Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Wish You Were Here

Howard Books Wish You Were Here

Allison Denman is supposed to get married in five days, but everything is all wrong. The huge wedding. The frothy dress. And the groom.

Still, kissing the groom's brother in an unguarded moment is decidedly not the right thing to do. How could she have made such a mistake? It seems Allison's life is nothing but mistakes at this point. And pulling a "Runaway Bride" complete with stealing, er, borrowing her best friend's car doesn't seem to solve her problems.

Can Allison find her way out of this mess? Maybe she just needs to stop orchestrating everything. Allison prefers being the one in control, and giving it up is not going to be easy. But to find her way again, she will have to believe that God has a plan for her and find the strength to let Him lead.

Average Customer Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wish You Were Here
Review 1 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding story

Date:September 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great book! I had such a hard time putting it down. She kept me captivated the entire time. Love, Love, Love
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Debut Novel!

Date:March 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Susan
Location:Clover, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just discovered Beth K. Vogts and she is now one of my all time favorite authors of Christian fiction. Seriously, this is one outstanding book.
Within mere pages (!) her characters seemed like real people to me. That is a wonderful ability for an author to have, to be able to flesh their characters out so well that they seem like real people.
Allison Denman has dated Seth Raynor for 6 years and one week before her wedding, kisses his older brother Daniel. What? What is that all about? Allison has always wanted a happy ever after, but now she has doubts that marrying Seth will qualify for that happily ever after status.
Allison has some painful episodes in her past and now she is used to controlling every aspect of her life. Can she find it within her to surrender that control to God? Can she really believe God wants the best for her? Sometimes we as Christians must step outside our comfort zone, only to find that God has a much better definition of comfort than we do.
If you miss this book, you are missing a wonderful time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light-hearted and enjoyable

Date:December 17, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed Allison's journey as told by Beth K. Vogt in Wish You Were Here. Allison's need for control and yet her desire to escape the box she's managed to get herself stuck in struck a chord with me. I think we all find ourselves in situations we wish we could avoid, or hadn't agreed to.
Wish You Were Here is a challenging read...not because it was hard to read, but because it challenged me to think about why I do things, rather than just do them because it's "expected".
This book is a light-hearted look into the life of Allison Denman as she struggles with conflicting emotions about two very different brothers. We see her grow from an unsure young lady to a young woman who realizes she doesn't have all the answers, but must take a step of faith to find the happiness God has for her.
I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. :)
***Book received free for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The DNF that Wasn't

Date:December 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I won't sugarcoat the truth here...I almost marked this book as a DNF (did not finish). I made it to the 100-page mark and thought to myself, "If this book doesn't pick up the pace reeeeeeally soon, I don't think I can go on." Well, nothing like a little perseverance, ya know? :o) I went another few pages, then a few more, and then, there was no getting around it...I was hooked.
There's really just one thing I want to highlight from this fabulous debut novel, and that was the balance between Allison and Seth's relationship failing and the new relationship forming between her and Daniel. I mean, honestly...in real life, how many of us would have screwed that up so badly? I'll be the first to admit that it would be me because, like Seth, I have always had this innate need to be in control (or at least, convince myself that I'm in control even if I'm not). But wow, how many times have I jumped the gun ahead of God's plan? More times than I care to count. I was so impressed that when it came to decision time for both Allison and Daniel that things were allowed to take their natural course, and both really allowed God to direct their steps.
Beth Vogt joins a fabulous crop of new fiction writers this year...seriously, they're sprouting up all over the place! I'd love to see a spin-off from this novel featuring either Meghan or Hadleigh (well, a story for both characters wouldn't disappoint me, either). :o)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything wanted in a romantic story and more!

Date:September 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, we'll officially get one thing straight. It seems like my list of authors to watch for we'll be getting longer and longer, because I've read many debuts and novels by Christian authors new to me that I've truly loved.
Wish You Were Here was no exception. It was worth the money and worth the time. WOW! - Been saying that alot lately.
This story took me on one unforgettable journey. And I can truly say without a doubt that I loved it. Vogt is an excellent writer. Her novel included so much fun, laugh- out-loud humour, invigorating romance and a smooth, well crafted story line.
The hero Daniel. Oh ladies, y'all really need fans this time, because I'm warning you, you might fall hard for this one! Daniel is the knight in the shining armor but still- human- and imperfect- kind of hero. He's relatable and I think that's what many romance fans like.
So is Allison (relatable). The lessons she learns as she fumbled her way through her mistakes spoke deeply to me and I believe it will also speak to you too.
SO good. There's even some interesting and creative twists added to this one... I won't giveaway any spoilers!
I more than highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great story

Date:June 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the concept of this book. A soon to be bride and the kiss that changes everything!
Allison Denman is set to be married very soon. The wedding is just not what she wanted it to be and this causes some unexpected events. Only days away from the special day and she kisses Daniel, her soon to be grooms brother! She has to decide if she should go with what feels right to her or keep down the path of pleasing others over herself.
I liked the writing of the book. It flowed really well and was very easy to read. The characters were complex but not enough to bore you. I liked how the relationships were written and how they played out in the end. The author is a great storyteller. I have this book 5/5 stars because the story was unique and the author wrote a very entertaining book!
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Your Way

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a delightful book and a very quick page turning read! Allison and Seth open the book with there marriage pending in 5 days! She is trying on her beautiful $5000 wedding gown...that she hates! Next we are at her apartment where she should be packing....Daniel Seth's older brother has come to the house to help her and remove some of the boxes! What happens is Daniel lets his hair down...so to say...and ends up kissing Alli. Forward ahead to Alli starting to head down the aisle with her Groom waiting at the end, and her Step-Father Will holding her arm...they get to the pew where her Mom sits, and she turns and says "I can't do this"...and she runs out of the church.
So begins her journey to find Alli...she has to find forgiveness and her way back to God. She sure ends up having a lot of adventures!! Enter Lama's, fighting brothers, avalanches, her absent Father, and more.
You will wonder if she will find her way back to Seth? They have a six year connection, or will some other fellow turn her eye.
Be set for a very enjoyable read!
I received this book from Litfuse Blog Tours and the Publisher Howard Books, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish You Were Here!

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee C
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
"She never should have said yes." When reading a story that's about a bride-to-be a line like that might worry you or like me make you extremely curious and keep you reading, reading, reading! I'm not sure that I've ever been hooked by a first line but there's a first time for everything, right?
Allison Denman is having second thoughts about her wedding dress, her groom, and the direction her life is headed. With the help of her Aunt Nita, her aunt's crazy llama, she discovers God's plan for her life and her true love. Now, I'm not going to spoil anything but let me just say that Allison's HEA will definitely leave you feeling, for lack of a better word, all mushy inside.
Each and every character including the irascible llamas, Pacha and Kuzko add such color and fun to what just could have been a plain ol' romance. It reminds me of a romantic movie. Romantic comedies and dramas are my absolute favorites and Wish You Were Here was a bit of Julia Roberts's Runaway Bride mixed with Kimberly Williams-Paisley's Lucky Seven in book form. Even though this is her first novel, Ms. Vogt writes like a pro and I for one am certainly glad that she decided to branch out from writing strictly nonfiction. I'm her new biggest fan and can't wait to read what she comes out with next.
*I received my complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest opinion/review of it for the tour.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Runaway Bride

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
NYbooklover
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish You Were Here
by
Beth Vogt
A Review
This an excellent book. The cover is a little deceiving but the book deals with a lot of hard issues such as relationships (with fiances, boyfriend/girlfriend, parents, working partners, siblings, friends, and God), self mutilation (cutting), and pornography on the internet.
Allison has dated Seth for several years but at the day of their wedding she ends up being a runaway bride. She had kissed Daniel (Seth’s older brother) just a couple of days before they were to be married. Seth continues to pursue Allison. He was “safe” for her while they were dating but later she discovers his controlling aspect. She still loves Seth but feels that he isn’t “right” for her.
Daniel had sent her postcards of all the places he had ever been to, always saying on them “Wish you were here”. She displayed them on a bulletin board in her apartment but after kissing Daniel she became very confused and took them down.
Allison has had trouble with “cutting” in the past and is tempted to do it in the present. I never understood this problem but after reading this book, I feel I have a better grasp on it.
In the novel, it mentions that people do it because they are “stressed” out or just want to feel alive.
Allison’s sister, Hadleigh, has a boyfriend who has trouble with pornography on the internet. This is becoming more of a prevalent problem with people on the computer and can destroy relationships.
This book is well worth your time to read. You will have to read the book to find out who Allison decides to have a relationship with.
______________
This review is based on a free copy provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Romantic Comedy with Heart

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Keli Gwyn
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’m going to be honest. I picked up Beth Vogt's book knowing it’s a runaway-bride story. What I didn’t expect was to enjoy it as much as I did. Since I have a hard time seeing someone jilted, especially at the altar, Vogt had a challenge ahead of her. Could she create a heroine I would like and be able forgive for her fickleness, a hero deserving of her without being a self-serving bride-stealer, and a former fiance who wasn’t a cliched character with so many faults I wondered what on earth she was thinking to have been engaged to him in the first place. Vogt could, and she did.
Allison Denman quickly captured my heart. She’s bright, witty, and wounded. She’s also confused. Enter Daniel Rayner, her fiance's brother, who kisses her days before her wedding, catapulting her from confusion to crisis. How can she marry his brother, Seth, when she enjoyed Daniel’s kiss? But how can she hurt Seth, the well meaning albeit somewhat controlling guy she’s been with since high school?
Watching Allison, Daniel, and Seth wrestle with their feelings in the aftermath of her mad dash out of the church in a detested wedding dress was an enjoyable experience. Although this is a romantic comedy, Vogt brought some tough issues into play, which added depth to the story. As Allison faces her feelings about faith, family, her former fiance, Seth, and her longtime friend, Daniel, she discovers who she is—and finds peace in knowing whose she is and following His plan for her life. Only then is she able to embrace a future vastly different than the one she’d originally envisioned.
If you’re looking for a romantic comedy that is not only fun but has substance and a faith element that isn’t heavy-handed, I recommend While You Were Here. You’ll laugh, because Allison is such a fun character. You might even get misty-eyed a time to two. And you’ll certainly sigh, because Daniel is one fine specimen of manhood. I enjoyed Vogt's debut novel and look forward to her next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Enjoyable Debut Novel

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alison Denman is marrying Seth Rayner in five days, and is having second thoughts about the frou-frou dress with the huge train that her future mother-in-law ‘encouraged’ her to buy. She’s having second thoughts about the 350-guest wedding. She’s having second thoughts about the bouquet. She’s looking at her board of ‘Wish You Were Here’ postcards from Seth’s older brother, Daniel. But that’s got nothing to do with why she’s having second thoughts… and then Daniel kisses her while helping pack up her apartment five days before the wedding. And she kisses him back. Now what?
My initial impression of Seth was that he was too good to be true. I found myself quite disliking him as the book wore on. Part of me didn’t like the idea of Alison leaving her long-term boyfriend at the altar; another part of me saw that there was something a bit ‘off’ about him, so didn’t want Alison to get back together with him.
I liked Seth’s brother, Daniel, although I am always a bit hesitant about too big an age gap between a couple (and, at eight years, this was pushing my limits). But Daniel is a gentleman with a strong code of personal honour, and I could respect that about him.
As the story progressed, we found out more about Alison, about why she was prepared to marry Seth, the safe choice, and what happened that made ‘safe’ such an important choice for her. We also met Alison’s best friend, Meghan, who knows the secret even Seth doesn’t know…
Despite the almost-cliché ‘Runaway Bride’ beginning, this book is a fun debut novel. I found the beginning almost too fast-paced, in a ‘I had trouble catching my breath’ kind of way. But it calmed down and turned into a very enjoyable story of a young woman trying to sort out what she wants from life, unimpeded by a boyfriend/finance with a very strong personality, fighting an attraction to his older brother, and trying to reconcile herself to the God she has all but forgotten. While this is a Christian novel, the Christian element is quite understated. An enjoyable debut.
Thanks to Howard Books and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish You Were Here

Date:May 21, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Allison Denman kisses her fiance's brother 5 days before her wedding, you know that all may not go as planned.
Enjoy the ride as Allison learns about herself and what God has planned for her and the men in her life!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vogt's Debut Book a Winner!

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Allison has everything a girl could want: a great job doing what she loves without punching a time clock, and in just a few days she’s marrying her perfect man in a big beautiful wedding in the perfect dress. Well, everyone else thinks it’s the perfect dress, Allison hates it. Then to make matters worse she ends up kissing the groom’s brother, Daniel, just five days before the wedding.
This story gave me things to laugh at, to cry about, and to think on. The author did a great job of balancing the story to what real like can be like. Allison is a great character, in that she is like so many women who get swept with the current of expectations. Fortunately, Allison realizes before it is too late it’s time to jump ship and stand on her own two feet.
The author touched on a couple of topics that I hadn’t see before, but sorry I won’t share those here, it would be better for you to experience them yourself. The author also kept me guessing how how things would end. I saw a couple of different directions she could have gone and wasn’t sure until the very end how the story would conclude. Which is really hard to do with romance so a definite bonus with this book.
The author did a nice job with the spiritual aspect. She highlighted Allison’s life decisions very true to real life. As women, it is too easy to forget our first love, Christ, and put other things ahead of Him. However, the Christian message is not so heavy that it scare anyone off.
For those of you who love romance, you should enjoy this one, if you’re not a big romance fan this book still has a lot to offer, with a fun and interesting storyline a great characters to love and to hate.
To learn more about Beth K. Vogt visit her website.
Disclaimer: I would like to thank Howard Books for the opportunity to read and review this book. I was under no obligation other than to give my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So Much to Love!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So fun. So delightful. Such a great new voice to watch! A perfect weekend read and oh, so much more.
“Wish You Were Here” has got so much to love! A kiss within the first ten pages? Yes, please! Conflict, love triangles, just a *wee* bit of drama (because what romance wouldn’t be good without it?), llamas, some LOL dialogue, but yet a depth to the characters that was well crafted. Awesome.
I love Allison Denman. You can read some much of this character in her actions and she wants her happily-ever-after so badly, but it seems life isn’t going to give her one lying down.
Sigh. Daniel is an easy-on-the-eyes hero. He has a great heart, but don’t let his outdoorsman exterior fool you. He’s got his own share of problems. Only one being the fact that he kissed his brother’s fiancée - five days before the wedding. Yeah. I wouldn’t want to be in his shoes.
I loved the depth to the characters. I felt Allison was really well rounded and played wonderfully upon the page. Don’t let the cute cover fool you, the novel has its moments of hilarity, but also some serious undertones that compliment it really well.
I’d love to see Allison and Daniel get their cameo part two. Maybe a short story, please?
An excellent new voice in Christian Fiction to watch, this novel does its genre proud!
This review is my honest opinion. Thanks to the publisher and author for my copy to review/influence.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I absolutely adored this book!

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this was deep and at the same time it made me laugh out loud numerous times! I read this story in two days. While the premise sounds a bit crazy (which I admit is what drew me to wanting to read the novel) it worked very well in this situation. Every emotion Allison went through seemed very real to me. I also felt bad for the men in her life. So many women have a bad feeling that tells them they shouldn't get married after agreeing to it, but they'll follow through anyway so they won't let down family, friends, or embarrass/hurt anyone. That's a terrible reason to get married.
I loved how the author took elements from Allie's childhood to provide a motive that made sense regarding her insecurity. It showed how easily things can be misinterpreted when we are children and how as adults, sometimes we need to revisit those painful issues but look at them from an adult's perspective rather than a child's. That was a healthy theme in this book. I also loved how the author showed that sometimes young women replace their close relationship with God and turn their focus on the love and admiration from a man, and then they wonder why they don't feel close to God anymore.
Anyway, I loved how this story ended. The resolution was fantastic and sigh-worthy. But I loved how the message for both of them was they needed to get tight with God first, then let Him direct their steps. That's a great message and it was sprinkled throughout the novel, but was never heavy handed. I can see this novel helping some very misguided women make a better choice, and maybe even lead them to faith in God.
While their weren't many kisses in this book, the ones that did occur left me a bit breathless. The romantic tension throughout the novel was perfect, IMHO, and had the right balance between longing and denial. I couldn't help feeling proud of the growth that occurred in Seth's life by the story's end. Oh, and every woman needs a Daniel in their lives. If you don't believe me, read the book. I'd love to be stuck in a snow cave with a guy like him if I were single. He was so tender and sweet. Sigh. Anyway, this story is making my favorite fiction list because I absolutely adored it. This author has made a new fan today. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect blend of romance and humor

Date:May 6, 2012
Days before her wedding to her long-time boyfriend Seth, Allison is questioning whether or not she can go through with it—and in such a voluminous dress no less! When her almost brother-in-law kisses her, she must decide if it was a horrible mistake or something more. When she deserts Seth at the altar, she realizes that much more is at stake than whether or not she will marry him. She must believe that God's plan is best and learn to trust Him again.
Wow! Beth K. Vogt completely blew me away with her debut novel Wish You Were Here. I'm a huge fan of romance stories, but this was so much more! It provided a perfect blend of romance and humor and I found myself actually getting giddy at times. The romance was just so . . . beautiful! Don't think this is just a sweet, sappy romance, though. Tough issues were addressed, and I loved the way Allison was forced to come to terms with the past—gotta love a persistent best friend! Christian themes were woven into the story without being preachy and made me really think. I loved Wish You Were Here and was sad to see it end. I can't wait to see what's next from Beth! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Absolute Winner!

Date:May 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hard to put into words how much I loved this book. As a fan of contemporary romance, I knew I was in for a treat in Chapter One, but to call it a "treat" doesn't do the book justice. I loved the unique Colorado setting and the humor that had me smiling throughout. The romance was swoon-worthy, but it had a rich depth to it that went beyond surfacey attraction. Allison's own journey to personal freedom had so many layers, and I loved how the romantic storyline played a role in deepening her walk with God. Kudos to Beth Vogt for writing an absolute winner! I hope she has many more stories in her because I'll be lining up to read them. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is a Delight!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
RoxanneSherwood
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment Runaway Bride Allison Denman escapes her oh-so-carefully-planned life for a chance to live to the fullest, I couldn’t put this book down.
The characters are people I’d like to know. And pets, who knew llamas could be so funny? Plus, the plot kept me guessing. With laugh-out-loud moments and ones that tugged my heartstrings, this debut novel by Beth Vogt is definitely one for my keeper shelf. So beautifully written, I’ve already purchased additional copies to share with friends.
Can kissing the wrong guy lead to happily ever after? You'll have to read Wish You Were Here to find out—but you'll be glad you did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wish You Were Here is a classic romantic comedy

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Evangeline
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Beth K. Vogt’s writing is so visual and immediate that I felt like I was watching a classic romantic comedy as I read Wish You Were Here.
It’s easy to like heroine Allison Denman despite, or because of, her disastrous faux pas at the beginning of the novel. Engaged to the perfect man, Allison finds herself kissing his brother, Daniel, five days before the wedding! As her carefully planned life unravels, we catch glimpses of the secrets Allison hides as well as the longing for adventure she’s stifled.
Daniel is all about adventure, but his on-the-go lifestyle as well as friction with his family has made romantic relationships difficult. Vogt does an incredible job of revealing tidbits of Daniel’s character through his postcards to Allison as well as their interactions. With his mismatched eyes, cargo pants and backpack, and easy-going attitude, Daniel practically hollers, “Come have fun with me.” Readers will be cheering Allison with “You go girl” by the end of this delightful novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wish You Were Here
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High praise for Beth K. Vogt’s Wish You Were Here

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
hope79
Location:Maple Grove, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I've been married but am now divorced, reading romance is hard for me—something I avoid as it reminds me what I'm not. But I love Beth’s nonfiction so wanted to read her first novel.
Wow! I love WYWH. Thank you, Beth, for avoiding straight sticky romance in favor of tracking two people healthily growing into friendship and building a relationship based on truly knowing each other and established on so much sound truth. I sense much of this hard-won wisdom comes from your own life and I applaud. In fact, this great book is anointed, a word I reserve for highest things, as it seeks truth and the validation of knowing self and relating to God, as its heroine runs from many things in life besides the wrong groom.
My second copy of WYWH is on order; I can’t wait to give it to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>