Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Random House, Inc Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1

Random House, Inc Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1

In the pastoral 18th-century Scottish Lowlands, two brothers, Jamie and Evan McKie, seek their father's blessing and inheritance, but only one will receive it---and the hand of a beautiful woman. A thorny love triangle, sibling rivalry, parental manipulation, deception, and desire---it's all here in Higgs's powerful retelling of the story of Jacob and Esau. 432 pages, softcover from Waterbrook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Review 1 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1788 Scotland, twin brothers, Evan and Jamie McKie vie for a father's blessing. When the elder McKie gives the blessing to the wrong brother, chaos and murderous threats ensue. Driven away from the prosperous estate of Glentrool by his jealous brother, Jamie flees to his uncle Lachlan's property of Auchengray with the blessing of his mother, Rowena. Once there, he hides his true intentions of seeking a bride among his cousins Leana and Rose, and agrees to work for a month for his uncle Lachlan while he decides which cousin to marry.
Somehow, everything goes wrong. From his wedding, to which woman he truly chose, to his return to Glentrool. Plagued by the deceit of the past and the lies of the present, hidden secrets and two sisters that vie for his heart, Jamie is torn between what is right - and what truly belongs to him.
From the beginning of this book till the last page, Thorn in My Heart will capture your imagination and your heart. The very human struggles each character faces, will endear them to you even more. The harshness of a father. The love of two sisters. And the undeserved redemption and forgiveness offered to one man who neither wants nor deserves it. It is a thrilling peek into the lives of a family that is very much like our own, who face the same challenges we do, and are as human as we are. A wonderful, recommended book and series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book one of six

Date:July 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jved267
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the first four books of this series, I own paper copies of all of them. I'm sad to see that this book is not available as an ebook. The story is inspired by the Jacob, Leah & Rachel love triangle from the Bible. I highly recommend the book and I would love to see all six books available as an ebook package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved the book, the triology. A keeper.

Date:October 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
OliviaC
Location:Mt. Juliet, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is so good, it will keep you up at night, reading just one more chapter. It really pulled me in the story. The characters are consistent in their actions, yet not always predictable. Will buy all three for my library and I can't wait to read the 4th book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Briteyes7
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This novel was absolutely wonderful! I lost several hours of sleep because I could not put it down. I liked that it was based on a Bible story and kept going back to mine to help me remember the real life story. I was anxious to see how she worked in the marriage deception and of course it was great. The author is so good at writing about adult subjects without compromising Christian values. I felt sad, happy,excited and hopeful as the story unfolded. It also reminded me that God promises to never leave me even when I mess up. I can't wait to start the second book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 25, 2010
I did not like this book! It was too soap-operish for me. I thought trying to transplant the biblical story of Jacob/Leah/Rachel into 18th-century Scotland was... a bit of a stretch! And I never could root for Leana's relationship with Jamie like I felt the author wanted. She seemed far too obsessive and desperate for that kind of "love" to be healthy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nancy
WARNING: Do not give this book to your young unmarried daughter! Although I am enjoying this book, there are scenes of young unmarried sex. No, Jamie and Leana are not married! I am a mother of two, but I wouldn't give it to my daughter. It is a very interesting book along the lines of Jacob and Leah and Rachel in the Bible.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Blow Rebekah
I'm a huge fan of christian fiction and this is one of the worst books I've ever read. If I wanted to read the story of Esau and Jacob I would've in my Bible. I do not like this more 'modern' take and will avoid this authors book from now on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Craddock
It was really great reading. I couldn't put it down until I had read the end and then I had to get the rest of the series. I really liked the way it told the story of the brothers like unto Jacob and Esau. You never knew what was going to happen until the end.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lois Duck
I loved this whole series and was interested in the way Liz Curtis made a Scottish historical story out of the bible stories.I would definitely read more of this author's work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Polly W Plunkett
These are super I didnt want to do anything else but read , they really held my interest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donna Bryant
A wonderful interesting book based on the Bible account of Jacob and Esau. A great readthat is hard to lay down. I have read the full series and enjoyed them all very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
X.S. Lindsey
I didn't know what I was in for when I read this book, but as I got into it, I was completely spellbound. This is the first of Liz Curtis Higgs' retelling of the Biblical story of Jacob and the two sisters, Leah and Rachel. While it does follow the Biblical account closely, Higgs manages to weave her story in a fresh, compelling way. The characters truly come to life, and the historical portrayal of life in late 18th-Century Scotland is flawless. I cannot praise this book enough. Coupled with timeless themes and unforgettable characters, "Thorn In My Heart" reads like a classic. A word of warning, however -- due to the maturity of some of the themes in the book, I would recommend excercising caution in allowing anyone under the age of 15 to read it. While these themes are handled tastefully, the author is rather frank, and it would be wise to use discretion with younger readers. The entire book is a faithful, yet unique, portrayal of a heartfelt story, and I list it among my collection of favorite reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
Julia
This book touched my heart. Throughout the entire book I felt as though I were living with Jamie, Leanna, and Rose. I must admit however that my sympathies laid entirely with Leanna. Liz Higgs brings the story of Jacob to life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Thorn in My Heart is the first book Ive read by Liz Curtis Higgs, and Ill read more. I love historical fiction, and she did a fabulous job with this one. My favorite part about this book is the way she uses Scottish dialect and makes it perfectly understandable, either through context or with a seamless explanation.The story is that of Leah, Rachel, and Jacob, taken from Genesis 27-29 in the Bible. Higgs researched the location and time period thoroughly, which lends the story an authentic feel. She weaves in Scottish traditions and lore without making readers feel theyre steeped in a history lesson. Higgs treats readers to the unusual viewpoint of Leana (Leah), and we get a taste of what life might have been like for Leah, Jacobs spurned wife. Jaime (Jacob) steals his brother Evans birthright from their aging father. When Evan threatens to kill Jaime, he and his parents decide he must escape to his uncles home and marry one of his two cousins, either Leana (Leah) or Rose (Rachel), and sire an heir. Jaime sweeps Leana off her feet the moment she sets eyes on him. Rose does her best to act as matchmaker for Jaime and Leana, but Jaime only has eyes for Rose. Jaimes thoughtless actions dash Leanas hopes for a relationship, but both Rose and their father, Lachlan (Laban), encourage Leana to be forthright with Jaime, with disastrous consequences.Higgs lets us dwell in the minds of the characters, so we see not only their motives, but also their joys and frustrations. The sisters love and devotion to each other, and their heartbreak at the outcome brought about by their scheming father gave me a fresh perspective on the agony two girls who lived nearly four millennia ago must have endured in such trying circumstances. However, the Bible gives us evidence that even in the struggle Leana/Leah faced, God held her in His arms, close to His heart. I highly recommend this book. Watch for reviews of Fair as the Rose and Whence Comes a Prince.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
Christine
I was bored. I absolutely love Liz Curtis Higgs for her romantic comedy novels, but this exact retelling of Jacob and Esau was...boring. I did like the Scottish twist, but even the names began with the same letters as the Biblical ones.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Liz
The Thorn in my heart is such a great book!!!! I very much enjoyed reading it, I can't wait for the next book to come out!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2004
Customer Avatar
Lauren
This is a great book! I definitely recommend it! I can't wait 'til Fair is the Rose comes out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2003
Customer Avatar
Sue
I loved this book! I have read all of Liz's other fiction work and thoroughly enjoyed them. This one is very different - I wish the glossary had been in the front of the book! I experienced a wide range of emotions & it made me look at Leah with different eyes... However, Liz, I felt a little betrayed at the end not knowing this was the beginning of a series! I will eagerly await the Spring of 2004...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jeni
This was one of the best books I have ever read. Liz Curtis Higgs made the characters her own without changing the core being from the characters in the Bible. Superb writing. I cannot wait for the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thorn in My Heart, Lowlands of Scotland Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2003
Customer Avatar
Kate
I was completely disappointed with this book. Though it is a retelling of Jacob and Esau, the book was blaringly obvious. At the beginging I had high hopes, but as it dragged on I found myself skimming pages. While some parts were written overall, I don't really think it was worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>