Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Baker Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict

Baker Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict

Your friends add a lot to your life---but what do you do when things go wrong? In Peacemaking Women, Tara Barthel and Judy Dabler show you how to avoid gossip, bitterness, and spiteful actions as you look for resolutions that demonstrate Christ to believers and unbelievers alike. Filled with biblical guidance and practical advice for resolving conflicts and finding life-changing reconciliation! 352 pages, softcover, Baker.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Review 1 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
CalAnn
Location:NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book painted a picture of most small churches. The examples were relevant. The solutions were very applicable and worthy of reflection and thought. I found the book to be outlined very well, and easy to read. This is a must read. It presents truth, opportunities for change, for growth and love among each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandie Shubert
I bought this book because I am always trying to say and do the right thing to help others. I seen it as a good book for everyone else,( you know when you hear a message and it's always for someone else). This book has brought me to my knees alot asking for forgiveness.I have alot to learn as a peacemaker. I have shared this with my sister, she is a leader in a women's bible study and believes this would be a great study.This is a book for all people.It will make you take that second look in the mirror at yourself.I had to ask myself am I a peacemaker?Thank youSandie
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Connie IannelliSmith
Tara Barthel succeeds in showing women how peacemaking starts within ourselves, our own hearts and then flows outward into our relationships through the never ending grace of God. This book goes beyond the mere thought of Peacemaking and gives a hands-on, honest application of how we can become Peacemaking Women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2006
Customer Avatar
Alice Pendell
Because of the hectic world we all live in, most of us are looking for ways to find Peace. She not only clarified the variety of issues that can cause everyday conflict, she outlined necessary steps to correct it... Our choice.I appreciated the set of questions that followed each chapter, helping to guide you in your individual quest to apply the teachings to yourself.I deeply appreciated her vunerability in sharing her own personal issues. It helped me to understand that I wasn't the only one going through that particular conflict.I have been able to not only use this in my own personal life but to help other women develop these skills.It is a book to be read again and again because of its relevancy. I am reading it for the third time and have discovered new teachings. It is a book worth having in a personal library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jana Peterson
I purchased this book thinking it would be good reading, but found it to be much more. My friends want to borrow the book and I'd rather just buy them a copy of their own as I've found this to be a key resource for working through and handling the conflicts I've had with others. Strong, Biblical, gentle, wise. I highly recommend this to anyone!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
L Johnson
As Christians we are to be a reflection of Jesusa community of grace living out the purpose and personality of Jesus in our world. It is in relationships that others see Christ. But how do we do this in a world filled with strife and conflictconflict in our marriages, our friendships, our churchesconflicts with God and conflicts within (shame, depression, fear)? Tara Barthel and Judy Dabler do an incredible job of showing us that we are called to be peacemaking women and we become true peacemakers through repentance, faith and rightful worship of God alone. This book does not give A-B-Cs to becoming a happy and peaceful woman. The authors are quick to admit that the journey to becoming a peacemaking woman is not an easy one, but it is possible. The book is full of scripture, scripture-based prayers and an extensive list of resources for further study. The discussion questions are not like the typical fluff that you find in many booksthey encourage you to dig deep. Tara and Judy are more transparent than most authors and have already encouraged me to be more transparent myself. These ladies have worked through some tough conflicts themselves and are quick to share the lessons they have learned. The chapter on Female Leaders with Strong Personalities was perhaps the best I have read on the subject. This is not a book you read once and then put it on your shelf. Even though I had a hard time putting it down, I found myself needing to stop and reflect on an illustration, statement or Biblical reference. This is a book that I will turn to again and again and will share with others. I have already given it to several friends and am planning discussion groups around it in our church. I wish it had been around 20 years ago! Thank you for sharing your hearts, Tara and Judy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jerry & Ann
This book was so influential that several ladies are going through it together as a study trying to put the biblical ways into practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Peacemaking Women: Biblical Hope for Resolving Conflict
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2005
Customer Avatar
Lilly of the Valley
I found the author and co-author to be candid,funny, and full of wisdom in providing for women a path out of confict not only internally but in their relationships. It contains some very thought-provoking and soul-searching questions at the end of each chapter so can be used for personal study as well and for small groups. Read it, apply it, it works!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.