in love with it all as well. It's a real Southern Gothic thriller with romance and faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Gale
Thank you for the wonderful read!! Eva Marie Everson is one of my favorite authors so when Things Left Unspoken arrived, I put everything else aside until I had finished reading each chapter and page.Lovely story line with carefully interwoven families who share a secret. There is even a hidden room! Jo-Lynn unravels the hidden stories of the small Southern town and found people who share a past and a future. There is mystery!! There is love!! My heart was touched as I read the last pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandie Bricker
Jo-Lynn stayed with me after I turned the final page, and the Southern flavor made every chapter a joy to read. I love Eva Marie Everson's writer voice, and I think this is her best execution thus far. She paints a picture with her words that wants to hang on the wall in a fancy antique frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joycelle
What a wonderful book, Things Left Unspoken. I just finished reading it. Now mind you, Im not much of a readerIm the kind of person that takes a book, reads a few chapters, gets busy and puts it downmaybe to pick it up a few months later and repeat the process. BUT, I read and finished this book on my (one week) vacation. Great reading..It kept my attention the whole timeIm looking for a follow up book.Would love to hear about Jo Lynn and Evans ongoing life in their new community of Cottonwood.and so on and so forth.Maybe a child..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
This is Eva Marie Everson's best novel thus far! I thoroughly enjoyed both the southern story and characters I felt I'd known all my life. Rarely am I unsuspecting of a plot twist, but Everson kept me guessing throughout! I kept flipping pages, trying to figure out the connections among characters before she revealed them. If you love an engaging story that both tugs on the heart strings and challenges deeply-rooted opinions, then you've found it in Things Left Unspoken.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vonda Skelton
You can't convincingly write about the south if you haven't lived there. In her new book, Things Left Unspoken, Eva Marie Everson proves her roots...and she's southern through and through! The characters and plot are believable, as if they're real people and events from the pages of life. I remember it all well. Compelling. You won't want to put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Decker
I took Things Left Unspoken on our summer beach trip. I couldn't put it down! Great plot, fascinating characters and just enough left unwritten to allow your own imagination to blend with Eva Marie's. She adds just the right amount of actual history and just the right amount of imagination. You will love this book!!! Read it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Wesley
A marriage in turmoil, family secrets long kept hidden, and a renovation of the familys old southern home unravel more than enough drama to keep you turning the pages (I think I read it within 2-3 days)! Eva Marie Everson has created a wonderful novel, full of mystery, a little danger, and discovery. Discovery about the familys secrets? Yes. But also discovery for the main character about what has been truly missing up until this point in her life.Will it save her marriage? Will she regret finding the answers, to the secrets hidden in her familys past? Have they put her in real danger? Youll have to read the book to find out. Eva has woven a great story about several generations of a family. When main character, Jo-Lynn Hunter, takes on the task of renovating the family home in the dwindling town of Cottonwood, Georgia she desires nothing more than the satisfaction of a job well done, on her own terms (and a little time away from the stress growing in her marriage).But the past doesnt always desire to stay hidden. And even family members you know quite well, may have things they are trying desperately to hide.Get the book. You wont be disappointed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Kruk
I loved Things Left Unspoken! The story drew me in and kept me reading well into the wee hours of the morning. I'm not familiar with much of the rich Southern traditions and so I learned alot through this book. Eva Marie did a fine job in taking us back to her Southern roots. The book is beautifully descriptive, rich in detail, and obviously well researched. I highly recommend reading Things Left Unspoken and am looking forward to Eva's next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ginger Cox
I finished Things Left Unspoken by Eva Marie Everson in one weekendreading while I walked two miles/day, reading whenever I could grab a few minutes, reading when I awoke in the middle of the night. It kept my attention through its reader-friendly 381 pages, but I measure a books worth by afterthoughts. Was it just enjoyable, or did it impact me?Early Monday morning I awoke with the word choices running through my head. Yes, it was choices made by Eva Maries characters that came to mind a community impacting individuals choices, individual choices impacting communities, false assumptions about others choices always repercussions.In the midst of the book, I had momentary concerns on where the plot might be headed when Jo-Lynn discovered and opened a file labeled Thursday Nights. I suddenly realized it might take me places I did not want to go in Southern history. Yet reading led to revelation, which then brought peaceful resolution. Eva Marie wove her characters and plot well. Using flashback chapters, she revealed enough details to clarify the older characters values and decisions. After seeing Old Stella in flashbacks as a teen, I fell in love with this crusty old woman. I appreciated the integrity I found within the pages.It was later on Monday that the magnitude of the title hit me. It is not just the past that is often unspoken and hidden. We sometimes choose not to speak about what is daily in front of us. Silence can be the greatest gift of love, but long-lasting close relationships can be lost without communication. To speak or to leave unspoken a choice with long-lasting consequences.Things Left Unspoken - I'm so glad I read it, and I hope you will too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cindy Mallin
I dont often take the time to read novels these days, but when my friend Eva Marie Everson wrote Things Left Unspoken, I had to read it. Reading a novel is a guilty pleasure for me, and if I take the time to read, I want it to be good.Things Left Unspoken did not disappoint. Each chapter pulled me into the next. I found myself living the life of Jo-Lynn as she struggled with her own now-empty marriage, and found the perfect work project to buy her time while she sorted through her thoughts and feelings. Marriage is often hard, and many women will identify with this angst. I am so committed to the sanctity of marriage, but I didnt want to see any superficial treatment here. And I didnt. There was depth of character throughout, and twists and turns of plot to keep me guessing right to the end. Im going to recommend this to my friends. And I am already looking forward to Eva Maries next novel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Things Left Unspoken: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromThings Left Unspoken.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Hawkins
A very good book. I had never read this authorbefore and just picked this book at random. Iwas very pleased. When I looked I did not findmuch else written by her though. I liked everything about the book but the ending. It justseemed to cut off quickly with all the problems solved that it took the whole bookto build up to.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>