Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English

Moody Publishers Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English

First published in 1678, this book has been popular with Christians ever since. The allegorical story describes the pilgrimage of one Christian from his first awakening, to his need for Christ, to reaching the heavenly city. Bunyan's imaginative metaphors and analogies make your spiritual journey come alive! Also includes Bunyan's second section on Christiana's search for Jesus. 256 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Review 1 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book. Everyone should read it.

Date:September 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Kuhaneck
Location:Little Valley, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any person who wants to make it to heaven should read this book. Especially this one in today's english. So easy to read and understand. I would recommend this book to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is helpful.

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melly
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a helpful resource for an in depth study. It is meant to be used in conjunction with a study guide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

enjoying the book, but not finished as yet.

Date:November 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
vinny
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i am liking it, as it is difficult for me to read any other book besides the FATHERS BOOK.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Retelling of Classic in Contemporary Language

Date:April 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
AngelLinda
Location:PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John Bunyan's classic Pilgrim's Progress was first published in 1678 and has had tremendous popularity with Christians ever since - in fact, it's the second leading best seller of all time, right behind the Bible. In this wonderful retelling of the Bunyan classic, James Thomas, has rewritten the classic in modern English, making the allegory much easier to read and understand.
In both versions, the allegory is of a Christian's pilgrimage from his realization of his need for Christ to reaching Christ's heavenly city. The allegory serves as a launch pad into scripture and a frank and sincere discussion of the struggles that are common to all who seek to follow Christ. The modern English is helpful to today's readers, but, in my opinion, doesn't detract from Bunyan's original tale.
I wish to thank Moody Publishers for supplying me with a complimentary copy for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book everyone should read!

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mary N
Location:Cumming, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has influenced my Christian life profoundly, and I think every believer needs to read it! This version in today's English is easy to read, but it does contain very adult topics.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
tdwarner
Location:Montana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that it is easy to read. Convicting but easy to read. I also like the scripture references that are located at the bottom of each page.
I am teaching through the video "Pilgrims Progress" and the book gives more information and further enhances our study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Mckay
Always wanted to read this book but heard that the old wording made it a difficult read. This is so much easier, wish I'd read it years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Polak
One of the best books - easy to read. Everyone should read this at least once in their life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ron Cervero
This is the best Christian book that i've ever read, and i've read a lot. For seekers of "Authentic" Christianity, and a deeper walk with Christ. Just amazing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth Rude
We are using this book for teaching purposes at our church and at this point have only done the first chapter. I have to say that so far, each SS member has found it to be very applicable to today's full life and challenging to one's honesty and faith. We are excited and looking forward to each new chapter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Camp Maranatha
Who am I to review "Pilgrim's Progress?" I remember as a teenager my Dad would read us a chapter before bed. The vivid imagery and Biblical truths from this classic remain with me to this day. That is why this summer I bought a couple dozen copies to do a study with the teenagers on the staff at the Christian Camp where I work. The allegory serves as a launch pad into scripture and a frank and sincere discussion of the struggles that are common to all who seek to follow Christ. The modern English is helpful to today's readers, but, in my opinion, doesn't detract from Bunyan's original tale. This is a wonderful book for group study and discussion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pilgrim's Progress in Today's English
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Martin Lujan
Awesome book. I would recommend to any Christian trying to work out his path and journey in this life to reach his/her ultimate goal to be with Him in eternity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.