Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Levi's Will - eBook

Bethany House Levi's Will - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Levi's Will - eBook
Review 1 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Inyokern, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Forgiveness within the complex arena of parent/adult child is well presented. My issue is the casual handling of how Will dismissed his responsibility with the girl he got pregnant; past, present, and future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good message - Father's acceptance

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Boulder, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed the book. At first, it was a little difficult to read because it switches back and forth during Will's life time but I soon got use to it and then couldn't put the book down. There is a very important message in this book. We forget the simplicity of life and what is really important. I also read the book Paradise Valley...read first. I really liked Paradise Valley. Levi's Will has mentions of Paradise Valley in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accurate portrayal of the Amish culture

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hoosier Girl
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live and work in an Amish (and Mennonite) community and have many friends and neighbors who practice this way of life. My husband was raised Amish and his parents still are, along with several of his siblings. I have had a "front row seat", as it were, to the way the Amish live and think. I realize that there are many different sects of Amish, with varying degrees of strictness. But, based on the Amish families I know and love, "Levi's Will" is the first "Amish book" I've read that truly captures the mindset, tradition, thought processes, and cultural. A while back I read it to my husband as we were traveling, and he agrees. Wonderful book! I definately recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Thelma Carlson
This book was well written. It taught me something about the Amish/Old Order Mennonites so I now betterunderstand why my mothers grandmother's family leftthe sect in the early to mid 1800's. Seems to me wesometimes make quick judgements against others without first trying to find the answers in God's Word and learning what His Will is in our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Crystal
Levis Will by W. Dale CramerThis was an amazing story of Amish life and the adventure of a young man named Will Mullet. Will leaves Amish life at the age of 15 with his brother Tobe. We, as the readers, get a look at what it was like for the Amish runaways in the 1940s. Good decisions and bad ones as well, reap varying results for the boys. Tobe and Will part ways and we follow Wills story. Many things happen to Will before he is drawn back to his Ohio home to visit his family. And what happens next. . . is for you the reader of the book to find out  It was interesting to see how the author intertwined the past and the future, and how the three generations fit into it. We see how fathers and their sons relate through the generations and how much a fathers approval really matters to the child. We also see how easily the fathers failings are passed on to the next generation. Every time I picked up this book, it was like I was pushing play on a story. The author used such vivid words to describe what the characters saw, did, and felt! I eagerly picked up this book and made time to read it. In the Afterword, which I would also recommend reading, the author reveals that this story is loosely based on my fathers life. I love how various authors write about the experiences of their families. It sure makes the experiences of the characters mean more to me. This is the first time I have read a book by W. Dale Cramer, and it wont be the last. I eagerly await my next opportunity to read one of his novels.I would like to thank Bethany House Publishing for the opportunity to review this book and for the free copy that I received.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Vaughn
A wonderful story between the now and then; netween an unforgiving old world father and a son's life of searching for acceptance and forgivness. A must read for tose who enjoy journeying into the life of the Amish.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Regina Munster
If you want more that the romantic Amish novel, this excellent novel by W. Dale Cramer is a must for you! Accomplished author Cramer, skillfully describes the setting and realistic characters in this faith fiction Amish Christian book. Read the very enlightening afterword. Highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Louise Anne
In my opinion this is a wonderful story. You will not be disappointed. Would make a great gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2009
This book is a rare look into the life and beliefs of an Amish family. Will decides to leave his Amish religion, pregnant girlfriend, and family to begin a new life on his own. Although he is able to break free from his past, he still desires his fathers blessing on his life. Will ends up being just like his father in creating a distant and cold relationship with one of his own sons. Will must reconcile his past and his present to be able to walk in peace for his future. He realizes that God accepts and forgive him even if other people arent able to do the same. I received this book free from Bethany House.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Wheeler
Will (Mullet) McGruder made a mistake. He shamed his father, his family and friends, and himself. This single mistake put Will under the Amish ban, and led him down a road of trial, test, tribulation, and the Refiner's fire.When he left his Amish lifestyle behind and traded Mullet for McGruder as his name, Will became a different man...on the outside. But his upbringing held true in his heart, and as he found later, in his relationship with his own son. He soon discovered that he was being the father that he, himself, had become bitter against in his youth. His relationship with his own son was a saddening reflection of the relationship Will had with his Father, Levi Mullet.On the road of life, Will turned to the Father of love and mercy, Jesus Christ. Then he knew he had to travel yet another difficult journey...the road home to his past, to seek the forgiveness of his family, and to make things right.Will he be able to break the generational chain of father/son tensions and restore his relationship with his father, Levi, and breach the gap that has grown between himself and his own son before it is too late?This is a wonderful story that shares a light on the long road to forgiveness from people, and yet a reminder that the mercies of God are readily available when we but fall to our knees and ask for His forgiveness?Cramer takes the reader on a journey with down-to-earth, real-life, experiences and problems that real people face today: mistakes, pain, heartache, fear, mercy, forgiveness, love, joy, happiness, and sacrifice.A recommended read for anyone!! I received this book from Bethany House Publishing for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Will left his Amish home to escape forced marriage to his pregnant girlfriend. Knowing that he would be under the bann, Will stays away for many years. He has been in the army, married and has two sons. Secrets haunt Will and he knows it is a matter of time before Helen learns of his Amish childhood and his harsh upbringing. Things begin to change as Will takes his family to meet his parents and siblings. Will longs for his fathers forgiveness and approval and hopes the revelation will not bring further division to his marriage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie McCoy
I must admit that I'm usually not a fan of stories that represent the Amish tradition. Mainly, I don't often find them very entertaining. Even as I began to read this book, it took a few pages to get in to the story. However, it wasn't long before I was swept into the world of Will Mullet, or as his fake name was, Will McGruder. As a mother, I also must admit that I have secret ambitions for our kids. I've always proclaimed that I just want our kids to be Jesus followers. I don't mind what they choose as a career or life goal. As long as they have faith in Jesus, I will be happy. But some parents hold stricter ambitions. Some parents want their kids to follow certain denominations for church or hope they'll follow a particular career path. Undeniably, most parents could agree that they have some sort of secret ambition for their children. Similarly, the Amish have secret ambitions for their children with hopes that they will sustain their way of life. Even more, the Amish community is known for their strict adherence to rules in their faith. If someone wants to leave the world of the Amish, they won't be able to come back. They are basically banned from the Amish community. In Will's case, he impregnanted a girl from the Amish community. This sets his father and the elders in a rage. To make things worse, he bails out on this girl to escape into regular American life of the 1940s. After a short time, Will joins the Army and begins to make himself a life in America. Sadly, his father now rejects him as a son. His father is crushed that Will has turned his back on his father's ambition for Will's life. The story continues with their relationship and how it changes for better and for worse. The reader will learn about forgiveness and the common conflicts between father and son. Admittedly, this story was amazing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
Levis Will tells the life story of a young Amish man who leaves his community in disgrace and changes his identity to fit into the outside world. The saga follows Will from his stint as a migrant farm worker to his enlistment as a soldier in World War II through his marriage to the present day. The overriding theme of the book is Wills struggle to make peace with his Amish past and more importantly, to find favor in his fathers eyes. Ultimately, the story points to God and forgiveness as the only true means to peace.I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the way it explored Amish traditions, Levis struggle to be honest with his loved ones, and his difficulty relating to his own children because of the way he was himself raised. The writing was compelling throughout, although the painful emotions that were exposed led to a somewhat depressing feel throughout much of the book.Levis Will is actually based on a true story. It was first published in 2005 and is now being republished with an afterward describing the effects the publishing of the first edition had on his relations with his Amish relatives.I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Reprinted with a new cover, and a wonderful afterword W. Dale Cramer's book Levi's Will will reach out and grab your heart strings. Will Mullet, aka Will McGruder, was born Amish, and brought up Amish. However he chaffed at some of the Amish ways, especially the ones he felt were designed to trap Amish children into never leaving home. Having sinned against the church and his family, Will runs away. He spends the rest of his life looking for forgiveness and for his father's approval.Will he ever find either? A story of redemption, a story of the curse of the father, and a story of deep love and commitment Mr. Cramer has brought us a beautiful story. A story with roots from the true story of his father's own life. Messed up kids, anger issues, drugs, and war. All things not common to Amish families, however the root of these issues are connected to the roots of Will's Amish upbringing. Follow Will Mullet McGruder as he learns that true forgiveness comes only from God. Most definitely a read over and over book, and a book to share with friends and family. 398 pages $13.99 US 4 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Levi's Will - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Donna Williams
This is a great story and a wonderful read. I enjoyed the way this was written and the story was so very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.