Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Nooma #1: Rain, DVD

Zondervan Nooma #1: Rain, DVD

Things don't always work out the way we want them to, or the way we think they will. Sometimes we don't even see it coming. We get hit with some form of pain out of nowhere leaving us feeling desperate and helpless. That's the way life is. Still, it makes us wonder how God can just stand by and watch us suffer. Where is God when it really hurts? Maybe God is actually closer to us than we think. Maybe it's when we're in these situations, where everything seems to be falling apart, that God gets an opportunity to remind us of how much he really loves us. Rain is the first DVD of the NOOMA ® series - short films appropriate for personal and small group settings, congregational meetings, and much more. Like parables, they use the experiences of our lives to teach about the fullness of life through Jesus, tackling issues like forgiveness, discipleship, and unconditional love. The study materials accompanying each NOOMA ® encourage meaningful discussion with relevant questions and biblical references.

DVD Features
  • Running time: Approx. 11 minutes
  • Audio: English (Dolby Digital)
  • Subtitles: English, French, German, Korean, Mandarin, Portuguese, Spanish
  • Format: Closed-captioned
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Review 1 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Burns
My favorite Nooma video thus far; I have watched about 10. It can touch your life - bring home the message of God's amazing love, in a parable that will stick with you, encourage your. I highly suggest this for people who want to understand a bit more about God's Love, and what God thinks about what you are going through.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peggy Coria
The content of the DVD was excellent. I would recommend this product to any Christian or non-Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Schulemann
I loved this cd . It is my favorite one. I have heard it three times now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Gillis
Everyone who 'fears' or 'is hurting' need to see this DVD. it so beautiful illustrates where God is when we need him if we open our hearts to him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renee Portnell
I really enjoyed this dvd. I fully felt I got the message and watched the dvd more than once. I had my family sit down with me and we discussed the movie and read the magages too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
youth leader
very encouraging, esp. for those who are going thru hard times now. worth viewing it~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cori Salchert
I thought it was wonderful! I deal with people all the time who are grieving, lots of rain in their life and they just can't make any sense of it. The DVD helps them gain a larger perspective and perhaps grasp that God is good in spite of the circumstances!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susie Erwin
Wonderful example of God's undeniable love for his children. Rob Bell has an excellent way of drawing you in and revealing the Lord's truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Susan
Poorly done. We really got the impression that he allowed his baby son to suffer for the dvd's "message." Amateurish. Very sorry I wasted money on this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stewart Selden
Inspirational but not what I thought. for some reason i thought it was a bible study but it is not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pastor Adam
Rob Bell fails to take any of his Scripture quotes in context and twists them to suit his own views. The most obvious is from Matthew 7:24-27 concerning the houses built on sand and rock. The apparent connection he attempts between this and Rain is of course the storm the sand-based home endured. However, this passage deals with obedience to Christs commands and the Bible.He vaguely speaks of people being weary and heavy laden, from Matthew 11:28. However, the context of this passage speaks of the burden of sin and the coming judgment upon the sinner. This is never mentioned in his reference. The entire issue of sin is only briefly mentioned and quickly departed from as he speaks of how sin has screwed things up for us. He leaves out the fact that sin is against the very God who gives us life. He compares his consoling of his son during the storm to how God consoles His children. He relates God to being our daddy whispering to us that He knows the way and we are His buddies. God does know the way because He is the way (John 14:6) but Bell uses this loosely and does not explain that the way is that of salvation and not that out of our individual physical problems. Furthermore, Ephesians 2:3 says that mankind is inherently evil and instead of being buddies with God the lost are children of wrath. Repentance and faith have no place in Rob Bells presentation. It is apparent that the reasons for excluding such is to ensure that he is more approachable and cool to his target audience. He downplays the Gospel and the nature of God to the point that it is even questionable whether this is a Christian presentation.Unless you are doing a research paper on borderline heresy avoid Rob Bell's teachings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marie
While some of Rob Bell's fidgeting was distracting, the message of this presentation is deeply comforting to people going through deep struggles. It beautifully paints a picture of how God, as Bruce Carroll says, "May not take our trials away, but he'll always take us through." A great gift for someone who is searching for meaning and God's presence in the midst of their struggle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lois Blount
The DVD arrived on time. I was impressed with it. I have not shown it yet to our congregation but will in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nooma #1: Rain, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anne
Yes, this video is a MUST-SEE! My sister and I wanted to have it to show a bunch of people, namely some fathers that we know who are unchurched. This video really touched everyone. But a MUST-BUY? Well, let me tell you that it is a pricey little thing and I was very disappointed. I paid nearly 20 bucks - I thought I was getting a bunch of 10-15 minute clips and a discussion guide for the DVD, and I didn't. I paid nearly 2 bucks a minute for just the single clip video. It's very nicely packaged. I still haven't opened it and am hanging on to the receipt. Lots of advertising. Couldn't you guys cut down on the packaging to knock down the price? Or throw us a bone and just give us a few more videos on one DVD for that price! I was hoping to purchase a bunch of RAIN to hand out ... but the price just encourages piracy and discourages purchase. Why so expensive for 11 minutes?????
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.