Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Tyndale House And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)

God summoned the ancient Israelites with the blast of a ram's horn. And he still calls people to action today! Dynamic young preacher Paul Hudson is committed to building his church---but at what cost? As he and his congregation struggle to live out their faith, they must choose between man's will---and God's. 450 pages, softcover from Tyndale.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Review 1 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Thought Provoking Book!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. My husband is a pastor so this book spoke to me where I am. It was very thought provoking and entertaining at the same time. I loved the story line and Francine Rivers did a great job. I couldn't put the book down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent portrait of today's church

Date:July 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gammie
Location:Stanley, N. C.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product should be required reading for all
seminary students who are attempting thier first pastorate in an established church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wanda Bystron
Though outcome of the book was somewhat predictable, it was well writen. Francine River's ability to draw you into the characters was, as always, right on. It was also thought provoking as it made me reflect on the ways of today's mega churches and my own heart towards the Lord. So in that respect, I would say job well done to the author! Another enjoyable Francine River's book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rick Harrington
A powerful book. I don't read much Christian fiction, but this was recommended to me. Many, many pastors and pastor's wives would benefit from a read of this book. It demonstrates the dangers of pride, ambition, and lust which so easily find their way into the ministry and destroy it. 'nough said, I don't want to ruin the story. Read it, and think deeply about it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deborah Seadorf
This has to be one of my all-time favorite books. I just couldn't quit reading until I had finished it. There is so much in this book that every Christian in every church, no matter what role you have, should read it. The book offers insight of such great dimension-how anyone can lose their way no matter what rung of the ladder you are on. We start out wanting good and can take the wrong road for many reasons, clearly described in this book. I was entranced by all the characters with their strengths and their weaknesses. It is a "make-you-think-that-could-be-me" story. To anyone who has not read this book: Take a chance with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sue Sullivan
I've read every book by Francine Rivers I could get my hands on. Without a doubt this is one of my all time favorites. I'd recommend it to everyone. Ms. Rivers can't write books fast enough for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
polly o
WOW, I love the way Francine writes. She has a style that really works with how we think and what we say. When something is spoken in the book, for example a conversation, she is able to also communicate what thoughts and prayers to God are happening at the same time as the conversation. Eunice was a wonderful character in the book, she was wonderful to be the example of "praying with out ceasing" at the most difficult times. Francine is able to take you into those two conversations at the same time-what is spoken and what the thougths/prayers are at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
LL
What an amazing book! It is not about numbers or programs but instead relying on the Word of God and prayer to be the guiding force of His church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah
I just finished reading this book for the 2nd time. It's a great book; not nearly as good as Francine River's "Mark of the Lion" trilogy or "Redeeming Love", but it was still a great book. It was a very meaty story. It was one of Francine River's deepest books and really was thought-provoking and several times I had to stop reading and start thinking about what she wrote. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 stars is that I felt like it got very repetitious.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Very good-indepth book on how Satan loves to disrupt the church!! Could not put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
GJH
Wewouts Book Club, March 15, 2008. This book had a great theme. It was as if Ms. Rivers had been a fly on the wall in an office or board meeting of the mega churches across the country. A life long friend said that she found it hard to get into. I, having been a church secretary for years, thought it was so good that I couldn't put it down. A wonderful story of love, forgiveness, restraint, compassion, humility, and did I mention love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Jill
This book was absolutely excellent, I believe that all pastors, ministers, everyone should read this book so that we can keep our vision of God intact, therefore we will constantly know not to take our eyes off of him. It's not how much you have it's what you do with what God has blessed you with and then you will see the increase. God bless you Sis. Francine Rivers for the Godly insight in writing this book, if I was a Pastor it would truly help me to lead my sheep and to love not just one set of people but everyone that God has put under my fold for me to serve.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2004
Customer Avatar
Pat
I finished this book a while ago. It was a great book. Even thought provoking at times. I love Francine's works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2004
Customer Avatar
lannoe
I just finished this book. I loved the way the characters coversed with God throughout their daily lives. This is a good example for everyone. The book made me laugh and made me cry. It was excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for And the Shofar Blew (softcover edition)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2003
Customer Avatar
Lea Ann Williams
The title is imbiquious but once you read the book, it all makes sense. READ IT! Anyone who has troubles in marriage should read this.Women everywhere will want to read this book to find an example of what God wants in marriage and how to obtain it. I find that Rivers is a fictional and non-fictional writer. She writes from her heart and God's word.I will read everything I can by her. I thank God for her insight and for how He is using her in my life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.