Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wingspread Publishers The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes

Wingspread Publishers The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes

Simpson saw references to Jesus on every page of Scripture. His unique devotional commentary parallels Old Testament symbols with New Testament truths and presents them with theological depth and pastoral intimacy. Includes exegetical analysis of select passages; historical and geographical materials; plus sermon ideas and illustrations. Based on the NIV translation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Review 1 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good work but bad Bible version

Date:March 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bruce
Gender:male
I was disappointed to know that this is in NIV after receiving it. Please be aware of this. I take this seriously because this is a corrupted version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very insightful

Date:April 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
kdiddy
Location:Boise, Idaho
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Father reveals to anyone truely interested, His plan of redemption, through the person of Jesus, His Son, His love and grace, for mankind from Genesis to Revelation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent material for preaching or teaching

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Pastor
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found the outlines in these commentarys very useful for sound biblical preaching. I have preached from 1& 2nd Thessalonians. I am planing on using Simpson's outlines on the book of Hebrews. This commentary is worth its weight in gold.
A Pastor that is serious about preaching Christ to his congregation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chaplain Dan Brodek
Location:Glendora, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A. B. Simpson was a renowned CMA preacher in the mold of Scofield and Moody. This is an excellent example of a man who had an unwavering, deeply intellectual grasp of God's creative genius! Generally conservative in theology, he was not offensively rigid, but did give God credit for all! Lots of deep insights, but reasonably easy to understand. Recommended...!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
mintedcopper
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am currently, as part of my curriculum, going through "A Popular Survey of The Old Testament" which has been a great resource that reveals the Christ of the Bible in the Old Testament. A.B. Simpson's commentary will help me to draw out more details as to the evidence of Christ in the Old Testament.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very thorough presentation

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kitty
Location:Nevada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found these books most enlightening. The author offers a thorough explanation of the symbolic representations of Christ in the Old Testament and puts equal emphasis on Christ in the New Testament. The notes and deovtions add depth and structure to every book of the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christ centered, God glorifying.

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ronnie
Location:Locust Fork, Alabama
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The title of this commentary reveals the content. I love how Christ is brought out in the text. The glory of God
shines forth from each page. Very insightful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great addition to my library.

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas Ratliff
Location:Hopewell, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy reading devotional commentary. Great for the new Christian or a long time follower of Christ. In addition, each volume contains great sermon material.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

informative

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
shadowrider97
Location:Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've just begun reading these books. But I can tell you that they are already living up to my expectations
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New favorite reading material!

Date:February 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These books are fabulous. I'm bumping them to the top of my "must read" pile. I've gone over the first half of Genesis and am amazed at all the ways Christ can be shown there. My only disappointment is that the books are not divided into equal volumes. The first book is easily twice the thickness of the other three. But the content is 5-stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
yankeepreacher
Location:Monroe, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a set already, I brought this set for our Ministry & Missions Center which is scheluded to open next month. This is an excellent buy, and pastors should have a set in thier library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
fprod64
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not what I expected, but after reviewing several pages it became clear the intent and method of presenting the background and meaning of the material.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great commentary, easy to comprehend

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
kiano tan
Location:Singapore
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great commentary to have, easy to comprehend. Value for money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
smiller
Excellent set that I am reading through like a wonderful book. Outstanding value. One of my favorite commenteries that I would recommend for any study level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joe Rodgers
Classic commentary, and an especially good value! The shipment came quickly and safely, and now I have another fine addition to my library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina S Highers
Love these books. J.B. Simpson is as good as Mrs. Cowman for me. Understand and can apply The Word to my daily walk... and I do! Thank You Lord God for giving your children such beautiful minds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Harold Rhoades
It is excellant in its contents. He is an excellant writer. It's a great in depth study of the scriptures. I bought it because A.B. Simpson is the founder of CM&A. I highly recommend it to anybody studying the Bible.Plus it was delieverd very quickly right to our door.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sue Krol
Loved this commentary. When needed its easy to read and follow. Good for the average person.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha Howard
Absolutely love these books!! They bring Christ out in all the books of the Bible and have some awesome day to day life applications! Beautiful thoughts to carry with you throughout your day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Christ in the Bible Commentary, 4 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Wold
This is very easy reading and easy to understand. This was a great buy and i thank you for the affordability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>