Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Julia's Hope - eBook

Revell Julia's Hope - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Julia's Hope - eBook
Review 1 for Julia's Hope - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleasant, gentle story

Date:October 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daws1996
Location:Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The great market crash of 1929. I can imagine some of the turmoil of those days, but nothing personifies it for me quite like a good story. From the beginning of Julia's Hope by Leisha Kelly, I was drawn in, wondering how I would function if a similar event happened today.
The stock market crash led to fall of Sam Wortham's company and took every penny he and his wife, Julia, had with it. With no job and no future in Pennsylvania, they head toward a cousin in Illinois, only to find out once they are within a days journey that he cannot help them either. Taking shelter in an abandoned farmhouse, the Wortham's must determine what to do next. Will they face what seeks to drive them apart, or find the courage to stand together during this difficult season.
What I Liked
Mrs. Kelly's writing style is easy going, yet she communicates the emotion of the person very clearly. She had an interesting cast of characters, and introduced them slowly enough that I was never confused about who each person was. The story moved along well with enough tension to keep me reading, yet all the action seems realistic.
What I Didn't Like
The ending seemed more like a summary, rather than a true ending, but the story doesn't end with this book. The next book in the series, Emma's Gift, continues the adventures of this family.
The Bottom Line - 4 stars
This is a gentle story with plenty of issues and a lot of heart. If you want something to relax you, to get you cheering for the good guys without heart-racing life-or-death scenes, then you may want to try this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great book!

Date:January 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great trilogy. Great references to the Christian way of life. A historical fiction set in the era of the Great Depression...very interesting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Location:Manteca, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved it...and love the fact that the writer uses scripture in her books!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
M. Simmons
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Julia's Hope is so compelling it takes you into the past and you become family with the characters. You will have a difficult time putting the book down, even at midnight!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Example of loving your neighbor

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynn
Location:North Dakota
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never read such a good book. I can hardly put it down, as I feel like I have to know what happens next. It is good to remember how little people really had , and how they relied on faith to guide there every day,
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Henderson
So far I have liked what I have read and I m' sure I'll like the rest as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nonna Wagner
I could hardly put this book down, but I did have to pause and pray about my own lack of faith and attitudes at several points in this well written story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lyssa
If you want to understand what it means to be a christian and live life to it's fullest even in the roughest years of your life, then this is a great example.These books reminded me that through the tough times there is always hope and God is in control of everything. I recommend you give this series of books to everyone you know!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Martha Miller
Excellen Book. I have enjoyed the entire series. Can't wait for the 4th book in the Country Road Chronicles to release in September.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marsha
Julia's Hope inspired me more than any other book I have ever read. Leisha Kelly brings these characters to life in a beautiful, heart felt, gripping way. I loved Emma & Julia. Being inspired with how their faith in God always kept them strong. This book has strengthened my faith in God. This family over comes many hardships during the depression era.I have recently started reading Emma's gift, second, in the Wortham Family series. I look forward to reading, all of Leisha Kelly's series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
Alice Estep
This truly is an inspiring book.It took me back to my childhood days,picking wild salad with my Mother and siblings. Emma ,Samuel and Julia truly were blessed.If only more people would open their hearts to help others they two would see the Lord's blessings in their life.This book was so fantastic I read it twice while waiting for Katie's dream and Rorey's Secret to come in. Emma may have only had one leg but she had a heart of gold and the love of Christ in her.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2005
Customer Avatar
Tammy
This book is so uplifting and gives so many reasons that we should be thankful for all the blessings the Lord gives us. The other 2 books in the series are also wonderful. I really love the style, with the point of view of the storytellers. It gives a better glimpse into more than one persons heart and their minds.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 31, 2004
Customer Avatar
Bri
I was given JULIA'S HOPE for my 16th birthday. I really enjoyed it, and I recommend it to anyone, no matter what age.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Sheila
I just finished reading this book & it was wonderful. Took me to a time & place of simplicity. I became emeshed with the characters. Left me with the same warm-fuzzies the Mitford Series left me with. Also shows God's goodness & provision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Julia's Hope - eBook
This review is fromJulia's Hope, Wortham Family Series #1.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Brenda
I just finished reading Julia's Hope and enjoyed it very much. I like how the book shows that the Lord is always providing for us on a daily basis, and that the simple things in life (like food and shelter) are wonderful blessings.The book also reminded me of mygrandmother. I am 45 years old, married, mother of seven. I also liked that it wasn't your typicalromance novel. I hope to see morefrom this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.