Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3

Howard Books Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3

When Hope Yoder loses her husband, she is left trying to support her two small children-and one on the way-however she can. She ends up taking a job as a part-time housekeeper for the Englisch man who has bought the farm that once belonged to her family.

Logan Parker is a bestselling crime fiction writer from New York City who accompanies his fiancie on a trip to Holmes County, Ohio, but the trip takes a strange turn when he sees an Amish farmhouse for sale. Intrigued by a strong sense of familiarity, he enters the house and is overcome with a feeling of deep peace. He's never been to Ohio before, but something in this house feels right, and he purchases the farm to use as a retreat. Something about the peacefulness of the house frees him from the crippling writer's block that threatens to ruin his career, and something about the quiet Amish woman who comes to clean his home makes him less and less excited about returning to New York and the woman he is supposed to marry.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Review 1 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful, intriguing story

Date:April 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Redcurt
Location:Denver, NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written story with an intriguing plot and unforgettable characters. I was thoroughly captivated by such a different, edgy storyline. Serena B. Miller has written another excellent book with a plot that kept me enthralled from cover to cover. I absolutely loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Sweet Romance

Date:April 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Serena B. Miller in her new book “Fearless Hope” Book Three in the Hidden Mercies series published by Howard Books takes us into the life of Hope Yoder.
From the back cover: When an Amish woman falls for the New York crime writer who buys her family farm, she must decide whether to follow the longings of her heart or the rules of her faith.
When Hope Yoder loses her husband, she is left trying to support her two small children—and one on the way—however she can. She ends up taking a job as a part-time housekeeper for the Englisch man who has bought the farm that once belonged to her family.
Logan Parker is a bestselling crime fiction writer from New York City who accompanies his fiancée on a trip to Holmes County, Ohio, but the trip takes a strange turn when he sees an Amish farmhouse for sale. Intrigued by a strong sense of familiarity, he enters the house and is overcome with a feeling of deep peace. He’s never been to Ohio before, but something in this house feels right, and he purchases the farm to use as a retreat. Something about the peacefulness of the house frees him from the crippling writer’s block that threatens to ruin his career, and something about the quiet Amish woman who comes to clean his home makes him less and less excited about returning to New York and the woman he is supposed to marry.
Slowly, Logan and Hope are drawn together, and when they discover that they share a strange past, they must decide how that affects their future. Will Hope overcome her fear of embracing love again?
I have to admit somehow I goofed and missed the first two books in this series which is a double shame as I enjoy Ms. Miller as a writer. The good news is this book can be read as a stand-alone and you will not feel as if you missed anything. Though I would recommend going out and getting the other two, as I will, just to see what has come before. Hope is a widow and the family savings were spent purchasing the bull that killed her husband so she sells her farmhouse to a NYC writer who moves in. Hope now cleans the farmhouse that used to be hers and a friendship develops between her and Logan. I think Ms. Miller has done an outstanding job of bringing both Hope and Logan to life. Wow, what a superb characters with such depth. “Fearless Hope” is filled with family and overcoming adversities. I think that “Fearless Hope” is a winner! Ms. Miller has given us a wonderful, sweet story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm a New Fan of This Author

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot tell you in words how much I have enjoyed reading Fearless Hope. This is the first book I have read by Serena Miller. I’m an instant fan of her books now. I can’t wait to pick up her other books. I loved, loved, loved Fearless Hope. The author truly captured the essence of the Amish community. I loved the character of Hope. She really was fearless. I, also, loved how much the character of Logan Parker had grown throughout the story. There many surprises in the story line that I didn’t see coming. I have to say that I couldn’t quit turning the pages.
I highly recommend this book! 5 stars
I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books, for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Combining Lives and History

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve read the first two books in this series, An Uncommon Grace and Hidden Mercies, and now Fearless Hope that does not disappoint. Like the first two we are we are again in Holmes County Ohio.
The beginning is so very sad as we go with Hope and her two young children, as they loose their Dad and her husband to an angry bull. Hope is having a hard time with forgiving Titus his foolishness, and what it brought him. How is she going to survive without him, and she is one month pregnant with another baby.
In NY City a successful author is being plagued with writer’s block, and decides to go with his fiancé Marla to Ohio as she looks for some furnishing for the apartment she is working on in her design business. All of a sudden there is such a mind pull, and Logan takes a turn he didn’t really want to.
He experiences a real case of déjà vu, and a man who has lived in the city all of his life impulsively buys an old Amish farmhouse. Imagine how is fiancé felt, and he decides to go there and write? Write he does, as he stumbles upon an old manual typewriter, and a plethora of wonderful World War II stories. I loved this, and it was so touching.
You are now going to meet and visit with so many wonderful and God Loving people. Including Hope and her children, the bishop, the neighbors, and even young stowaways. There are troubles ahead, but you won’t be able to leave this book alone until you get to the bottom of everything.
If I could give this book a higher rating I would have, it is an awesome story that I never wanted to end. I thank Serena B Miller so much for sharing her wonderful gift with us.
I received this book through Net Galley and the Publisher Howard Books, and was not required to give a positive review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Amish series

Date:April 7, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed this series by Serena B. Miller. Her writing includes romance, but they are very inspirational and hook the reader on the first page. I also like the cover of this book. It is beautifully done!
I'll start my review by saying I wanted to give Titus a good talking to, as well! I was so mad at him when the first chapter ended. If he had only listened to his wife! I admired her submission to him and how she let the subject drop, but I can only imagine how furious I would be and then completely heartbroken after what happened to him.
In the opening chapters, I was a little curious how Logan and Hope would end up meeting and how in the world he would let his fiancée go. I never really liked her anyway, so I was anxious for her to leave. I couldn't imagine how these two would cross paths. I loved how she creatively wrote their love story.
I liked Aunt Claire, too. When Hope was at her lowest, Claire came to her rescue to push her. I liked how raw Hope's emotions were and I felt like I was walking this road with her. I would be thankful for an Aunt Claire in my life, even though I'd probably be mad at her a lot, too!
There were some light humor scenes in this book, too, which I appreciated. There's also a deep revelation of Logan's past. I like how the revelation comes to pass starting in the beginning of the book.
I really like the story of a real Amish wedding. I'm always so fascinated by the Amish lifestyle and really liked this in-depth look at what a real wedding looks like. It's neat how books are now starting to come with a little extra surprises.
_______________
I received this book free from Howard Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful story

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindy Loven
Location:Conway, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this book so much. It was so much fun, having an author, write a story about an author. It was wonderful. I related to the Logan very much, and I know that is because Serena did such an awesome job of describing him. I cried along with Hope as she faced life on her own, raising her children, relating to the anger she felt toward Titus after his death. One thing about this book, she should NEVER get a review like Logan did for his book. This book is a great story and it easily stands alone, but you will enjoy seeing the story progress past the former books of this series. 5 stars from this reviewer.
This book was provided for review purposes only by Howard books. No payment was received for this review. All the opinions expressed in this review are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 2013, I read Hidden Mercies written by Serena B. Miller, which was my first introduction to this author. Now I have been blessed to review Fearless Hope, which continues some of the characters introduced in Hidden Mercies though each novel is a stand alone. Depending upon how a story is written along with the reader’s choice of books, there may be some who would quickly dismiss the novel because it has an Amish or Mennonite flavor. Yet let’s not be too hasty when the author is Serena B. Miller as I have found her novels rich in depth and quite enjoyable to peruse.
As I was reading, it crossed my mind that one reason I enjoy this author’s writing is because her characters wrestle with some of the same battles whether spiritual or fleshly as anyone. In the book, Hope is a young woman who is a part of a community of Amish who gather to meet in homes twice a month. Early on a choice her young husband makes turns the lives of his family upside down and now Hope desires to no longer depend on alms from her church, but spread her wings to provide for herself.
A writer in New York, who buried himself in his work after losing his wife a couple of years prior, has come to a major road block in his story telling. Upon advice from his publicist, he goes on a sabbatical, buying a house he recently visited along with his fiancée in a small Amish community in Ohio. From this point on, Logan is immersed in long buried memories and feelings kept at bay while at work writing.
Fearless Hope draws readers in as so much heart of the story reaches out and grabs the reader from chapter one all the way till the end. Hope wrestles with ideas and desires that in her community are not encouraged; yet, it is clear she is gifted to do the jobs she longs to put her whole being into. Have any of us not ever felt that tension between where one is now and where one longs to be yet feels the restraint of some kind holding us back? As Hope does her searching, she begins to try and understand the teachings of the Bible more and the doctrines of her Amish community. I admire that Hope didn’t just make quick or hasty decisions. She takes time to pray and thoroughly study the issues.
It takes courage, hope and dependence upon the Lord when any of us are confronted with a wrestling of the soul, mind or heart. We all can learn from this character to wait for His timing, study the Word, pray and wait for the Lord’s direction. Today’s society is hard pressed to wait for anything, even waiting for traffic to move or service at a restaurant. Perhaps we should make time each week to turn everything off like cell phone or computer in order to read in quiet or contemplate before the Lord. Will you join me in making a concerted effort to shut down the noise and distractions? Make time to read quietly, rest, study or pray maybe even just enjoy looking around in a park or mountaintop at God’s wonderful handiwork. There is no time like the present!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life is all about finding hope when it's darkest!

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life sometimes offers us a different path than the one we wanted for our lives. Sometimes we are forced to face some of those challenges head on and wait to see what the outcome will be believing of course, that God knows best. In the latest novel from Serena B. Miller, Fearless Hope, offers the readers a different way of looking at hope in the most challenging of situations.
For Logan Parker who lives in New York as a best selling author, he has come against the proverbial and dreaded writer's block. Known for his suspense novels, he has been struggling since the loss of his wife and can't see to find the light beyond the end of the bottle. His publisher has given him the last ultimatum since turning in less than stellar best sellers in his last two novels, either find where you got off track or you won't have a contract with his publishing firm in the future. He has a deadline to complete a novel and if it isn't along the lines of what they have been expecting, he will be fired.
When he takes a trip to the Amish country of Holmes County, Ohio with his financèe, an interior designer looking for quality furniture, he happens upon a home for sale that provides him with an unknown serenity. As if he has been there before. Thinking it would offer him a respite from the rigors of New York and hopefully provide a break to his writer's block, he purchases the house. He can't understand why he feels as if he has been there before, but his fiancèe Marla, a strikingly beautiful women whose only focus is on what she can get out of life thinks it's a complete waste of time.
Logan buys the home against Marla's wishes and while he opts to stay in the house in Ohio, she heads back to New York. Left with an empty house in need of filling, Logan begins to shop around town for things to fill the home. While browsing a local store, he finds Hope Yoder, who is looking for work as a housekeeper. She is struggling to find her own sense of purpose sense losing her husband Titus in a farming accident that has left her with two young children and pregnant with her third child. She is hoping to find something that will allow her to bring her children to work and one that will allow her to work until she has the baby. Logan is willing to give her a job seeing as he is in need of someone who can cook for him while he tries to find himself. They both understand that nothing can come between the two of them since Logan is English and Hope is Amish. Hope is more than surprised to learn that Logan has bought her father's house and farm and it more than excited to help bring it back to it's former glory. But either of them be able to keep their hearts from finding a path different than the one they have in mind?
I received Fearless Hope by Serena B. Miller compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster Publishers for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed are strictly my own. I love novels that combine different genre's and in this case, it's contemporary romance alongside Amish romance. I love seeing how Logan and Hope try to work around the differences in their faith while trying to get past their own stages of grief having both lost their spouses. What inspires me most about Hope's character is that her actions speak louder than anything she says and it's true what the Bible states that we can be won over by our actions rather than our words with others. What an inspirational story of hope among loss that is geared to encourage us all that life doesn't end when we think it should and God has a plan in mind for all of us. .This one easily rates a 5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fearless Hope, Hidden Mercies Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best!

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cheryl V
Location:Wheelersburg, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read all the books in this series & loved each of them. I really think this is Serena B. Miller's best book! I started it last night (just minutes after taking it out of the package). I was whisked away to Holmes County and didn't come back 'til a couple of hours ago! I have cried, laughed, cried again.....rejoiced....praised the Lord.....been inspired to pray more and appreciate the simple things in our lives. Thank you Serena!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.