Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook

Bethany House True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook

Learn to respond to one of the most common objections about Christianity - that it claims to be the only faith. The message of relativism and religious plurality is very popular and its argument is commonly accepted. Here you will find clear explanations to counter those arguments, including: the absolute quality of relativism, the exclusivity of inclusivity, the uniqueness of Jesus, and, "What about the unsaved who have never heard?".
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Review 1 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a must for educated Christians

Date:August 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charles
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Establishing the validity of Christian belief and doctrine is essential for pre-evangelic apologetic work. It is often said by skeptics that there is nothing more worrisome than an "educated" Christian. Each chapter addresses a common objective used to stonewall a Gospel presentation. Dr. Copan presents his information is such a way that it can be used by anyone to "preach the truth in love". The end -of-the chapter summaries and bibliographies are most helpful. An excellent small group study for evangelistic groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice compact review of 'slogans'

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Higo Rodrigues
Location:Springfield, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The book is made up of several short chapters, each discussing one 'slogan'. There is a bibliography for digging deeper, for those who want more. It can be a bit 'philosophical' in nature, maybe hard to read, but a group discussion with this book can be of great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most excellent book for apologetics

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Deacon
Location:Autryville, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, a must for apologetic students. Explains the true nature of relativisn and provides excellent encounter, and defense for defending the religious faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Westcoast
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wish I could read it without web access. It is well written, clear, easy to follow. I would like to highlight and make notes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2010
This is the third book in a row from Bethany House that has dealt with objections to the Christian Faith or other faith traditions. "True For You But Not For Me" has been as insightful as the last two books. One thing that I really took away from this book was that notion that evangelism is a process not an event. As a pastor of a local church this is very helpful idea. More often than not evangelism has been reduced to either personality style or single events scattered throughout the year. This notion makes evangelism so much more than that. It helps us to see that evangelistic events are just part of a larger activity of the church. But more importantly is helps us to remember that evangelism is more relational in nature. It takes time and trust. I really appreciate Copan's understanding of evangelism as a process. This book is worth reading for just that one point, but there is so much more to this book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in sharing the Christian faith.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mike from Michigan
If your a Christian who wants to better defend your faith against relativistic nonsense, this book is an excellent resource. It also covers pluralistic nonsense. Both relativistic and pluralistic world views are shallow and deeply self contradictory. Paul Copan easily goes through common sayings that are thrown at theists and demonstrates how they each cut themselves off at the knees, so to speak. It should be noted that this book does not present a case for Christianity, some negative reviews seem to think it does. Rather it examines things thrown at the Christian that are ridiculous, yet so common, and deconstructs them. And Mr. Copan achieves his goal wonderfully.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sarah Katie
i think this book could possibly end up being very dangerous. I could very easily see this becoming a "translation" book for well-meaning Christians to just start flipping through the pages - just like tourists in a foreign country.I don't think this is the smartest nor most effective way to share Christ's love. I don't want to argue my "cause" - just live it. In many ways i find it more enjoyable and not to mention long-lasting for a person to immerse themselves in another country. You learn the little intricacies and traditions of a culture that had you taken a more brash approach, you would never had found. I think it would be a wise thing for Christian apologists to do as well.If this book is the sort of thing you're looking for, a straight-forward, focused on "winning" the sinner rather then befriending, this is a good book. However, it is not what I'm looking for, i would rather have my discussions of faith be an organic offshoot of a deep friendship.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
This book takes common sayings that seem true of the surface by digs deeper to uncover the true meaning. The concept of truth is challenged, misconceptions are revealed, understanding comes forth in this book. The summary at the end of each chapter is a valuable tool to solidify what is covered in each chapter. Excellent resource book to help defend your faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bern
I was anxious to read this book and understand the religious objections I often heard from those around me that felt that my Christianity was a bit too radical, over spiritual, too judgmental, or just wrong.Paul Copan's book was a wonderful guide into understanding both what I believe and what the naysayers are in fact saying when they respond to witnessing and evangelization. His book is separated into five parts that contain" concise responses to the increasingly common challenges of relativism and religious pluralism, as well as the assault on Christ's uniqueness." While presenting thoughts from a more academic standpoint, he doesn't hesitate to use God's scripture as a means of justifying his positions. In fact, he goes on to say toward the end of the book, that we as believers, cannot "endorse what the Scriptures, do not", even as we lovingly share the Gospel with the others.I appreciated his ability to breakdown each of the different belief systems so that the reader could understand what an argument is essentially saying and why there was no solid ground support it. And yet, just as he shared in the introduction, he hoped that his book was an instrument of God's spirit to inform and encourage and that was definitely the case for me. It caused me to fully understand what it was I believed, substantiate those beliefs in scripture and really search God's word for a clearer understanding.This book was a wonderful resource and did prompt me to purse further study in the word and other sources to attempt to understand more clearly what God has allowed my eyes to see by His grace. If you've ever struggled to respond to objections to the Christian faith, this would be a great resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia
Copan takes objections to Christian ministry and gives a comeback involving why that person is in fact wrong. Examples include: "All religions are basically the same", "It's all a matter of perspective", "Who are you to impose your morality on others?" and so on.This is a short, snide, (a bit sarcastic) and quite arguably an unfair review that of which I do not normally do. And now I will tell you why. Copan's argument is that people can't discredit Christianity because morals aren't relative, we all know what is right and wrong. Frequently, he goes so far as to suggest that believing Christianity is not real is similar to believing that the Holocaust never happened. He spends most of his book instructing the reader on how to use a person's argument against them and then to continue to push what that person doesn't want to hear. He is just as close minded as the people he is trying to "save" and in short this book is a hypocritical guide book for conversion, and is frankly embarrassing. I don't feel like I should spend time reviewing a book that completely negates itself from the first sentence.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Charles Savelle
Relativism and pluralism are two major philosophical challenges faced by Christians today. Furthermore, the concept of religious pluralism is a direct challenge to orthodox Christianitys exclusivist claims. To this end, Paul Copan has done a great service for the church by addressing these challenges head on logically. philosophically, and biblically. The book consists of a preface and introduction, five major sections containing thirty-three chapters, and endnotes (see the table of contents below). All the chapters are titled after common statements and questions (e.g., Thats Just Your Opinion). The chapters contain a brief discussion of the issue expressed by the statement or question, a bulleted summary, and a further reading list. Both the discussion and format are helpful. One minor criticism though, is that some of the discussion gets a bit redundant. It might have been better to have grouped similar statements/questions together for one discussion.This book would be useful for Christians who have honest questions about their faith and Christians who are involved in evangelism and might need a bit of help in answering common questions. A free PDF study guide tied to the book is available at the authors website: www.paulcopan.com.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for True for You, But Not for Me: Overcoming Objections to Christian Faith / Revised - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joesette
In this thought provoking and insightful book, Paul Copan not only gives you rebuttals for conversation enders; but more importantly he addresses the thought patterns behind these mind sets.If you've ever failed to share your faith because you're afraid you'll run up on a comment you can't handle, this is the book for you!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.